We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Cihangir”
Review of Kahvedan

Kahvedan
Ranked #765 of 13,716 Restaurants in Istanbul
Cuisines: American, Asian, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Beyoglu
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Great find in Cihangir”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We ate here last night and this was exactly the type of place I was looking for: Cozy, Outdoor seating, (Good) wine (I tried their Cabernet by the glass), VERY good food (I had the beef Bodrum style, with Yogurt and my friend had Thai beef), decent Service and good price for the overall package.

Highly recommended as a meal, wine or chill out spot. They managed to create an very enjoyable ambiance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spartac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    22
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Spot”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We ate breakfast here several days while in Istanbul. The food was delicious and the presentation was just artful. There is indoor and outdoor seating and we did both. There were people here all day and evening so I would guess the rest of the menu is as delicious as the breakfast was. It's probably not worth a trip to the area just to eat here, but if you are staying near Cihangir, I think you would enjoy it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PKWTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice place to sit all day”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Kahvedan can be found in cihangir, a nice neighbourhood, best to be approached from istlikal caddesi ( for example by entering the street opposite the MAC makeup store), otherwise you have to climb some very steep streets or get lost. It is a small restaurant with terrace in a nice street facing other restaurants and terraces. The food was good and the service friendly. Very nice music. On a sunny day you can easily stay there for hours, like we did.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdriaanaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great cafe of a nice street”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Had a delicious breakfast here while in Istanbul. This cafe is on a nice street in the cihangir neighborhood. Friendly staff, free wifi, great tea and coffee.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mhamrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pirbright
2 reviews
“Cafe and bar of choice”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I have been working in Istanbul for a year and the Kahvedan is very close to where I have been living. It is a small but comfortable venue great for an intimate evening with friends or partner or some private time by yourself. The clientele is both Turkish and expat and a great place to chill after a hard day at work. The atmosphere is cordial and relaxing usually with something smooth playing as background music.

My favourite is the hot mixed breakfast grill and either reading a book or simply watching the world go by. Not had lunch there but in the evenings there is a sensible choice of fish, meat, chicken with either rice, noodles or vegetables. Generally the flavours are Asian/Turkish fusion but there is flexibility if you want something more or less spicy.

The staff are friendly and can generally understand what you request even if your Turkish is non existent like mine.

It is probably one of the more expensive places in the area but, the quality shines through and it is worth it. Expect to pay around £10-12 for breakfast if you have the full monty and £10-15 without drinks for an evening meal depending on your choice.

A visit is strongly recommended whatever time of day you are passing, even if you only want to order an Americano, which is also excellent.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeLongley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kahvedan also viewed

Istanbul, Turkey
Istanbul, Turkey
 
Istanbul, Turkey
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Kahvedan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing