We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Hotel and great location”
Review of Ferman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ferman Hotel
Ranked #194 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
“Romantic Hotel and great location”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Nice holel with great location. Walking distance to all major attractions. Room was nice size and nicely remodeled. The bathroom require extra care to get in and out. Staff are helpfull and friendly. The girl at the front desk was so sweet and explained the transportation system to us. It took a while to figure out the HVAC and the safe. The breakfast was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adonease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SERKANTKAVAL, General Manager at Ferman Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Clients;
Thank you for choosing Ferman Hotel for your stay in Istanbul. We are glad to host you in our hotel. Your experience is important for us. Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Ferman Hotel the next time you're in Istanbul.
Have a nice day and bussiness.
With My Best Wishes
Serkant KAVAL
Ferman Hotel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    191
    45
    15
    3
See reviews for
113
356
53
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Nice boutique hotel right behind the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia in Sultanahmet. Easy walking distance within the Golden Horn with sights and restaurants everywhere. The room was nice size with a king bed. The bath and shower require extra care to get into. The only issue was insufficient lighting in the room. Due to strange placements of the lighting in the room, it made the room very dark in the early evening. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgeekSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SERKANTKAVAL, General Manager at Ferman Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Client,
Thank you for choosing Ferman Hotel for your stay in Istanbul. We are glad to host you in our hotel. Your experience is important for us. Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Ferman Hotel the next time you're in Istanbul.
Have a nice day and bussiness.
With My Best Wishes
Serkant KAVAL
Ferman Hotel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciolumbus, OH
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the Ferman and recommend it for travelers due to the following reasons:
1. The hotel front desk is very helpful to maximize what can be done in a limited time.
2. The location of the hotel in the historical area of Sultan ahmet makes it very easy to access the entire city.
3. The free breakfast in their roof top is outstanding with its view on Marmara sea and the variety of food that fits the taste of any one at a beautiful sea breath.
4. Rooms are little bit small but very clean.

Room Tip: Select rooms above the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank telhosseiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SERKANTKAVAL, General Manager at Ferman Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Client,
Thank you for choosing Ferman Hotel for your stay in Istanbul. We are glad to host you in our hotel. Your experience is important for us. Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Ferman Hotel the next time you're in Istanbul.
Have a nice day and bussiness.
With My Best Wishes
Serkant KAVAL
Ferman Hotel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Julians, Malta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Me and my best friend stayed at the Fermann hotel for a week, the hotel is in a very good location 10min walk to the blue mosque, very safe area even at night, there are many restaurants near by ( view my review on Turquoise restaurant ), it is a very clean hotel, the room was very big and the view was awesome, the breakfast varied, the people at the reception were always available and friendly, its a nice environment, very tidy and relaxing, would defiantly go there again without thinking twice.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Firyal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Ferman Hotel is situated in the old city if Sultanamet, a perfect location with the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace and other great tourist sites. There are heaps of restaurants and shops within easy walking distance as well. The staff are extremely helpful. There was a good selection of food for breakfast. The roof top terrace has scenic views of the Bosporus and the Blue Mosque. Magic!

The majority of Turkish people are very nice but make sure you ask for a price before you buy an ice-cream or a drink and especially if you get your shoes cleaned. Make sure you confirm the price example I asked how much an ice-cream was and was told 1 Lira I didn't confirm and he charged me 4 Lira.

We had a great time in Istanbul and when time and money permits we will be back to the Ferman.

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony and a view of the Blue Mosque next time we will go for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed as a group of four adults from 10-15 Oct. We loved the Ferman as it is a small hotel, very popular with international guests, offering a friendly, personal service from a multi-lingual staff: Erkan, with his lovely sense of humour, Sila, now famous on the internet for her beautiful smile and Gökhan, always courteous and helpful. The lobby with its complimentary fruit juices, biscuits and Turkish Delight was a constant temptation. Our rooms were pleasant, tastefully furnished, with a traditional ambience, yet included flat-screen TVs and free wi-fi as concessions to the modern age. They were regularly cleaned to a high standard. Breakfast on the roof terrace was a delight. We experienced six days of cloudless blue skies and warm sunshine in mid-October and were able to see for miles across the city and beyond. The breakfast buffet was good and plentiful, with daily variations. There was always a range of cereals, fresh and dried fruits, cheeses, cooked meats, hot dishes with scrambled egg, sausage, pancakes etc. There was also a wide choice of bread and rolls, cakes, biscuits, butter, jam, honey, juices, coffee and selected teas. The Ferman is well-situated in a quaint area of Sultanahmet between the Blue Mosque and the coast. Older properties in the vicinity are gradually being renovated and converted to small hotels, though we never experienced any intrusive building activity. The only minor inconveniences were the occasional train passing behind the hotel and the early morning call to prayer from the mosque. Both of these were anticipated in advance of our visit and did not detract from the wonderful time we had in Istanbul. In the pretty, cobbled streets close by are lots of attractive, good-value restaurants serving Turkish and international cuisine. We would certainly choose the Ferman again and have already recommended it to family and friends. (Tip when flying into Sabiha Gökçen Airport): Take the 011 / 013 shuttle bus - very modern and comfortable - to the ferry port next to Haydarpasa Station, Kadiköy (TL 8, pay on bus), then across to the ferry port at Eminönü (TL 3, pay at machine or on boat), then a taxi to the hotel (TL 8). The whole trip took just over an hour in our case, for a total of TL 13 per head for our group of four. (About £4.60 / €5.70). Or pay an arm and a leg for a pre-arranged shuttle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weldon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Absolutley perfect location for site seeing .The roof terrace was very impressive with the views of the Blue Mosque and the Bosphorus.The staff were very attentive and always helpfull and polite.I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Second floor room 404 at the front of the hotel has a balcony perfect for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#132 of 1,141 in Istanbul
833 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#64 of 1,141 in Istanbul
955 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ferman Sultan Hotel
Ferman Sultan Hotel
#266 of 1,141 in Istanbul
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#40 of 1,141 in Istanbul
724 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#79 of 1,141 in Istanbul
493 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#332 of 1,141 in Istanbul
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferman Hotel

Property: Ferman Hotel
Address: Amiral Tafdil Sok. No:37 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#72 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#83 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#149 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ferman Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to make your holiday get comfortable and meet all your expectations and desires. A 24 hour-room service, friendly staff, good quality and smiling faces are here to welcome you. Throughout your stay you will discover the cultural richness of Istanbul while indulging in the wellknown Turkish hospitality. That is our aim to include the perfect service touches in a wonderful setting that take and ordinary vacation to extraordinary memories. Ferman Hotel is a new S.Class boutique hotel, opened in 2009 at the central of the historical peninsula (Sultanahmet). There are 24 rooms decorated with in a mixture of the Ottoman and the modern style with 2 King's Rooms, 2 Penthouse Rooms, 2 Junior Suits, 6 Sultan's Rooms, 4 Ocean Rooms and 8 Ferman's Rooms. King's Rooms, Junior Suits and Ocean Rooms has a wonderful Marmara Bosphorous view. Penthouse and Sultan's Rooms has a great Sultanahmet view. And the other 8 Ferman Rooms are with a city view. The rooms are at a graceful blend of the past and the present, designed in the Ottoman style yet offering all the modern amenities. Each room is equipped with electronic room key locks, air conditioning, minibar, safe deposit box, smoke dedector, satelite tv channel, 82 inc LCD tv, wireless internet access, direct dial telephone and bathroom with tub or overhead shower. Apart from the superior comforting rooms, it has spacious and very well appointed public areas, where you can relieve yourself from the daily stress. It also puts a strong emphasis on food and beverages. Ferman Hotel is located with in a walking distance to all historical sights such as St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Covered Bazaar, Cistern, Topkapi Palace and many others. Due to its convenient location, it offers a great advantage for guests those who wish to explore the old city, Sultanahmet. Ferman Hotel is the new face of Sultanahmet, your second house in Istanbul. Our incredibly central location is only a few steps walking distance to the hub of Istanbul's greatest Ottoman and Byzantine historical treasures including Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, the Byzantine Hippodrome, Topkapi Palace and the world famous Grand Bazaar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ferman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferman Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing