We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good, beware the seagulls or they'll have your omelette”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antique Hostel - Guest House
Ranked #23 of 1,191 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty good, beware the seagulls or they'll have your omelette”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

My advice would be to get to breakfast early or you won't have a hot omelette and fresh salad. Also, don't take your breakfast plate to the upper terrace (where I should mention that the view is fantastic) and leave it unattended because even if you left for 2 mins the seagulls would destroy your plate.

As long as your remember this advice, your breakfast will be a great success and in all other ways it is nice, clean hotel. The location is great, it's good value and friendly enough. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm and had very comfortable 2 nights' sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13_Maria_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    147
    48
    4
    4
See reviews for
30
76
85
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

It was hard to find this hostel despite the fact I was in Istanbul a week earlier and knew how to move around. The strong point is the breakfast on the roof with the view of Asia. Everything else - just average.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Da_rt_1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Loved this hostel. Great rooftop bar and snackbar- cheers to the friendly barmen. Amazing location in Sultananahmet, a gift that low cost options like this hostel exist in that area. Good breakfast, adequate rooms. Would def stay here if returned to Istanbul.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmasiob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cantabria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We chose the hostel for its location and because you can have dinner there, which is helpful with two kids under 5.

We had to cancel our trip due to one of the children falling ill. We emailed the hostel on the day we were due to arrive, they were very understanding and did not charge us the cancellation fee. It is a personal touch from a hotel we found on the internet, not common these days! If we ever get the chance to visit Istambul again our first choice for a hostel will be this one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyTravelfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had an amazing stay at the Antique Hostel, it is in the perfect location for the Sultanahmet area and all of the surrounding areas too really. The room was clean, had everything we could need. The breakfast was nice, especially on the rooftop terrace. The staff were all incredibly helpful and welcoming. I would happily stay there again or recommend people to go there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddy3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

it is in the heart of old İstanbul ( Sultanahmet ), it has a few rooms for people that like to have their own space and it also has dorms for young people that like to travel on budget. it is very clean. receptions are helpful and friendly. breakfast is served on the terrace where there is a nice little restaurant with great sea view. the place is a few steps a way from Saint Sophia Museum and Blue Mosque. it is great little place to stay and make sure you go and spend sometimes on their wonderful terrace. I think this is the best pension of Sultanahmet (old city).

Room Tip: You should accept the rooms top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AslanGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

During our trip to Turkey we stayed at the Antique Hostel 3 times. The staff was friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome. We will stay there again! The hostel is located in a historic area and is close to the transit system and many restaurants and bars.

Mike from Canada

Room Tip: Book early as late comers get the smaller rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#573 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#16 of 1,191 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nobel Hostel
Nobel Hostel
#22 of 1,191 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#14 of 1,191 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Guesthouse
Agora Guesthouse
#2 of 1,191 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,191 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antique Hostel - Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antique Hostel - Guest House

Property: Antique Hostel - Guest House
Address: Kutlugun Str. No:51 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 1,191 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Antique Hostel - Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antique Hostel Istanbul is located in the heart of Sultanahmet in the Old City. We are only a few minutes away from the Blue Mosque, St. Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Underground Cistern, Turkish Baths, Grand Bazaar and many other sightseeing attractions of oriental Istanbul. Antique Hostel Sultanahmet provide cheap accomadation (Bed and Breakfast B&B) in old town Istanbul Turkey.. We offer budget accommodation for backpacker travelers with maximum service. The prices are from 13 euro per night. You will not find anywhere in Istanbul better option than this, with such a low prices. We have great last minute deals for you with online booking as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antique Hostel - Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antique Hostel - Guest House Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing