We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Ranked #293 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The hotel is located right next to all the tourist attractions in Sultanmet ...the blue mosque, aya sofia and topkapi palace. The terrace has a spectacular view . The hotel is cute but the rooms are quite small and found the bed to be a bit uncomfortable. All in all, it was good value for money though..primarily because of the location.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Aditi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    151
    58
    27
    14
See reviews for
115
142
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel located right between the Blue Mosque and Aiya Sophia, 2 minutes walk to all of the major sites in istanbul. Designated on the list of historic hotels of Istanbul, it is small intimate and friendly. A spectacular rooftop terrace provides magnificent views over the Bosporus and the mosques. The service staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. Very reasonably price for such a location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oatilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jerónimo, Masaya, Nicaragua
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance of most major Istanbul tourist attractions - and it's an easy tram ride away from many others. The hotel staff can give directions, restaurant recommendations, and lots of helpful hints - and they're all very knowledgeable about Istanbul. We went out with some local people one night, and their driver came to pick us up. He was a bit early, and we found him chatting away with the desk manager when we were ready to go. The breakfast is pretty much the same every day, but it's all good food, and there is plenty of variety for those who don't want to "eat Turkish." The bed and room were clean and comfortable. Really a great place to choose for a "home away from home."

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the staircase are quieter, as are rooms on higher floors. However, nothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I got the hotel on Hotwire, where it was advertised as a 4 Star Hotel. It isnt by any means a 4 Star Property. It's a decnet place, in a good location, with a good breakfast. The staff is friendly and try to accomodate as best they can. As others have said, everything is within easy walking distance to the hotel. The call to prayer will rock you out of bed, but that what you are there for...a little local flavor! Our room was decently clean, but the maid forgot to service the room once during our brief 2 night stay. Also the TV didn't work as the wires had been ripped from the back. If you are looking for a clean comfortable tourist class 2-3 star place, then this will be fine for you. The breakfast was the best part of our stay. The free internet worked fine after I requested that it be reset on the 2nd floor. If you do stay here, don't forget to go up on the roof at night (or day) and enjoy the spetacular view of the sights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skysurfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at this quaint cozy hotel in March 2011 and had a great time. On the super plus side is the fact that this hotel is located in tourist central- Sultanahmet and within walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia, Tokapi Palace, museums, the cistern etc. The room is cozy and clean and the breakfast spread is very good. You can fill up at breakfast and wont feel hungry even if you go past lunch time. Mustafa at the front desk is really the go to guy if you need to arrange for anything basically- he even helped us sort our trip to Cappadocia at a very good price. The other staff are equally helpful and always ready to help with a smile. You can just walk to most of the "must do" sites from the hotel. Explore the shops around the hotel for food. we found one chinese restaurant not too far from the hotel if you are bored with meat and kebabs!

Recommended definitely for tourists.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZameenZahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagrandi293974, Front Office Manager at Armagrandi Spina Istanbul, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Zameen Zahari,


Thank you very much for your reveiw.

All the best
Kadir Kilic
Sales&Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2013

we stayed here for a week in Febuary 2013 a and we absolutely loved it!
The staff were so lovely and helped us find the main Turkish attractions for reasonable prices.we really loved the breakfasts in the morning as they were delicious and a great start to a Turkish holiday also it was very child friendly. recommended staff are: Sarkan, Quray and Suliman .the staff were really nice as they helped us alot and without them we really would not have enjoyed or seen 3/4 of the things we did . for the first time in my life I actually enjoyed watching the football as it was such a friendly environment and atmosphere. a great thing was that the hotel was really close to three great tourist attractions such as: Topkapi palace,Blue mosque and Hagia sophia.the rooms were really comfortable and a great place to stay. i think this is is the best hotel ever!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharjeelkamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here for 1 week in October of 2012. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly: Mustafa at the front desk helped arrange several of our tours with local agencies and always greeted us with a smile. The room was clean (while I am a young male, my 65-year old mother has more exacting standards and was equally satisfied!) and the breakfast, which was included, was very satisfying, including several fruits, seasoned aggs, and a nice mix of local cuisine that wasn't too challenging to western palates. Best of all is the location: in the heart of Sultanhamet, this hotel is within walking distance of the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi palace and several other historical landmarks. I sincerely couldn't recommend this place more.

Room Tip: The room on the top floor has a spectacular view, but the glass window makes it such that the call t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#183 of 1,149 in Istanbul
601 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ferman Hotel
Ferman Hotel
#193 of 1,149 in Istanbul
746 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#128 of 1,149 in Istanbul
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
#372 of 1,149 in Istanbul
185 reviews
Sultanahmet
Seven Hills Hotel
Seven Hills Hotel
#210 of 1,149 in Istanbul
600 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
#175 of 1,149 in Istanbul
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armagrandi Spina Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armagrandi Spina Istanbul

Property: Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Address: Utangac Sok. No:19 Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#139 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#192 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#205 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Armagrandi Spina Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Armagrandi Spina is a converted 19th century house featuring a striking wooden exterior with ornate Ottoman and Byzantine style architecture and interior decoration. Our hotel is situated in the Old Town in the historic Sultanahmet district of Istanbul From our breakfast room and Top Terrace, we offer stunning views of the Old City and Bosphorus.We would be happy to be able to assist you during your holiday in this fascinating city and to have you here as our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Armagrandi Spina Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul Armagrandi Spina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing