We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple & Great !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
World House Istanbul
Ranked #22 of 1,248 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great experience over there.

Beds and bedrooms are clean, people are nice and that is the kind of places which offers what backpackers love the most : flexibility. There is someone to welcome you regardless the time of the day, always helping.
Located just near Galata Tower, World House Hostel is ideally situated in Beyoglu. We've made everything by walking and did not take nor the tramway neither the bus a single time !

Cheap, nice and simple.


Bonus : the Turkish breakfast is very tasty !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troncharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 206 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

We loved our time at World House! This was the cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in. Simple airy rooms with very clean bathrooms/showers. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Not only in giving us ideas and directions on things to do in Istanbul but they also helped us figure out where to go next. Do your self a favor and eat lunch here too!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alizabethv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The location is perfect: 2 minutes from Galata tower, 2 minutes from Taksim bars and restaurants, 5 minutes to the bridge, the metro is near. Couldn't be better in terms of location.
The stuff was amazingly nice and helpful. The rooms are being cleaned on a daily basis. Very clean bathroom as well. The breakfast is simple yet fresh and tasty. The hostel has it's shared coffee space, so you can chill or meet other people. Very positive experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evgeni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This place was pretty reasonably priced and is located close to the start of Istiklal street which is great for a night out. They only draw back is that it is up a steep hill so not a journey you want to make more than twice a day. We stayed in a 6 bed dorm on the top floor which had epic views. #10/11 are the best rooms with a balcony although they are many,many floors up and only 10m away from a prayer tower which means its very loud at 430am! I was suprised to be sharing 1 bathroom with about 12 people (3 rooms) but you can always go down a floor and use someone elses shared bathroom. Breakfast was basic (standard across all the hostels we stayed at in turkey) but ample.

Room Tip: Try and get 10/11 as these have a balcony and a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and we were made to feel so welcome. We are in our 60s and with our son and partner so pretty special!! Mavey made us feel so welcome and gave us great advice. Position is ideal near Galata Tower, rooms are spotless, security excellent. Loved the front room and meeting interesting people there and having a drink with them.Breakfast was fresh and adequate overall a fabulous place and excellent value for the budget traveller.Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaBribieIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here for one night before the Istanbul marathon. The front desk is very helpful and security features at the door are comforting (the doors use codes). Rooms were very clean and inexpensive, the beds were comfortable, and the lounge area is welcoming. There is also a cafe attached which is a great addition, and of course the location is wonderful, just off Istiklal and therefore close to all the major transportation options on the European side of Istanbul. By foot, about 10 minutes to the Galata Bridge or to Taksim square. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

World House is the best hostel i have stayed in so far...unfortunately i could only stay there for one day, the next day i had to check out because they are so busy and desired by travelers. So i advise travelers to book there full stay in advance if you wish to have your stay at this great hostel uninterrupted. The staff are amazing and specially Mehdi and Samane. The place feels very new, very clean, very safe, beds very comfy, breakfast delicious and the overall ambiance is awesome. This is my hostel when i come again to Istanbul

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miro s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Stay Inn Taksim Hostel
Stay Inn Taksim Hostel
#38 of 1,248 in Istanbul
185 reviews
Beyoglu
Levanten Hostel
Levanten Hostel
#88 of 1,248 in Istanbul
130 reviews
Karakoy
Portus House Istanbul
Portus House Istanbul
#14 of 1,248 in Istanbul
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Big Apple Hostel & Hotel
Big Apple Hostel & Hotel
#35 of 1,248 in Istanbul
305 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#4 of 1,248 in Istanbul
929 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Guesthouse
Agora Guesthouse
#3 of 1,248 in Istanbul
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to World House Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about World House Istanbul

Address: Galip Dede Cad. No:85 Galata, Istanbul, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 1,248 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $16 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World House Istanbul offers comfortable beds, 24 hr hot water and a superb atmosphere in the heart of the city, the right fit for any urban traveller. Since 2005, we are working very hard to keep our hostel clean, secure, fun and still affordable. World House Istanbul is a 150 year-old Genoese-style stone building located just a few steps away from the iconic Galata Tower and the renowned Istiklal Avenue, and just several minutes away from the Sultanahmet. It can accommodate up to 82 people with its ensuite double and triple rooms, 4-bed, 6-bed, 8-bed and 14-bed dorms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your World House Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing