We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Evening”
Review of Cooking Alaturka

Cooking Alaturka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cooking Alaturka offers daily Turkish cooking classes, either from 10:30 to 14:30 or from 16:30 to 20:30, to groups ranging from 2 to 11 persons. You cook five authentic Turkish dishes together with other travellers, under supervision of Rocco and his Turkish chef. Our classes are hands-on and fun, as well as informative. They are suitable for both professional chefs and kitchen novices. Afterwards, enjoy your cooking efforts over lunch or dinner with some local wine. We also function as a regular lunch and dinner restaurant, offering a daily-changing four-course menu. Reservations are recommended due to limited space.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Delightful Evening”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We joined four other people (for a total of six in the group) for the cooking class/dinner. The evening was a lot of fun. Our host was Mara, and Chef Feyzi, who has a wicked sense of humour, helped us amateurs in preparing the ingredients for a wonderful four-course Turkish meal: dried okra soup as the first course, an appetizer of a spicy tomato and onion salad and a broad bean puree with dill, a main course of lamb stew in tomato sauce on a bed of eggplant puree, and quince in syrup with grated apple as the desert. Both Mara and Chef Feyzi were very patient with our peeling and chopping efforts, including our semi-successful attempts to make quenelles with a couple of spoons. We then sat at a table in the restaurant part of the establishment and ate with enthusiasm what we had helped to prepare. It was a highly successful and entertaining way of learning about Turkish food.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    55
    15
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
2 reviews
“One of the highlights of our trip”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My family and I did the cooking class + dinner at cooking Alaturka and had a wonderful time. Our host, Eveline, accommodated my vegetarian parents and was charming while leading the cooking portion. We then had dinner as a group which was quite comfortable whether you want to chat with your own party or with others. I highly recommend it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank B0xster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“What great fun”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We came here as a group of 10 business colleagues and had great fun. We spend the morning learning new skills and working our way through the 5 dishes ready for lunch. The instructions were clear and well explained. The quality of the ingredients was first class and the chef is very funny. Well worth a trip.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonBullit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience, delicious food!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

My fiance and I did a cooking class with Chef Feyzi and Mara and we loved it! The restaurant is in a great location and is very cute. We were greeted with tea and coffee and first reviewed the menu, including the history and regions behind each dish. The instruction was very hands on, step by step, and we even learned some techniques. The ingredients were fresh and we tasted some of the local spices individually. Chef Feyzi has a great sense of humor and Mara was very helpful and good company. The food was so yummy! This was an awesome experience!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Yummy and fun”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our Turkish cooking experience. The chef is hilarious and made the whole thing very much fun. We learnt lots of great recipies with the majority of ingredients available to us when we got home. The highlight of the cooking part was using a knife the size of a sword to chop herbs! Yummy :)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank bagelobagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooking Alaturka also viewed

 

Been to Cooking Alaturka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing