We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Property”
Review of Tomtom Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tomtom Suites
Ranked #11 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This past week our family spent four nights here. The rooms were fabulous - large, high ceilings, quiet, and full of amenities. The rooftop restaurant was not only excellent for breakfast, but after touring each day we would head up there to enjoy the magnificent views and have a beverage to relax. The staff could not have been nicer and more helpful. Nural at the front desk created personalized maps for us, which made it much easier getting around town. Whatever our needs were, Tomtom Suites took care of them. In addition, my wife must have commented a dozen times how safe she felt in the area. There are plenty of nearby restaurants in every price range, and Ikstaklil Street is a three minute walk away and great for people watching. The hotel is located in a hilly area, but that is the way most of Istanbul is.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teefbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,031)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

loved loved loved this hotel!! The location was perfect!!! within walking distance to the pedestrian pass, outstanding restaurants, and close to the tram, and some great neighborhoods.
The rooms are incredible--large spacious beautiful and up to date!! The restaurant upstairs is excellent commanding outstanding views! The breakfast was perfect-- and the service was wonderful. We had a great room but it was a big big step to get into the bathtub for the shower. If you have any mobiliy problems, ask for a walk in shower for sure. We were upgraded the second night and it was much better!! i would definitely return. The other consideration is that its a steep hill in the back through some dark streets at night, but never felt uncomfortable ...but again you can always walk around the other way and avoid the hill--will definitely return if in istanbul!!! Loved loved the hotel!!!

Room Tip: i would request a walk in shower if possible--shower was fine, but a big step over the tub!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelmika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

After 3 years we stayed at this little gem again. The room comfort and cleanliness is unmatched. After a long hot day coming to this hotel felt like entering an oasis. Especially seeing Nural's smiling face and welcoming presence most of the time added so much more to our enjoyment. Nural is very knowledgeable and can give you great advice on where to eat and what to do.We stayed for 10 days and wished that we could have stayed longer. Every person from the chambermaid to the waiters made our stay special. Everybody goes out of their way to make things good for you. My husband and I will miss all the wonderful folks at Tomtom.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anicka10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomtomGM, General Manager at Tomtom Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Anicka10,

Thank you for taking your time to write this laudatory review about Tomtom Suites.
We are glad to have match your expectations once more during your last stay in our property.

Your feedback about our staff services is important to us (we give them a special attention), because we seek steadiness in the quality of the experience we deliver.

Many thanks for having trust our hotel for your trip.
All team members wish you a pleasant day and hope to welcome you once again.

Kindest regards,

The Tomtom Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

First off, if you don't stay at this Hotel you will not be staying at the best Hotel in Istanbul! Yes, it's that good! This terrific 5 Star Luxury Hotel stay made our Istanbul nine day vacation one of the best we have ever had.

The reasons for why it's the best:

1. The Location
2. The Rooms
3. The Breakfast
4. The Service
5. Nural

Here are the details for the above:

Location is absolutely fantastic. It is next to the Italian Consulate, in a very safe, quiet and secure area only 5 minutes from the famous Istiklal Street where there are many excellent Stores. Also not a far walk to some of the fantastic locations of Istanbul which includes the Galata Tower, Taksim Square, Pera Museum and the Istanbul Modern Art Museum. Both Metro and Cable Car transportation are within a ten minute walk and they will get you to all the other important sights of Istanbul within ten minutes to include to the excellent ferry transportation system which will get you to the Asian side. In the event you are not a walker, the cab ride fees are not that expensive and always readily available. You must know Istanbul is on seven hills and the Hotel is on one of the seven hills.

The Hotel and rooms are very modern, just like new. The rooms are large, spacious, beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean. An excellent Minibar that includes a Nespresso Machine Bar. All fairly priced. The bed is extremely comfortable. The TV has many channels for all languages. The bathroom is large and has all the amenties that a 5 star should have. Everything from the Robes/Slippers to the Molten Brown products provided was first class. The Bathtub even has a Jacuzzi and special salt is provided to enjoy the Spa. The housekeeping staff was excellent during the entire week we were there and each night there was a turndown service. The turndown service includes both Water and chocolate.

The Breakfast Buffet was exceptional for a 20 room Hotel. All items were of high quality, if it was salmon, cheeses, meats, jogurts or breads. The selection of fresh fruit was plentiful. There was a daily variety of fresh vegetable dishes as well as tomatos and cucumbers. In addition, there were daily warm dishes for your hearts selection. To top things off you can order eggs to your liking. The Captain of the Breakfast team, Fuyt was always organized and ensured top notch customer service. They even have IPADS for you to use to check your email or read the news. Finally, you will enjoy breath breaking views from the Breakfast area of the Bosphorus, Golden Horn, Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia.

The Services at this Hotel have topped Services at other 5 star Hotels in my opinion. The Hotel arranged both the pickup and dropoff of my wife and I from/to the Airport. So well organized and reliable, as perfect as anything can be. The Hotel has the Istanbul Card for you to purchase which is one of the greatest transportation cards I have ever used in a city. My wife and I where able to use one card for using the Metro, Cable Car, and Ferry Boats. In addition the Hotel sells the Museum Card which gets you into several of the top sights at a savings. Purchasing these cards from the Hotel saves you lots of time. There is no wish that this Hotel cannot provide you, all you must do is ask.

Keeping the best for last, the Guest Relations Supervisor Nural was the reason my wife and I did not have a 5 star but a 6 star vacation. He is a extremely caring and knowledgeable professional. The best I have seen in the Hotel business. We had 9 excellent vacation days that Nural helped plan and organize for us. Each day was a homerun and truly amazing, from the Sights to visit to the Restaurants to dine in. Nural will forever be our hero!

We were sad to leave because we had the most fantastic Hotel stay and City vacation of our lifetime but we will be back because of how great it was!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KTOWNFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomtomGM, General Manager at Tomtom Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear KTOWNFAN,

Thank you for your wonderful review about our hotel.
We are delighted to learn that your stay in Tomtom Suites was a memorable experience.

Your extensive feedback about all the aspects of the property is genuinely motivational for the Tomtom Team as we place guest satisfaction at the core of our values.
Knowing Istanbul is an energetic city, a good breakfast is undoubtedly important. We are very happy you enjoyed our breakfasts, as we always try to make it the best and freshest possible, day by day.
Nural personally thanks you for your booster, and he is already looking forward to show you that a "Younique" experience can be lived twice !

Many thanks for choosing Tomtom Suites for your accomodation in Istanbul.
We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again. We wish you a pleasant day.

Kindest regards,

The Tomtom Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at the Tomtom Suites in Istanbul in early September - we thought it was fantastic! The hotel has beautiful, spacious, comfortable rooms with every imaginable convenience. The beds are heavenly! We also thought the service was superb. Nural at the front desk gave us excellent advice on local sights and transport and assisted us with restaurant recommendations and reservations. He also was able to sell us museum passes and local public transport cards, which was a great convenience. He was incredibly helpful and friendly.
We also loved the breakfast every morning with fresh creamy yoghurt, an astonishing array of fresh fruit, and excellent bread and pastries. On our last day, we had a very early flight. The hotel arranged a huge try full of breakfast treats for us to eat in the lobby or our room.
We also liked the location. We did not necessarlly want to stay in Sultanahmet. The street car line is a quick walk from the hotel and very easy to use. We liked walking up to Istaklal Caddesi for shopping, restaurants, and the evening scene. It's totally different from the tourist crush in Sultanahmet. There are also many excellent restaurants within 5-10 minutes of the hotel. The hills are steep, but we did not mind the exercise. The location was great for us, but may not be optimal if you want to be right near all the major tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Titus07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomtomGM, General Manager at Tomtom Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Titus07,

Thank you for reviewing Tomtom Suites.

We are glad to learn your your stay in our hotel was pleasant.
We indeed try to come up with the best solutions (e.g. the museum or the transportation passes) to fulfill every needs and requests coming from our guests, hoping to make their stay "Younique".

We are very happy our location suited you. We clearly see it as one of our strong points.
We believe the neighborhood of Pera (Beyoglu) to be the most central one of Istanbul, at an ideal distance from touristic attractions, noteworthy gastronomic experiences and other leisure activities.

Thank you for your praises about the breakfast. Our restaurant's (Nicole) chefs also take care of the breakfast and the hotel's all-day-long menu.

Many thanks for having trust Tomtom Suites for your accomodation.

All the Tomtom Team wishes you a pleasant day and hopes to welcome you again.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We just loved our stay there... the bedroom was so comfortable (with a good jacuzzi and nespresso machine, wine ecc), the location and view excelent... and most of all the staff, and mainly Nural, were just tireless in all the tips and pamperings that made our trip to Istambul unforgettable!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MIRIAM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomtomGM, General Manager at Tomtom Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear MIRIAM S,

Thank you for reviewing Tomtom Suites.

We are delighted your stay in our hotel was outstanding.
If you ever come back to Tomtom Suites do not hesitate to inform us in advance about any additional need you want to be taken care of or feature you want to have at your disposal, even though you enjoyed our products and amenities.
Nural will again personally ensure the fulfilment of any of your wishes.

Many thanks for having been our guest.

All the Tomtom Team looks forward to your next visit to Istanbul and wishes you a pleasant day.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

A small new boutique hotel with a perfect location in central Istanbul. Me and my wife likes to walk and this hotel is a rather short walk from the Taksim area and Old town. If you want to get to the Asian side, just stroll down to the sea and jump on a boat. Public transportation is also nearby. Very friendly staff (all of them), and the standard of the hotel are top notch. It´s a small boutique hotel, and obvious you will not find all that you find in a large five star hotel. But in my view, a hotel in a city like Istanbul is a place to sleep well and to enjoy a good breakfast.

Can highly recommend this hotel if you are non-disable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lukmaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomtomGM, General Manager at Tomtom Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Lukmaa,

Thank you for taking your time to review our property.
It's a great pleasure for us to learn your stay at Tomtom Suites suited you.

We just could not agree more on your comments about our location: there is so much to do in Istanbul; staying in Pera/Beyoglu is a good choice for those who whant to access easily the Old Town, but still want to see the others faces of Istanbul.

Many thanks for having trust our hotel for your trip.

All the Tomtom Team hopes to have the chance to welcome you again and wishes you a pleasant day.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#7 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,034 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,160 in Istanbul
3,083 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,160 in Istanbul
3,425 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#70 of 1,160 in Istanbul
508 reviews
Beyoglu
Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
#56 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomtom Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomtom Suites

Address: Bogazkesen Cad. Tomtom Kaptan Sok. No:18 Karakoy, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#10 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#14 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#31 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $115 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tomtom Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House is an authentic Istanbul building whose posture reflects the social history of Pera from 1850’s to recent. Throughout its history, this building was home for French nuns and some well-known Levantine families. Now it is ready to host its new guests with its "unique" service policy and a new design, pairing modern comfort with historical background. Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House has 20 suites, a terrace offering a panoramic view of old town and a nostalgic outlook. It tells the story of an over 100 years old building with a stylish language, but without loosing the essence of the story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tomtom Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomtom Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing