We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Turkish Experience”
Review of Cooking Alaturka

Cooking Alaturka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cooking Alaturka offers daily Turkish cooking classes, either from 10:30 to 14:30 or from 16:30 to 20:30, to groups ranging from 2 to 11 persons. You cook five authentic Turkish dishes together with other travellers, under supervision of Rocco and his Turkish chef. Our classes are hands-on and fun, as well as informative. They are suitable for both professional chefs and kitchen novices. Afterwards, enjoy your cooking efforts over lunch or dinner with some local wine. We also function as a regular lunch and dinner restaurant, offering a daily-changing four-course menu. Reservations are recommended due to limited space.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Turkish Experience”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

- There was only 3 of us in the class, so it was like a private class which was good
- Eveline and Feyzi were both really friendly and helpful
- The recipes weren't challenging but it meant that we could have fun cooking and it wasn't at all stressful
- Delicious food - red lentil soup, zucchini pancakes, stuffed eggplant, beef and lamb dolmas and semolina syrup cake.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CaitieJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    55
    15
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful - not to be missed!”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Superb Turkish food cooked by your own fair hand under the kind and professional eye of Evelina and her Turkish chef. We had a feast including yogurt soup, stuffed aubergine, courgette and feta pancakes, meze of green beans, and walnut stuffed figs. The wine was great too, and the whole ambience of the restaurant/cookery school was magical. Highly recommended. Would definitely go back next time I'm in Istanbul.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“Great experience”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

As a turk, I was surprised to eat some of the best "mezes" of my life, cooked by a dutch lady. Very friendly environment and certainly worth spending some hours for knowing one of the ricchest cusines of the world.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oğuz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Delicious Dinner”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

One of the best meals we had was here. Two different fixed price menus were offered. We ordered one of each, switching plates half way through each course. The food was very good & the service matched the cuisine.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful fresh food”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My friend and i booked to eat at this restaurant on our first night in Istanbul. I dont think we would have stopped if just passing by so we were grateful to have read many good reviews about it to prompt us to go. Although the cost is a bit more than most restaurants we were so full and it was worth every penny. The food was just delicious, a good range, easy on the palette and left you wanting to get all the recipies. As well as the good food the staff were so warm. The place closed reasonably early but that didnt bother us. You are really going for the food and service rather than an atmospheric interior but would highly recommend a visit; location is very central to the old town and easy to find. Enjoy!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank dani l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooking Alaturka also viewed

 

Been to Cooking Alaturka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing