We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gulhane Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gulhane Park Hotel
Ranked #360 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

It is very good located and the breakfast was delicious (buffet). Is very close to the gulhanepark and a walking distance of all the main attractions of the Old City, and a tram stop also close. Our first room was for smokers and we couldn´t stay a minute there because of the smell. The other room was very clean but very small. The employees maybe try too hard to make your stay perfect because they insist too much to take their tours and to write a review here in tripadvisor
Don`t get me wrong it is really a very nice hotel, close to everything and almost all the employees are very friendly. Very good choice and the price was very nice too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pame2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    120
    26
    10
    12
See reviews for
87
67
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is in a very convenient location if you want to explore the major attractions of the Old City in the Sultanahmet area by foot. The Bosphorus and minarets and domes of the Blue Mosque and Haghia Sophia are clearly visible from the hotel terrace so it is easy to figure out directions and not rely exclusively on tour guides. The roof top terrace is a pleasant place for a drink and light dinner in the evening. It is also relaxing to walk through the adjoining Gulhane Park, originally part of the grounds of the Topkapi Palace. Buffet style breakfast was delicious and the choice of food varied. My room was not very big, but was comfortable, attractive, clean and quiet.The staff was unfailingly helpful and courteous, especially Vedat at the front desk. His advice and suggestions made my first trip to Istanbul a far more enjoyable experience than it would otherwise have been, given the few days I had to explore.
The hotel was quick to answer my emails and arranged a hotel taxi to pick me up at Sabiha Gokcen when I realized less than a day before my flight that my flight would arrive quite late at night and these arrangements went flawlessly. Vedat also helped me set up a very inexpensive bus trip to Ataturk airport from the hotel at the end of my trip. Thank you Vedat and the rest of the staff at the Gulhane Park Hotel. I shall be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, a 5 minute walk from Gulhane tram stop, and a leisurely walk to all the major sights. The customer service is exemplary, the employees made our stay perfect, especially Zelal, Yusuf, and Huseyin!. Great breakfast with large selection each morning started the day off right. Room was clean and quiet at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed twice in three weeks in this hotel as part of a tour group.
The first time I was not that impressed, and thought what have I let myself in for, however...
Having stayed in 15 or more hotels around Turkey, I was glad to get back here.
As far as middle of the road Hotels go, this hotel is very good in my experience.
The beds are very firm, but the sheets are clean, the bathroom has a couple of flaws but you get a hot shower. The aircon works, there is a safe that is! bolted down and a small kettle and fridge.
Breakfast was not the best experienced, but it was Ok, and the staff are friendly enough.
The Hotels major advantage is that it is minutes from everything, mosques, museums, bazaars, dozens of food choices, tram and is a relatively quiet hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a double bed, be very specific, as a double can be just two singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herbsteraged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at the Gulhane Park Hotel from 17 - 21 June 2013.The hotel is in a great location just minutes walk away from many of the major attractions of the old city, yet quiet at night. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially Vedat on reception. The room was clean but very small - there was nowhere to sit and there was not much room for storage. We asked for twin beds but got a double which meant disturbed sleep. Also there were tea/coffee making facilities but only tea and coffee provided on the first night. Other than that we had a great time in Istanbul and would recommend the city and it's people to anybody.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Libya
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I booked this hotel twice in June 2013, (11 to 13 and 22 to 26). I, my wife and daughter liked it so much. the breakfast was excellent and many options. Staff are so friendly and helpful and I would like specially to thank VEDAT KONUK and BAYRAM, they are so nice and the smiles is always in their faces. Hotel is clean and comfortable and everything is beside your location, just 5 min walking.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salemhus2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Gülhane Park Hotel is in a perfect location for a city trip. Very helpful and friendly staff, special thanks to Zelal at the reception. We had a great time in Istanbul. The Hotel is near a lot of historic sites of Istanbul and near public transportation (Tram/Metro).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahjar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Doubletree by Hilton Istanbul - Sirkeci
Sultanahmet
Dream Bosphorus Hotel
Dream Bosphorus Hotel
#426 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hypnos Design Hotel
Hypnos Design Hotel
#187 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
#189 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Black Tulip
Hotel Black Tulip
#221 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orka Royal Hotel
Orka Royal Hotel
#243 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulhane Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulhane Park Hotel

Property: Gulhane Park Hotel
Address: Nobethane Caddesi, No:1, Istanbul 34112, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#124 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#240 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gulhane Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gülhane Park Hotel is in a fantastic location that allows you to observe the entire historical texture of İstanbul (constantinapolis), to enjoy an unparalleled view of the Bosphorus, Gülhanepark and to breathe the sea and park air. The unique historical and tourist sights of our city are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gulhane Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulhane Park Istanbul
Hotel Gulhane Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing