We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff make a great hotel and this one is a great hotel!”
Review of Tomtom Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tomtom Suites
Ranked #13 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel is perfect in just about every way, location, character, lack of noise, and it's wonderful staff.

We had never been to Turkey or Istanbul previously and we were a bit daunted when we arrived, but with the expert help of the wonderful staff, in particular Nural, we have travelled with confidence to the most beautiful locations.

Upon your arrival you will find the street and location a bit run down, but don't be put off, the Hotel is an oasis in a bohemian paradise. It's handy to everything but lacks tourists and crowds. We loved the location because it provides you with some in site into Istanbul living. Streets are safe and locals are very friendly. Restaurants around the hotel are well hidden but have wonderful atmosphere with people watching opportunities and excellent food, but you'll need to ask for help.

The Hotel is in close proximity to the tram which is perfect for getting to the old city and is the quickest and most fun. Taxis are easy to order or flag from the end of the street. Walking to many locations is also easy.

The hotel layout is beautiful, most rooms have high ceilings and open onto the Bosporus River. They are well appointed and are well designed. Beds are comfy and there is a wide selection of pillows for the fussy sleeper. The restaurant is located in the top floor (open for bfast, lunch and dinner) where you can watch the ships and ferries bustle between the European and Asian continents.

I would have no hesitation to stay there again or suggesting it to the stylish traveller.

Thanks again to the great staff!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,039)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 343 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2014

this is a small hotel with many wonderful touches and beautiful interior. Overall happy to have spent 1 luxurious night here. The bath and tub were impressive and the entire bathroom was made of marble. The best bath of the trip ;-) Breakfast was very good but their tea hour was very poor. The pastries were stale and the little sandwiches were also not the best. Maybe as there were few guests this was unusual not sure. Front staff was not very friendly but average service. I would recommend it but skip the tea hour.

Room Tip: I am sure there is not a bad room in the place. This is a nice hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piel_canela_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Just returned from four nights in Istanbul, staying at Tomtom suites. I was very impressed by the hotel. The staff were all friendly and knowledgeable. The location is great, as you can walk to a variety of bars and restaurants. All the sights are just a short tram ride away. The room was very impressive and great to have Molton Brown products in the bathroom. I would very much recommend this hotel, as a first class location for a city break in amazing Istanbul.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This hotel is ideal in every way. Excellent, quiet, location, good-sized well equipped rooms (with an excellent bed) and bathrooms, all supported by friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant is first class (even without the views).

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ogles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel is on the opposite side of the river from the old town which for us was a plus point as it's out of the busy tourist area. The location is excellent, very quiet but not far from some very good restaurants. The room was of a very high standard and the hotel staff were very polite and helpful. The only thing stopping me giving this full marks was the bar service. The hotel has a very nice rooftop restaurant Nicole which becomes the breakfast room and also a bar / restaurant during the day. We decided we would like to have a drink at about five thirty. We were shown a sofa in the middle of the room and we asked if we could sit at a table to take in the view. Our request was treated with indifference as if it was a real inconvenience as they were laying tables for dinner. Guests should be allowed to sit in the bar and admire the view, especially this early in the day. Perhaps a couple of tables could be kept free until nearer to dinner. After that and sitting watching the waiter ironing the table linen for a couple of minutes we left and went elsewhere. A shame.....

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Did not stay at the hotel but organised a corporate function at the rooftop bar. Lovely views, in a charming building, excellent service from friendly and flexible staff, great food and drink. You get the feeling that the rest of the hotel would be to the same standards - I will have to stay there in future !

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonB_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Location, service, view from the breakfast room on the top floor - all were spectacular. The staff were so helpful recommending guides, giving directions, accommodating early arrivals and early departures. The rooms were spacious and equipped with everything one needs for luxury. The huge soaking tub is a treat after a long day of walking around the city. A nice touch was the free bottled water and internet access everywhere.

Room Tip: It's so quiet that street noise is never an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#4 of 1,171 in Istanbul
1,046 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,171 in Istanbul
3,155 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,171 in Istanbul
3,554 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,171 in Istanbul
3,048 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#73 of 1,171 in Istanbul
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomtom Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomtom Suites

Address: Bogazkesen Cad. Tomtom Kaptan Sok. No:18 Karakoy, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#12 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#14 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#31 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $100 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tomtom Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House is an authentic Istanbul building whose posture reflects the social history of Pera from 1850’s to recent. Throughout its history, this building was home for French nuns and some well-known Levantine families. Now it is ready to host its new guests with its "unique" service policy and a new design, pairing modern comfort with historical background. Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House has 20 suites, a terrace offering a panoramic view of old town and a nostalgic outlook. It tells the story of an over 100 years old building with a stylish language, but without loosing the essence of the story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Tomtom Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomtom Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing