We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but a bit off the charts”
Review of Hotel Hamidiye

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hamidiye
Ranked #864 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OK, but a bit off the charts”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Everything was nice and clean at the hotel and free wifi is always a plus for me but I didn't find the staff especially helpful and the hotel itself is situated maybe 10-15 min walk from the grand bazaar and ca 5 min walk from the nearest tram station which always made me hesitate to go back to the hotel for some rest.
The breakfast is ok, with many varieties, but only turkish coffee and tea and one kind of bread. Boiled eggs and something that resembled scrambled eggs which I never tasted. Several kinds of cereal and musli, milk and yoghurt, fresh fruits, cheese and sausages and plentiful of olives.

Also, some of the photos are photoshopped. The facade doesnt look like that at all and if you were to lie at the pool, (it was empty at our stay) you would look inte to face of the next building, not clear blue skies

Room Tip: The hotel lies ca 100 m from a mosque with minarets which didnt disturb me who had a room facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Markus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    34
    29
    20
    10
See reviews for
14
27
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Overpriced. Never opt for Old City if you can find a hotel near Taksim Square/Isiklal Street. The place is so dull. Everything closes by 9. Breakfast is good but rooms are very small and I must say again overpriced. Room service is poor. Leaky bathrooms.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Aun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOURIST19621962, Yönetici at Hotel Hamidiye, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at our hotel.
We would like to remind you that our hotel is located at the OLD CITY near to the historical parts.
Taksim square or ISTIKLAL str are the modern new part of the city where you can enjoy the night life of the city.
Our location is more quiet as it has historical monuments around .
The room you reserved was small if you compare it to our other rooms as our 75% of the rooms are the biggest ones among other hotels,the average room size is around 27 sqm.
We would like to welcome you again and wish you all the best.
Best regards
ORHAN SANCAR
Managinf Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Helena, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I spent two nights at the Hamidiye Hotel March 17 and 18, 2014. Although the public rooms; lobby, dinning room and hallways were clean and presentable, the rooms were very disappointing. There was dirt in the corners of the rooms,in the drawers and on the closet floor. The worst was the mold in the bathroom. The shower grout on many of the tiles were black with it and a large section of the grout on the floor of the bathroom was also covered in the mold.

Room Tip: I would suggest you ask to view the room before signing in. Our room faced the front of the hotel an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank groupleader45212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The location of the hotel is close to almost everywhere. You will be like 10 minutes away from Taksim Square, few minutes away from Historia Mall, and like 5 minutes away from a walk on the sea coast. Sultan Ahmet and Hagia Sofia r 2 tram stations away.You can rely on the hotel staff with any help that you might need like transportation... public or private..touristic maps and places... shopping spots. The place is great for almost any type of trip. Family, couple, friends or on a business trip; this place is just right for you. I recommend it to the people who really want to enjoy the true value of visiting Istanbul.Enjoy!!! and Have a wonderful time !!!

Room Tip: whatever you need in Istanbul just ask the staff there and they will help you out with the best pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rasha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Hamidiye Hotel is nice hotel in a good location , Hamidiye Hotel is located in old city ,near to Grand bazaar , to Soliman Mosque and also to public transportation Laleli tram station
And also there are many shop around of the hotel.

The breakfast is very good The rooms are large and clean and some rooms with balcony
Wifi is free and working very well nice and smiling staff .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anna a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great hotel with fiendly staff

Excellent location , 5 min walking distance to Grand bazaar and Süleymaniye mosque , 3 min to tram station ,

The room are very large , balcony and clean

Breakfast is nice in the roof top restaurant

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeynep D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOURIST19621962, Yönetici at Hotel Hamidiye, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Customer,
Please be informed that the hotel is completly
renovated and old managment company has been
changed.
We would like to welcome you again with our new face
Thank you
Orhan Sancar
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algiers, Algeria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The hotel staff were helpfull and friendly . great location ,the hotel room was very clean , close to most of shoping centers I really liked the accommodation and I seriously will recommend it to anyone who is going to Istanbul and especially what I really like was that the staff where very friendly."

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chell m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
Grand Hotel Gulsoy
Grand Hotel Gulsoy
#389 of 1,156 in Istanbul
278 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Vicenza
Hotel Vicenza
#492 of 1,156 in Istanbul
238 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Grand Washington
Hotel Grand Washington
#619 of 1,156 in Istanbul
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Zagreb Hotel
Zagreb Hotel
#570 of 1,156 in Istanbul
288 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Zurich
Hotel Zurich
#499 of 1,156 in Istanbul
175 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Laleli Gonen Hotel
Laleli Gonen Hotel
#485 of 1,156 in Istanbul
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hamidiye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hamidiye

Property: Hotel Hamidiye
Address: Fevziye Cad.No.1 Sehzadebasi | Old City Fatih, Istanbul 34470, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #864 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hamidiye 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamidiye Hotel's managment company has been changed in December 2014. After this period a very serious renovations has ben done at the hotel. All furnitures,beds,tv units are renewed.The TV channels are up dated. Hamidiye hotel is located at the old part of city,near to the historical places. The famous Grand Bazaar is only 100 meters far from the hotel and Sehzade Mosques which is build in 16th century is just opposite of the hotel, The biggest Mosque of Ottoman Empire SULEYMANIYE and the tombs of SULTAN SULEYMAN THE MAGNIFICENT and his wife HURREM SULTAN are just behind the hotel(50 meters) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hamidiye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing