We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously: Just do it”
Review of Tomtom Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tomtom Suites
Ranked #9 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Seriously: Just do it”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Like you, I contemplated this and many other hotels while deciding where to stay on a recent 3-night visit to Istanbul. If only I'd known what a waste of my time it was to even look at other options... So, please learn from my mistake and just book already. This was one of, if not the best, hotels my husband and I have stayed in and the rate made it even better! Accommodations are 5-star, location is convenient and quiet, and the service was exceptional. The breakfast upstairs is delicious! They have the most amazing homemade raspberry yogurt I've ever had.

As my husband will attest, I have high expectations, but we weren't disappointed in anything while here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 205erikam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    98
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
134
592
47
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

A very beautiful And calm hotel, in an Old franciscan house, in a lovely neighbourhood full of cafés And restaurants.
Very Kind staff And beautiful rooms. Highly recommended!
We had a very pleasant stay at tomtom.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aurore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The hotel is great, staff are committed and helpful. located within the complex of the Italian embassy so safe for sure.
However the only issue i had was the noise in the morning when the kids go to school, as there is a primary/pre-school beside the hotel, so it can get quite noisy in the early morning.
Also it got unbearably hot in our room, you are not able to change the air-con settings i think its central air-con, so you may have to leave the windows open all night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NamrataParesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Of the many un-posted reviews I have written, and the startlingly few that have been, this review is perhaps the most exciting of them all; TomTom Suites: the best small hotel I have ever stayed at.

I have a single other experience of a small suite-hotel in Istanbul (yes, un-posted) so this is written with a modicum of authority on that type of accommodation in the city.

Upon first walking in, one is met with smiles and welcomes befitting a five star rating and each time one leaves and returns day after evening that smiling welcome is repeated; repeated with ever more enthusiasm as your hosts learn of a further exploration of their neighbourhood and wider city that they clearly love. The enormous knowledge and passion energises you and sets the pace in such a hectic place.

At this point I am compelled to make special mention of Nural; I think the beating heart of the hotel's front of house. From insider tips for food, to an honest reaction to a proposed reservation, Nural obviously revels in ensuring his guests see the best of the city whilst being candid where there are pitfalls to avoid. Thanks Nural.

The first thing that struck me in such a dense area as Beyoglu (the neighbourhood) was the space in the hotel, particularly the high ceilings which were met with an appropriately soaring door to our room. This promise of grandeur did not let me down. The suite was spacious and well laid out with all the trappings of modern Turkish interior design that I love so much. The marble-clad bathroom was huge with a gorgeous jacuzzi bath big enough for two and luxurious underfloor heating.

If the shower door sits ajar slightly, this is not a lack of attention to detail on the half of TomTom, this is the wonderful laissez-faire attitude of Istanbul.

Food, glorious food! Food lovers, come to Istanbul. Come sample the Ottoman palace food, the ocakbasi restaurants, amazing fish and stay at the TomTom suites for the best breakfast going (and I've eaten at the Four Seasons too). Each day was different and included a Turkish hot selection, amazing pastries and cakes, different cheeses and preserved fruits. All this with a stunning view from the roof terrace that opens up for summertime sunshine.

The terrace is also home to Nicole, the hotel restaurant; Turkish flavours with a classic Michelin approach. The restaurant is a great compliment to the hotel, which gives the best indication to my thoughts on it, but I shall endeavour to review separately out of fairness to TripAdvisor rankings.

There are many aspects I haven't touched on that can easily be answered through their website. What I would like to convey is the faultless, effortless stay I enjoyed at the TomTom Suites. Walking in for he first time was like returning home to old friends. And return I shall.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TeamBearReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I had to double-check my rate several times during my stay, since the level of service and accommodations belong to a much more expensive hotel. Staff is absolutely committed and helpful, and are always happy to be there and assist you. Nural at Front Desk even made reservations for us every night in a different restaurant, and draw a handmade map of the neighbourhood that really is a masterpiece. The hotel and rooms are just lovely, comfortable, a pleasure to indulge in... Location is great, but you need to walk a couple of blocks (very nice in Galata though), and they can make wi-fi a little bit less painful to acquire in the rooms, but that's it, the rest is one of the best hotels I evert stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MexTraveler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

From the moment we arrived, we fell in love with the hotel and the service. The views afforded at breakfast were amazing as was the spread. The room was spectacular with heated marble floors and a super lux bed. I won't repeat what others have said about Nural's hospitality but all the rumours are true. It was my partner's birthday weekend and Nural gave us a complimentary bottle of wine (the one we liked when we first arrived) as a treat. He is an exemplar hotel concierge and he is one of the main reasons we intend to return. The hotel is a must stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SerialNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Part of the Small Luxury Hotel group. What a great location, we had a nice walk through the famous shopping street Istiklal up to Taksim square, short walk to Galata Tower and its
aerea with great shops, restaurants, cafés and bars, short walk to the Modern Museum
and as well few minutes to take the tram, which took us over the bridge to the old town and
Sultanahmet. The rooms are very spacious and well decorated, big bathroom in
marble. The rooms don't have any view, but the restaurant "nicole" on the top floor is overlooking
Beyoglû and the Bosporus. Great view while enjoying a very good breakfast, a sundowner
or having the phanstatic tasting menu in the evening. Kaan, the manager of "nicole restaurant" gave us plenty of wonderful suggestions for great turkish wines. Alican in the reception
was most helpful for any reservations to restaurants and the unforgettable Istanbul Dervishes.
The whole staff was charming, warm, attentive and helpful. What a great experience we enjoyed
in the Tomtom Suites Hotel.

Room Tip: no 22 is great, the heating could have been better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 707elvira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#3 of 1,150 in Istanbul
1,007 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,150 in Istanbul
2,985 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,150 in Istanbul
3,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#16 of 1,150 in Istanbul
251 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#5 of 1,150 in Istanbul
2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomtom Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomtom Suites

Property: Tomtom Suites
Address: Bogazkesen Cad. Tomtom Kaptan Sok. No:18 Karakoy, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#7 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#15 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#32 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tomtom Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House is an authentic Istanbul building whose posture reflects the social history of Pera from 1850’s to recent. Throughout its history, this building was home for French nuns and some well-known Levantine families. Now it is ready to host its new guests with its "unique" service policy and a new design, pairing modern comfort with historical background. Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House has 20 suites, a terrace offering a panoramic view of old town and a nostalgic outlook. It tells the story of an over 100 years old building with a stylish language, but without loosing the essence of the story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tomtom Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomtom Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing