We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, room and location”
Review of Erten Konak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Erten Konak
Ranked #286 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel, room and location”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Loved this hotel and it's interior decoration. Superb location & great staff who were very friendly and helpful. Our room was great in size and lacked nothing, 4th floor is a must, as floor gets a bit noisy. Will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatrice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avatif Havva Y, Yönetici at Erten Konak, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review and are glad that our services could exceed your expectations during your stay
We thank you for your thoughtful comments and hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,

Avatif Havva YIGIT
Sales & Marketing Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    96
    36
    9
    16
See reviews for
34
153
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Not far from the sites/sights - but down very narrow streets. Interesting, quirky decoration. Very friendly, helpful staff. Rooms can be large but with small bathroom or small with better bathroom. Stairs not for elderly or infirm! Air conditioning was not working. Could not provide an iron. Breakfast very average. Very nice breakfast area. Very nice courtyard/garden seating area.

Room Tip: 302 large but very tight bathroom. 202 & 203 much smaller but with better bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

IT was good enough for a 2-3 star max. Floor very creaky and could hear everything outside my room. every time somebody past the stairs or walked in the room above ours we could hear it clearly. not suitable for families. I thought it was over priced and there are other nicer hotels in the region.
sheets had stains on them and room not cleaned properly
wouldnt help with bags either

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ammar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Aust.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This small, old and beautifully restored building is in an ideal location to enjoy the Old City with all it's wonderful treasures, all within minutes on foot. The very helpful and friendly staff will keep a smile on your face. The rooms are large, spotlessly clean, big fluffy towels and extremely comfortable. My wife and I stayed a total of 4 nights and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 403 has a great view over the Sea of Marmara, with some pieces of ancient ruins visible between...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avatif Havva Y, Yönetici at Erten Konak, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review and are glad that our services could exceed your expectations during your stay
We thank you for your thoughtful comments and hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,

Avatif Havva YIGIT
Sales & Marketing Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for three nights in October 2013. Its location is just excellent, surrounded by small streets with restaurants and shops, ten minutes walk from Aya Sofia. The location is a bit noisy but it gets more or less silent by midnight. The room was small but comfortable, with a big comfortable bed, excellent view over the roofs and excellent quality of wi-fi. Continental breakfast was good. Personnel were very friendly, helping with all requests, and their advice on places to visit was very good.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on 3 or 4 floors - less noisy and excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrei_250171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My friend and I were in a pinch looking for a hotel on short notice, having arrived in Istanbul on the day of the riots and needing to change our accommodation to Sultanahmet. I walked over to the property from another hotel, and was immediately shown the best remaining room, which fit our requirements. This small hotel was well located, close to the Blue Mosque, in the heart of Sultanahmet. The service was friendly and the people courteous and helpful. The guest rooms are done in a "period" way, and hallways are decorated with the owners' fabulous hat collection. The continental breakfast was fine, and the chef was available to prepare other things if necessary. The small outdoor garden is lovely. There also was an upstairs bar, which we sadly did not have time for. I highly recommend this hotel for sightseeing in Sultanahmet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarfishJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Excellent hotel, friendly and helpful staff, and comfortable rooms. Lovely location in the old town. Wifi doesn't work in the room, only in the restaurant area, but other than that, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avatif Havva Y, Yönetici at Erten Konak, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We were very happy to read your review and are glad that our services could exceed your expectations during your stay
We thank you for your thoughtful comments and hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.
Yours sincerely,

Avatif Havva YIGIT
Sales & Marketing Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#332 of 1,141 in Istanbul
474 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
#285 of 1,141 in Istanbul
215 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kaftan Hotel
Kaftan Hotel
#288 of 1,141 in Istanbul
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#40 of 1,141 in Istanbul
724 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#132 of 1,141 in Istanbul
833 reviews
Sultanahmet
Lamp Hotel
Lamp Hotel
#562 of 1,141 in Istanbul
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erten Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erten Konak

Property: Erten Konak
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Degirmeni Sk. 8-10 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#204 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#229 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#231 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Erten Konak 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erten konak is in istanbul historical peninsula, in sultanahmet akbiyik avenue and on the roman and byzantine wall towers. It is a wooden esidence having split aubergine model, composed of 2 houses. Constructed at the beginning of the 20th century, and registered as 2nd class historical building under protection and composed of main residence building and 1 house with identity of sultanahmet erten konak rooms are decorated with antique articles and objects subject to the cencept, which reflects ottoman and turkish life style in the best manner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Erten Konak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erten Konak Istanbul
Erten Konak Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing