We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an oasis in Istanbul”
Review of Tomtom Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tomtom Suites
Ranked #8 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“an oasis in Istanbul”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Our stay was only 2 days in Istanbul and this hotel made a perfect base for our adventures.
The staff were very very nice, knowledgable, polite, honest and they went out of their way to make our short stay in Istanbul perfect. In this praise I include everyone of the hotel staff and restaurant staff. Thank you to you all.
The hotel was very clean, well located next to the Italian Embassy! The restaurant is one of the best I have ever visited and well worth visiting especially for a romantic get-away!

I will absolutely see you again my friends at TomTom Suites

Room Tip: we took the smallest and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilipSoniaNiccolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    97
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
133
590
46
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I have to say the only disappointing part of our stay here was that it was only for one night before we left. The hotel is absolutely beautiful - the suites are large with high ceilings, comfortable beds and lots of space. It is clean and the staff is welcoming and helpful. The view from the top is also gorgeous. It is also in a great area of Istanbul close to cool, unique little cafés and restaurants, and also a short walk to the main shopping street near Taksim Square. Without a doubt, if we are ever back in Istanbul, this is where we would stay!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Tomtom deserves the glowing reviews we based out choice on. The location is like the hotel - understated but very elegant , rooms are immaculate, the service excellent, Restaurant Nicole was divine and the concierge faultless. We don't normally gush, but Tomtom really is that good.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K1W1SAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

The Tomtom Suites is an exceptional place to stay. It is warm, inviting, clean, well maintained, and has a delightful staff to assist. They kindly provide answers to most questions; they offer a transportation card to make mobility in Istanbul more possible (40 TL for ten rides, and you get 10 TL returned when you leave the transportation card); the welcome and hospitality throughout the stay is evident; and the Molton Brown bath products are a great feature. They also provide pillow choices for the comfortable bed, and the spacious rooms are ample.

I did have some reservations about the accommodations (the reason for the four-star rating), but I suspect those were mostly personal preferences. First, our room was on the first floor, and when guests or individuals were walking down the hill outside, they could see into our room, which hampered privacy. The bathroom—while luxurious and nicely detailed with Carrera marble—was large and roomy, but the shower floor was slippery and the lighting in the bathroom is poor. Attention to detail was not always evident (such as housekeeping not replenishing bath supplies or water). Breakfast was nicely presented on the top floor with a fantastic view of the Bosporus, but the food was just okay. Some of the attendants were quite friendly while one or two seemed grumpy as if it was too early in the morning (breakfast is served from 7:30 to 10:30 a.m.)

But my biggest concern about the hotel regards its location, which is not the fault of the property. In many ways it is nicely positioned—within a ten-minute walk to Taksim Square, the Tram, and/or area restaurants. But it is those ten minutes that are a challenge. Istanbul lies within a series of steep hills, and this made mobility difficult. As someone who has some disability issues, it was not easy to navigate the terrain of the hills, sidewalks, and roads that surround the hotel (there is a hill to climb or descend in either direction of the hotel). If anything, at the time of reservation, it would be helpful if the hotel could highlight that access and mobility challenges might be present for some.

My final concern with the property relates to their maps. Our comparison hotel for our near-week’s stay was the Witt, and they provide an extraordinary website with information, solid maps, and detailed explanations. The Tomtom provides hand-drawn maps that seem simplistic and amateurish and were not always clear or understandable. Given how tricky the immediate area is to navigate, more professional and detailed maps would be preferable.

Granted, some of these are minor complaints. I acknowledge that. Overall, our stay was most enjoyable, and while I would not stay there again because of the surrounding territory, I would recommend the Tomtom Suites to most anyone. They will be well taken care of and have a most pleasant and comfortable stay. We even noticed a gay couple upon check-in who was made to feel comfortable and welcomed which was fantastic to observe. They treated everyone with respect, courtesy, and comfort.

Room Tip: Upper floors are preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Throbbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel based on trip adviser reviews and am happy to reinforce them. The location is ideal though do print off the instructions for the taxi driver to find the hotel. If you haven't, just say Italian embassy. The rooms are delightful and the staff even more so. They are charming, knowledgeable and very willing to help. The roof top restaurant is lovely for breakfast and ideal for dinner if you are exhausted from pounding the pavements We hired a private guide for our three days in the fabulous city of Istanbul and were very pleased we did. I have to say I was very (monetarily) moved by the sight of the Syrian families living on the streets

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pickytraveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We are just back from several nights at Tomtom Suites--a lovely, well-appointed oasis in Istanbul. From start to finish, our experience was superb. The rooms are large and luxurious. Appreciated the choice of pillows; large soaking tub; bottled water and hand-made chocolates at turn-down each evening. The staff were wonderful, especially Nural, who provided hand-drawn maps that helped us navigate everything from local restaurants to island and inland excursions. And Sinan, with whom I had corresponded previously, was also friendly and helpful upon arrival. No need to bring a guidebook as a small library off the main lobby is filled with them (in multiple languages), as well as many books on Turkish culture and history. Refillable, transferable transportation cards are available from the hotel; as well as multi-use museum cards (best value)--both a handy convenience that helped us avoid queues. From the rooftop terrace we savored the view and a delightful breakfast daily--with many choices from fresh fruit, yogurt and muesli makings to yummy savory and sweet goods and eggs cooked to order. Tea on the terrace provided a bit of a respite at the end of the day and we had an exceptional dinner at Nicole. Wifi was a bit spotty in our room, but staff was eager troubleshoot and resolve the problem. The linens were of excellent quality except the fitted sheet was a bit rough compared to the rest. But this interfered little with sleep since Istanbul leaves one exhausted at the end of the day. We already look forward to our return!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank boulderrocks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel is magnificent. The location is great, the hotel impeccable and the staff is wonderful. I highly recommend staying there, we were upgraded to a suite without asking, greeted with complimentary cocktail at the beautiful rooftop restaurant and given an amazing basket of fruit for our room. This hotel is absolutely 5 star and I would stay there again, I can not say enough nice things about it. One more thing, we asked for a private tour and they arranged for us to have a tour with their top tour guide Ugor, he was extremely knowledgeable and customized our tour to fit us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bevfromtheQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#14 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#6 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Besiktas
Raffles Istanbul
Raffles Istanbul
#10 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomtom Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomtom Suites

Property: Tomtom Suites
Address: Bogazkesen Cad. Tomtom Kaptan Sok. No:18 Karakoy, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#6 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#15 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#32 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tomtom Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House is an authentic Istanbul building whose posture reflects the social history of Pera from 1850’s to recent. Throughout its history, this building was home for French nuns and some well-known Levantine families. Now it is ready to host its new guests with its "unique" service policy and a new design, pairing modern comfort with historical background. Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House has 20 suites, a terrace offering a panoramic view of old town and a nostalgic outlook. It tells the story of an over 100 years old building with a stylish language, but without loosing the essence of the story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Tomtom Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomtom Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing