We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, friendly, well maintained, thin walls”
Review of Erten Konak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Erten Konak
Ranked #279 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cluj-Napoca
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent value, friendly, well maintained, thin walls”
Reviewed December 25, 2010

Four nights of making love as quietly as possible! The walls and floors are thin in this beautiful, well-maintained hotel tucked behind the Blue Mosque. It is cute and charming, with unique Turkish flavor. There are many similarly unique small hotels in the area. This one is a block or two farther behind the Blue Mosque, a little farther from the restaurants, and definitely cheaper but still delivers high value.

The breakfast buffet showed signs of the food being put out a few too many days in a row.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhaines94108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    96
    37
    9
    16
See reviews for
36
154
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Service was superb!! Hotels’ staff was extremely helpful at any time.
The hotel itself was a wonderful experience! Small but beautifully decorated rooms, ottoman furniture and a sense of Ottoman Empire’s best at all spaces.
Best value for money hotel I have ever visited in Istanbul
Extra tip: it is indeed also very romantic…

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaViDouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

My partner and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Erten Konak hotel in Istanbul. We have quite mixed feelings about the hotel, as there are some really good points, but also some bad points about it. On the positive side, the hotel provided a great pick up service and is a fantastic location for seeing all the main sights. The hotel is decorated beautifully and the price includes an average buffet breakfast.
On the negative side the room we were initially given was tiny and quite tatty. There was no room to leave our cases and there was no room to walk around, as the bed took up 90% of the floor space. At the price we paid for the room and the way the rooms were described on the website we were really disappointed. Also the room was really warm and stuffy. We were willing to put up with the size of the room, but were unable to put up with the heat in the room (air conditioning wasn’t working). We therefore asked to be moved to a different room, which we were eventually able to after two days. The new room was larger, but had an unbearably disgusting smell of drains in the bathroom.
At this point we didn't dare to complain again, so we just put up with it. We were not really made to feel welcome and felt uncomfortable when for asking for anything.
We booked this hotel as a treat and feel that we could have got a better hotel for a cheaper price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicky055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Nice and central for tourist sites, with small yet clean rooms. Bathroom presented well but the water pressure was low. Breakfasts were unexceptional with almost undrinkable coffee and juices that hadn't seen real fruit for a long time, if at all!

Staff appeared friendly and supportive but alas liberal with truth. For example, our room was double-booked on the first night and we were forced to stay in a different hotel one night. The staff stated the room had had "fire sprinkler damage" and was flooded. Remarkable that it was bone-dry and conveniently ready the next morning just after check-out! This plus pretending to have ordered taxis but not actually ordering until you come downstairs and waiting 10 minutes made for bitter pills.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bilberrytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

We had a wonderful surprise with this hotel. We've never been to Istanbul, but had an idea on where to stay, so we chose it for its location and of course price. It's what I would call a boutique=hotel, so good taste on the decor, beautiful furniture and paintings on the walls, cozy rooms, with slippers and bath robes. The breakfast is amazing, from fresh fruits to exquisite cheeses, that good smelling bread, olives and whatsoever else you can't possibly eat it all. The staff is the most friendly and helpful you can find, always there for you. If you are going to Istanbul, stay at the Erten Konak, a walfing distance from the Blue Mosque and the Topkapi Palace. Right next door to the Four Seasons. Enjoy it !!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marshallsManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

I booked through booking.com and I paid a very good price for 2 nights in a tiny nice, well decorated room. We enjoyed very much our stay. Sophisticated and comfy place but not pretentious and excessive luxurious. clean and nice breakfast in the charming veranda. good location to visit the old part of instanbul.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trolleypacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

The decor is really beautiful, we had a gorgeous, luxurious room with lovely furniture. However, we felt as a young couple we were unusual in staying there and that the staff weren't used to people who might want a lie in on their holiday.
I'm not sure how many stars it is, although its advertised on splendia as 4 star. It definitely doesn't meet the standards of other hotels we've stayed in with this ranking. Our bedlinen had a very large hole in it and the cleaners didn't replace out towels. Also, there was no iron in the bedroom which was inconvenient. Also, it was advertised as having free wi fi but the signal was so weak that it didn't work in our room.
We had been staying at another hotel before hand and had called into this hotel a few days before to book a cab to pick us up. We assume that they forgot as the cab never turned up and the man we had booked it from didn't refer to it once we got there.
One incident that made us feel unwelcome in particular was that the cleaning ladies were very rude to us. My boyfriend had gone out in the morning time to the local shop and on returning found the two cleaning ladies camped outside our room (It was 11am) saying when were we going to be out of there because they wanted to finish. When you're spending well over £120 a night for a room this behaivour is hardly merited. After about another half an hour, we had a knock on our door, this time it was one of the hotel porters. He wanted to know when we were going out or if we wanted the cleaners. I found this very intrusive and rude. When we left a few minutes later the two ladies scowled at us as we left despite my boyfriend saying thank you and smiling at them. All in all it made us feel very uncomfortable. When we returned, nothing had been properly tidied and the towels and sheets had not been changed.
I'd still recommend it to a friend as the design is so lovely and its location is good for seeing the old city and the other staff were pleasant but when I return to Istanbul I will be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#338 of 1,149 in Istanbul
474 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kaftan Hotel
Kaftan Hotel
#285 of 1,149 in Istanbul
152 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
#286 of 1,149 in Istanbul
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#40 of 1,149 in Istanbul
728 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#146 of 1,149 in Istanbul
473 reviews
Sultanahmet
Alzer Hotel
Alzer Hotel
#334 of 1,149 in Istanbul
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erten Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erten Konak

Property: Erten Konak
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Degirmeni Sk. 8-10 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#199 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#228 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#230 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Erten Konak 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erten konak is in istanbul historical peninsula, in sultanahmet akbiyik avenue and on the roman and byzantine wall towers. It is a wooden esidence having split aubergine model, composed of 2 houses. Constructed at the beginning of the 20th century, and registered as 2nd class historical building under protection and composed of main residence building and 1 house with identity of sultanahmet erten konak rooms are decorated with antique articles and objects subject to the cencept, which reflects ottoman and turkish life style in the best manner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Erten Konak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erten Konak Istanbul
Erten Konak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing