We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best part of a magical trip”
Review of Tomtom Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tomtom Suites
Ranked #8 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best part of a magical trip”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the TomTom as a kick-off for a 5- country anniversary trip. By far, Instanbul was the crown of the celebration, and the Tom-Tom was the jewel. The very best experience of our trip was a two-day private tour arranged by Nural with a fantastic guide called Selcuk, a charmingly personable and highly knowledgeable art historian who showed us a rare window into the city, its culture, and many of its hidden gems.

The rooms are beautiful, and the hotel has a cool modern edge that starts with the modern art in the lobby and carries through to the large suites throughout. We loved the breakfast - who knew that plain fresh yogurt could taste so wonderful with rose-petal jam?

The staff was lovely, and Nural was a welcoming friend when we arrived back at the hotel at the end of every fascinating day. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LuckyCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    97
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
133
590
46
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Considering the price it charges there are several things the hotel to improve :-

1. Put a lamp onto the passage way to Istiklal street . The walk is not only steep its also dark and eerie . Nobody pays Eur170 to walk that passage which is a dump .

2. Provide a shuttle service to Tram station of Istiklal street . Its a long long way to the tram station . And a shuttle doesn't cost that much .

3. Breakfast room has a good view . But breakfast itself is no good . Can improve in many ways . Just ask the guests .

4. Do not charge 25 Lires for a 5Lires transport card . If you charge 170 Euro per nite why are you so fixated on 25 Lires ? This destroys the trust .

5. We have just been staying at Residence Agnes in Prague before staying here . The rooms and decoration is inferior to Tom Tom but the services they provided over compensates . I posted an "Excellent" on Agnes and "Poor" on Tom Tom . The owner of Tom Tom can make a visit and learn .

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Marbellapap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed for a 6 night night city break and had a wonderful experience.
Our room was very spacious with a large bathroom; features include iPod/iPhone4 docking station, daily complimentary bottled water, a reliable wifi service throughout the hotel, without the need for cumbersome logins.
The view over the city to the Bosporus at breakfast is quite stunning. The quality of the buffet breakfast is excellent. The rooms are quiet, and with the windows closed the local call to prayer is quite inaudible.
Guests should be warned that the hotel is situated on a steep hillside so one must be able to undertake steep uphill and downhill walks to leave this hotel.
Also a building site a short distance down the street makes for some inconvenience when coming and going.
The receptionist Nural was extremely courteous and helpful, recommending good local bars & restaurants, tailoring a day trip out of the city to the Princes' Islands including many useful tips, and booking a relaxing evening in a nearby hamam.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S1605XSJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My son and I recently visited Istanbul and had the good fortune to stay at the Tom-Tom. I can't say enough wonderful things about the hotel. The service is excellent starting with Ahmet and Nural at the front desk. They assisted us in every way possible. The room was stylish, clean and inviting. Breakfast was a real treat with a very tasty spread, including granola, yogurt, fruit, hot items, various breads and cheeses. I highly recommend this hotel! If I ever go back to Istanbul, I will be staying at the Tom Tom!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Momhiphop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

A two stop tram ride to the old city, this newly renovated 4 story Franciscan convent became an exquisite small hotel with no expense spared. From the huge slab marble bathroom walls to the elegantly furnished, spacious, king bedroom, we experienced a quite & relaxing stay for four days on our world tour. Did I mention the free standing tub?
It resides next to the Italian Embassy, so the street is secured.
I am a painter, my husband an architect. This sweet place was a visual feast.
First day in town the hotel arranged a guide to give us our bearings. She was not expensive and great fun as well.

Upon our arrival we were offered a welcoming cocktail upstairs, overlooking the night time city view. The manager organized all that we might need to be comfortable. Even the cognac glass was delicate. Little did we know that the restaurant Nicole would be a destination in and of itself. Food fabulous. The chef made us a gourmet vegetarian meal upon our request. Superb and light. Tempted by the desserts on our last night, the chef's wife was the expert. Really perfect. Seriously.
And all this from New Yorker's.

Room Tip: Only 20 rooms, all good. Some daytime construction down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelMeItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have recently completed a 5 night stay at Tom Tom Suites. This was our first visit to Istanbul and 5 nights is probably the right length of time to get a feel for Istanbul. We found it a wonderful city. A mixture of modernity and tradition. A city of mystery and romance. And a city to explore to get a good feel for its diversity.
Tom Tom Suites is a perfect base from which to explore Istanbul. Just down the hill from Istiklal Cadessi which is the main pedestrian shopping mall the hotel is almost equidistant from the old town where many of the tourist sights are and Nisintasi which resembles Istanbul's Rodeo Drive.
A tramway 5 minutes down the hill takes you to the old town in 10 minutes from which you can explore Topkapi Palace, Haghia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Suleymaniye Mosque, the Grand Bazaar, Faith Mosque, Chora church and the Spice Bazaar. A lot to take in so it is nice to get back to the living end of the city in Beyoglu.
And even nicer to come back to Tom Tom. We chose Tom Tom Suites based on Tripadvisors reviews. We booked a Deluxe Suite room on the third floor ( 34 ) facing the street and with some view but not a lot of the Bosphorus. The room was superb. Extremely well appointed and very large. On entry there is a cupboard area and a small office / desk area. There is a large lounge bedroom area which is very comfortable. The bed is large and very comfortable. The grey marble bathroom has two basins a large spa bath and shower. The cost was just over 220E a night including breakfast.
Breakfast is served on the 4th floor in a lovely room overlooking the Bosphorus. Breakfast was excellent. Available was various cereals, fresh fruit, fresh salad vegetables, haloumi, a frittata / quiche, yoghurt an array of bread and pastries and beautiful home made jams and honey.
And if you want dinner the 4th floor turns into Nicole at night which is a superb restaurant.
So far you might deduce that Tom Tom Suites is a very good place to stay.
But as with all good establishments what makes Tom Tom Suites stand out is the service. I can remember the name of only one staff member. I will not name him as it would be unfair to those whose name I cannot remember. The staff were so friendly, welcoming and helpful that it was a pleasure to walk back in through the door in the afternoon just to say hello. Nothing was too much trouble. Restaurant recommendations were excellent as we're general tips for travelling around the city and what to see.
As an aside watch out for shoe shine scammers who drop a brush . Don't pick it up. And ignore the friendly locals who turn out to be carpet salesmen.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We just finished a fantastic 6 night stay at the Tomtom during our visit to Istanbul. Our room was spacious and very well appointed; there was also nightly turndown service. As others have mentioned, the staff are topnotch and the evening desk manager, Nural, deserves special mention. He is a genuine, enthusiastic host who helped orient us to the city via his hand-drawn maps and his excellent restaurant recommendations. Tomtom Suites is lucky to have him.

The large breakfast selection is amazing and will take days for you to sample everything. The homemade preserves were a particular favorite. In the evening, the 4th floor dining area is transformed into their top tier restaurant, Nicole. The food and wine pairings were excellent. The service matched the food, and our waiter gave detailed descriptions of each course as it was served.

We had a very early departure on our last night…3:30 am; yet between Nural and the overnight desk manager, they arranged prompt transportation via a city taxi (with no traffic it cost me 55TL including tip) AND a pre-packed breakfast for us to take on our travels.

All in all, it was a wonderful stay and a comfortable base camp after returning from long days of exploring the city.

Room Tip: Room 32 is a corner deluxe suite with beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DGUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#12 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#6 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Besiktas
Raffles Istanbul
Raffles Istanbul
#10 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomtom Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomtom Suites

Property: Tomtom Suites
Address: Bogazkesen Cad. Tomtom Kaptan Sok. No:18 Karakoy, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#6 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#15 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#32 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tomtom Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House is an authentic Istanbul building whose posture reflects the social history of Pera from 1850’s to recent. Throughout its history, this building was home for French nuns and some well-known Levantine families. Now it is ready to host its new guests with its "unique" service policy and a new design, pairing modern comfort with historical background. Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House has 20 suites, a terrace offering a panoramic view of old town and a nostalgic outlook. It tells the story of an over 100 years old building with a stylish language, but without loosing the essence of the story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Tomtom Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomtom Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing