We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Social, simple, cozy, central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
World House Istanbul
Ranked #33 of 1,191 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Social, simple, cozy, central”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Checked in for two nights, ended up staying a week. The location is superb, really friendly and helpful staff and a very social hangout area.

The beds are simple aluminum frame bunks in the dorms, but comfortable enough. My room was a bit cold in late January, but nothing that couldn't be solved by grabbing an extra blanket.

Really appreciated the help to find stuff around the city, too.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank rustedivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    70
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
26
59
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Perfect location and helpful and friendly staff with 24 hours reception, it's on the european side just behind the Galata tower, walk down the hill to get the metro to get to Sultan Hamet or to Galata Bridge to the fish market or Bosphorus boat tour, instead of walking you could catch the Tünel underground tramway one way or the other. Walk up the hill and you are in the main street Istikal crammed with people all day and night long, infinite side roads will take you to restaurants, shisha bars and clubs. The main road will take you to Taksim Square. It's easy to get here from the airport, just take a cheap Havatas bus (10TL in december 2013) that will drop you in Taksim Square and then you can walk down to the Hostel. Considered you are paying just a fraction of the price of a Hotel I was impressed, I stayed for 8 night in a private triple room with bathroom on the top with balcony with view on the Galata tower, it was clean with internet connection, consider subscribing a VPN in advance as you might need to browse legal social websites 'forbidden' by Erdogan conservative government. Turkish breakfast was included.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FFFFFra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed there for six nights and overall it was a pleasant experience. The staff are nice, rooms and bathrooms quite clean and the location excellent (right beside the Galata Tower). There's also the common area downstairs where you can talk to people or just chill. It would have been better if there were more bathrooms on each floor, but that's a minor problem I would say. Istanbul is beautiful and hope you enjoy it as well :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

had a really good time there,the staff was very nice and helpfull ! and met really great people there...i slept in a 4 room dorm alone so it was not so expensive and quiet,the location was perfect for me,with many restaurants and nice shops to buy souveniers....if i will be again in istanbul i will surely go back there!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabkesab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were a group of girls staying on two occasions at this hostel, once in a privste room, once in a dorm. Both were great; clean linen, good bathroom ( you could get yr own towels and more linen if u needed). We were pleasantly surprised by the friendly and helpful staff upon our arrival and throughout the stay - and this is what really made this an outstnding place. They constantly went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed: phone call translations, map directions, advise, even loaning us computer adaptors and being very kind as to cancel our last night (we had to book a night train last-minute) without charging us - THANKS DENIZ! :) and the rest of the crew at world house hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diana12345_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were a family of two adults & two teens on a backpacking holiday. World House was perfect accommodation for us. It is in a lovely area, the hostel was clean, the staff were friendly and very helpful, World House has a relaxed atmosphere and the BEST breakfast! We arrived very late at night and the airport transfer arranged by World House worked perfectly!

Room Tip: We had a family room in the attic for the four of us. We had our own bathroom and kitchenette. It wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muzzi h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

A group of 5 of us stayed in the large dorm. there were two toilets and hot showers, air con in the room , the beds were comfortable (impressive since im 6"6"). Breakfast was bread, eggs, coffee, jam, tomatoes, cheese, cucumber. certainly enough to fuel you for the day. There is a supermarket about 30m down the road which sells pretty much everything you could want food wise. There are plenty of takeaways for evening meals on a budget nearby of if you want something better there are plenty of nearby restaurants. Rooftop bars are a must, the atmosphere is amazing. The staff were great they were happy to help with anything, maps are provided and they have excellent local knowledge of the best places to go (i swear they speak better english than me) The large common room area creates a great atmosphere (like a proper hostel) there always someone new to talk to or share advice with. There are plug sockets everywhere in the hostel for all your electrical needs. We stayed during the riots and felt very safe despite the guy asking us to close the windows to keep the tear gas out. Overall I cant recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigben4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Meroddi Galata Mansion
Meroddi Galata Mansion
#309 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#73 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Beyoglu
Duo Galata Hotel
Duo Galata Hotel
#580 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,191 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Beyoglu
BellaVista Hostel&Cafe
BellaVista Hostel&Cafe
#50 of 1,191 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Sultanahmet
Mansion by Cheers
Mansion by Cheers
#24 of 1,191 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to World House Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about World House Istanbul

Property: World House Istanbul
Address: Galip Dede Cad. No:85 Galata, Istanbul, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 1,191 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World House Istanbul offers comfortable beds, 24 hr hot water and a superb atmosphere in the heart of the city, the right fit for any urban traveller. Since 2005, we are working very hard to keep our hostel clean, secure, fun and still affordable. World House Istanbul is a 150 year-old Genoese-style stone building located just a few steps away from the iconic Galata Tower and the renowned Istiklal Avenue, and just several minutes away from the Sultanahmet. It can accommodate up to 82 people with its ensuite double and triple rooms, 4-bed, 6-bed, 8-bed and 14-bed dorms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your World House Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing