We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay there!!!!”
Review of Anzac Wooden House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anzac Wooden House
Ranked #618 of 1,200 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Paris, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Do not stay there!!!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our experience at Anzac Wooden House started at two o'clock in the morning, after a long day of travelling from Izmir. As soon as we got there, they asked us to settle for the 3 nights immediately, No wonder!!!!

What we experienced:
- Disgusting carpets in the entrance
- Useless terrace (it's not a terrace and the view is blocked by other hotels)
- Very small rooms (the size of the room was the size of the bed!!!)
- Horrible toilet smell!!!
- The toilet is IN the shower and everytime you shower the toilet paper would end up wet and the floor completely wet.
- Grey, old and smelly towels
- Smelly and old bed sheets
- AC and TV do not work
- Useless breakfast (Wanted to throw a bottle in the bin on the "terrace" and discovered the eggs served at breakfast were next to the bin!!!)
- Bee hive next to the window
- No soap nor shampoo
- No room cleaning unless you ask for it
- Broken cupboard: only 1 door
- Extremely noisy!!!
- ...

We asked for our money back after the first night and suddenly no one spoke english, I asked for the manager's phone number and the lady at reception said he did not have a phone, she then said that she could change our room but unfortunaltely, all the above was still true.

We had to stay there for the next 2 nights just so we would not get our money ripped off, needless to say we stayed as little as possible in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    8
    8
    14
See reviews for
3
20
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Anzac wooden house charges too much for what you get, and what you get are tiny dirty and noisy rooms, where you can barely move let alone have space for your luggage. Small bathrooms with no proper shower - you take the shower directly on the bathroom floor and therefore when you finish the whole bathroom is flooded. The room on the top of the house for breakfast is nice. You need to pay as soon as you arrive so that you cannot run away when you see the rooms. The stairways are very steep and narrow and difficult to navigate with the suitcase (no lift).
Luckily we booked in advance only for 2 nights and we could afterwards move to a very nice hotel in vicinity for a similar price. Generaly there are a lot of rooms available in the hotels in Sultanahmed and there are dozens of hotels! You can really haggle for the price of the hotels in Istanbul!
We dont recommend the Anzac wooden house!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NataliaDias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Chico, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I booked a single room (en suite) for three nights in December and was very happy with the accommodation. It wasn't fancy, but the bed was comfortable, the shower was hot, and the upstairs terrace was nice and sunny, with a cool view, too. The traditional Turkish breakfast was generous. I also appreciated the friendliness of the host and Melisa, who prepared the breakfast and cleaned the rooms. Again, AWH wasn't fancy, but it was comfortable and friendly. I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickshaverr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Please note that the manager of this hotel has several hotels in the area and puts customers in Anzac Hotel despite the fact that people did not book this hotel (I had booked the Olive/Violet Hotel). I ended up paying way too much for the (terrible) room I had.

Upon arrival, they inform you that Hotel Olive/Violet does not have any spare rooms and that they offer you another room in another hotel., held by the same manager The 1st replacement room I was offered was in Anzac Hotel and it was smelly, mould on the walls, dirty loo, dusty, etc. The staff informed me that they often make these type of 'arrangements' when customers come. Customers need to be aware that these 'arrangements' are dodgy and you basically pay the same price for a room which is way below what is described (for me it was Hotel Olive/Violet).

The rooms in Hotel Anzac are relatively dirty (incl. the carpets in the corridors which have not been cleaned for ages), extremely basic (I only had one electric plug in my room) and they don't clean the room every day (unless you specifically request it, however it is useless as the rooms are not properly cleaned

Avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carmen_gest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasman, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We got a great welcome here with helpful friendly advice. The rooms were pleasant, if small, but the view from the rooftop restaurant/lounge made up for it. We were able to cook our own meals and enjoyed the ample variety of breakfasts provided. Rashid was very helpful in recommending a travel agent who helped us with rental cars and tours throughout Turkey. We stayed twice at the beginning and the end of our trip and would highly recommend to others staying in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Ask to see rooms first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Forget about staying at Anzac wooden house!!!
I really mean it!
I made a reservation through their website www.anzacwoodenhouse.net, asking for a room with 3 beds, very friendly Rashid answering that everything was ok with our booking.
When we got there we were prompted for immediate payment for our room, and personnel getting confused while asking for receipt, saying that they did not understand what “receipt” is.
Now surprise: the room at the ground-floor next to the reception has a floor leaking toilet, room itself smelling like being in the toilet, with no air circulation neither working air conditioning in the room, besides the “ airy and spacious air conditioned triple room “ as described in their website was not bigger than 2*2.5 meters. We have asked to change the room or the immediate refund of our payment. The previously very friendly Rashit has turned attitude to rough and aggressiveness and refused payment saying that the room has -as described in website air conditioning - but… it is just not working, and WC has just a minor leak on the floor and If I do not like the room I have to leave, because he is not offering me neither another room for change nor the money that we have paid moments ago without receipt. So we have left, being robbed by Rashid of 65€ payment, and sleep to another hotel.

Just be aware and check rooms before you pay, nasty surprise may wait you otherwise.

Room Tip: A place to avoid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank stoicescu_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed at Anzac for 6 nights and we felt like home here. The room was clean, good buffet breakfast, free WiFi, even a PC available to everyone, very close to the main city attractions. We loved the rooftop terrace with great view to the sea where you could have your tea/coffee in the morning and meet with other travelers. The staff was very friendly and willing to help. So, if you are not looking for a 5 stars hotel, I warmly recommend this place. I'd personally choose the same place if I were to come back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Georgiana_Iancu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ast Hotel
Ast Hotel
#1,037 of 1,141 in Istanbul
130 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#623 of 1,141 in Istanbul
609 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antique Hostel - Guest House
Antique Hostel - Guest House
#23 of 1,200 in Istanbul
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,949 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,725 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#93 of 1,141 in Istanbul
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anzac Wooden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anzac Wooden House

Property: Anzac Wooden House
Address: Akbiyik Degirmeni Cad. Konut Sok. No:17 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #618 of 1,200 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anzac Wooden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing