We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and comfortable stay”
Review of Ferman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ferman Hotel
Ranked #193 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Well located and comfortable stay”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is very well located .. The blue mosque is 100 mts away and so is the tram station which takes you to all the places of attraction..
If u are fond of walking then u can actually see the best of istanbul on foot only...
Another good thing about the hotel is that the super market is just 2 min walk away from the hotel...
The stay was extremely comfortable and staff helps u for every small thing u need.this hotel even has terrace restaurant where they serve their breakfast with the view of the blue mosque which is a beauty in itself..
Will definitely return to this hotel only whenever I come next..

Room Tip: Room on the ground floor are most comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pallavikhannaprakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    193
    45
    15
    4
See reviews for
117
358
54
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have been to Istanbul twice in the last six months, and I have stayed at the Ferman both times. I was referred to this hotel on the recommendation of some friends who visit Istanbul twice a year. The location of this hotel is excellent. It is in the heart of Sultanahmet and the roof deck (where you have breakfast and/or afternoon/evening drinks) has the most phenomenal view. The Sea of Marmara is on one side and the Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia on the other side. When you walk out of the front door, there is a street with a host of restaurants about two blocks away. There is a bazaar at the top of the hill next to a restaurant where you can smoke hookah and watch whirling dervishes. And you are a very short walk from both the Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia. The hotel is reasonably priced and also can arrange for a shuttle to or from the airport. And the juice, biscuits, and Turkish delight in the lobby is always a welcome site. If you pay in cash, the hotel will typically offer a 5% discount. This is a solid hotel in a great location and I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: If you are traveling not as a couple (i.e. two friends), make it very clear that you want to two sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I want to say thank you for your kind attention and good service. We were very pleased with our room, with its view of the Blue Mosque; the standards of cleanliness and hygiene were excellent. Staff were most helpful with organising taxis and excursions; also, cheerful and friendly at all times, both in reception and in the breakfast area.

We would recommend your hotel to anyone at any time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndalelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Excellent hotel, a stone's throw from Aya Sophia and the Blue Mosque, with lots of restaurants and shops just up the road, yet away from all the hustle and bustle which make for a better night's sleep. Great room with luxurious accents like antique chandeliers and damask-print drapes. Our room even had a small Juliette balcony. The bathroom had a bathtub.
You can grab little pins for souvenirs from the lobby and enjoy complimentary water, shortbreak and turkish delight.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived late evening and after leaving our bags in our room we were taken to the roof terrace and our first view of Istanbul was "Wow"! Fabulous location. Beautiful clean rooms. Breakfast on the terrace was the best start to the day and the staff are very helpful with nothing being too much trouble. Another reviewer complained about the noise of the train which in fact does not run all night and as we were out sightseeing all day, was never a problem. We were much more taken with the ever-changing views over The Sea of Marmara. The location could not be bettered being in a side street, very near restaurants and shops but without the street noise and within a short walking distance from all the main sights. Beds are very comfortable. clean towels every day, with tea and coffee facilities.
While there, we made a point of looking at the location of other hotels we had considered and we definitely made the right choice with the Ferman. We will return to Istanbul and the Ferman.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Apart from an outstanding location, in the heart of the historical part of Istanbul, hotel Ferman has beautiful rooms, balconies overseeing the sea, a magnificent roof top restaurant from where you may admire the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia,and most importantly young English speaking staff, each and every one extremely polite, helpful and professional. Rooms are spacy and clean, breakfast delicious, and the mere fact that whichever walking path through the most beautiful part of old Istanbul you chose to stroll, it is just a matter of minutes when you will encounter some of the historical wonders. All this at a very convenient price. Recommending it with all my heart and will definitely return there with my family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Very good location for important sites eg Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia. Staff very helpful. On arrival as well as showing us our room, showed us where breakfast was served. Free coffee machine in roof restaurant as well abs kettle etc in room. No problem with our air conditioning. Needed some drawer space in room. Take coat hangers.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank myhols2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#143 of 1,149 in Istanbul
835 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ferman Sultan Hotel
Ferman Sultan Hotel
#255 of 1,149 in Istanbul
289 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#64 of 1,149 in Istanbul
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#338 of 1,149 in Istanbul
474 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#293 of 1,149 in Istanbul
388 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sumengen Hotel
Sumengen Hotel
#277 of 1,149 in Istanbul
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferman Hotel

Property: Ferman Hotel
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sok. No:37 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#72 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#83 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#148 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ferman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to make your holiday get comfortable and meet all your expectations and desires. A 24 hour-room service, friendly staff, good quality and smiling faces are here to welcome you. Throughout your stay you will discover the cultural richness of Istanbul while indulging in the wellknown Turkish hospitality. That is our aim to include the perfect service touches in a wonderful setting that take and ordinary vacation to extraordinary memories. Ferman Hotel is a new S.Class boutique hotel, opened in 2009 at the central of the historical peninsula (Sultanahmet). There are 24 rooms decorated with in a mixture of the Ottoman and the modern style with 2 King's Rooms, 2 Penthouse Rooms, 2 Junior Suits, 6 Sultan's Rooms, 4 Ocean Rooms and 8 Ferman's Rooms. King's Rooms, Junior Suits and Ocean Rooms has a wonderful Marmara Bosphorous view. Penthouse and Sultan's Rooms has a great Sultanahmet view. And the other 8 Ferman Rooms are with a city view. The rooms are at a graceful blend of the past and the present, designed in the Ottoman style yet offering all the modern amenities. Each room is equipped with electronic room key locks, air conditioning, minibar, safe deposit box, smoke dedector, satelite tv channel, 82 inc LCD tv, wireless internet access, direct dial telephone and bathroom with tub or overhead shower. Apart from the superior comforting rooms, it has spacious and very well appointed public areas, where you can relieve yourself from the daily stress. It also puts a strong emphasis on food and beverages. Ferman Hotel is located with in a walking distance to all historical sights such as St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Covered Bazaar, Cistern, Topkapi Palace and many others. Due to its convenient location, it offers a great advantage for guests those who wish to explore the old city, Sultanahmet. Ferman Hotel is the new face of Sultanahmet, your second house in Istanbul. Our incredibly central location is only a few steps walking distance to the hub of Istanbul's greatest Ottoman and Byzantine historical treasures including Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, the Byzantine Hippodrome, Topkapi Palace and the world famous Grand Bazaar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ferman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferman Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing