We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Former Monastery now a Luxury Boutique Hotel”
Review of Tomtom Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tomtom Suites
Ranked #8 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Former Monastery now a Luxury Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This beautifully renovated hotel, one of the Luxury Small Hotels of the World, is only a 10-minute walk from Istiklal Street, the delightful pedestrian way midway between the Galata Tower and Taksim Square. It's the hip part of the city, crammed with shops, restaurants, and beautiful old embassies. The gracious staff, tasteful hotel decor, incomparable restaurant view of the Bosphorus and city below, and luxury touches (Godiva chocolate on your pillow, slippers in a cloth bag tied with a ribbon) make this our first choice in Istanbul.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but of differing sizes and configurations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andybabette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    98
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
133
592
47
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Absolutely fantastic! Recently, my husband, son and I stayed at Tom Tom Suites for a week. It was amazing! First class, attentive service from the warm and professional staff. The Tom Tom staff were so kind and thoughtful. They made our trip special and even more memorable! The hotel has beautiful rooms furnished with very cool artwork and they were were immaculately clean and inviting. The all marble bathroom with the luxury tub and rainwater shower head was a special treat!Breakfast each morning was delicious with something for everyone -- quiche, breads, rolls, cheese, olives, smoked salmon, fresh cheeses and meat, fresh juice, great coffee and of course tea and more. Egg dishes can be made to order, And the views from the incredible dining room perched at the top of building were fantastic, We twice had dinner at the hotel and the food and service were impecable, Moreover, the location of the hotel cannot be beat, You can easily walk to the Istiklal Street (the main shopping/tourist attraction), the Galata Tower, Istanbul Modern museum (which is wonderful) or walk down the hill to catch the tram across the Galata Bridge to the Blue Mosque and the Grand Bazaar. What is so charming about the hotel is that it is tucked into a quiet neighborhood with easy access to tourist atttractions and antiquities. So you also get the sense of what is is really like to live among the people of Istanbul. We loved our stay at the Tom Tom Suites and we adored the staff!!!

Room Tip: I have a feeling all the room are just as lovely as our room (#15)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank McYek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The TomTom Suites exceeded our expectations. The location is very safe and secure - across from the Italian Embassy, and you are just steps from the istiklal caddesi, one of the nicest streets and locations in modern Istanbul for night life, restaurants, etc. The room we had was spacious and the decor was elegant/simple and practical. The marble floors had heated tiles, the shower was amazing and the jacuzzi/bath was excellent. The downstairs floor was very nice - with a library stocked with DVDs and guide books, as well as a guest computer.The restaurant upstairs was amazing for breakfast, afternoon drinks and dinner. The staff - especially concierge Nural - was exceptional. He took us upstairs upon our arrival and gave us an overview of the city, places to visit, to eat and to see. He marked up a city map and made all of our reservations, supplied us with a Tramvay card and basically masterminded our entire 3 day stay. He even arranged for the private transport to and from the airport. The trip out of town included a brief stop at the Hagia Sophia - which we had not managed to visit. I would highly recommend this hotel for its cleaniness, friendliness, and general positive vibe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed for a long Easter weekend in Tomtom suites. One night on the top floor luxury suite with terrace (room 41) with a huge terrace covering half of the buildings top floor. The other half is the restaurant (for breakfast and dinner). And the other two night on the first floor in a Deluxe suite (room 15).

Obviously one room is larger than the other, but Tomtom has no bad rooms at all I think. Nice an warm wooden floors, all marble bathrooms and as mentioned by almost all other reviewers indeed a very quite spot in the crowded and noisy city of Istanbul. This is because the hotel is located in a no-through traffic street that is also closed for traffic because the Italian embassy is located across the street and next to that the Italian lyceum with some obvious (but not disturbing at all) children chatter during weekdays. The rest of the street has all abandoned and partly and decayed buildings (e.g. the Hotel Itali that is very clearly not a hotel anymore) that perhaps doesn't look that nice, but indeed makes the street very quiet. So you don't have to worry about your night's rest at this place.

As said all rooms look great, fine bedding, nice Molton Brown goodies in the bathroom, great staff. Basically everything you want and could expect from a place like this.

About location: just a few steps (although very steep!) from Istanbul's main shopping street leading to Taksim square, so many restaurants you have to stay at least a year to try them all (and the hotel itself also houses a great restaurant), a 5 minute walk down the road to the tram stop that will have you in 10-15 minutes at the doorstep of almost every attraction in the old city: Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Topkapi Palace, New Mosque, Galata Bridge, Grand Bazaar etc.

A tip: arrange transport via the hotel from the airport. A normal taxi will do, but the extra service, personal greeting by a representative of the limousine services at the airport and no worries about the cab driver being able to find the hotel is definitely worth the extra money.

One tip for the hotel management: although it is clearly indicated that it isn't complementary please don't charge your customers for the use of a few Nespresso coffee cups. I also expect that you wouldn't have charged me for a used tea-bag :-) Good though to have complimentary mineral water refreshed each day at turndown service.

Concluding: a great quiet stay in a very nice city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edgar-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2013

One of the best Small Luxury Hotels that I have tried, so far. Well located and the service was excellent. Particular thanks to Nural who helped us to plan our trip in Istanbul and suggested good places for shows and restaurants. Nural also drawn very nice maps to us in order to guide us through the city and find our places. Much appreciated.

The view on Istanbul during our breakfast at the 4th floor was amazing and thanks to Fuat who quickly got our habits with the coffee, espresso and so on..... the breakfast was also an unforgettable experience.

It's a must where to stay in Istanbul.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAHAzza1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a gem of a hotel, ideally located in Beyoglu, a 10 minute walk from the tram line, 15 minutes to Galata bridge and close to many shops and restaurants. It benefits from sharing a lane with the Italian Consulate so security is no problem. The downside of this is that taxis may find it hard to find.
What really makes a place like this is the willingness of the staff to go out of their way to solve your problems, offer suggestions and share their knowledge and obvious affection for their wonderful and many layered city. The other wonderful surprise was the quality of their restaurant, La Mouette. We tend to explore local eateries when travelling, trying new things and generally venturing as far as possible from the comfort zone of the hotel venue. We decided to give La Mouette a try as it was raining and so we put other plans on hold. I'm glad we did. It was without a doubt the best degustation meal I have ever had. It was fresh, clean flavours; unique combinations without being outrageous and confronting. Not cheap but good quality rarely is and we feel it still represents good value as a fine dining establishment.
A special mention must go to Nural at the front desk. His knowledge of the city is prodigious and he is a dab hand at hand drawn detailed maps to guide the visitor to city attractions, shops and eating spots.
All in all, TomTom Suites offers an excellent combination of location, quality, refinement, attentive staff and fantastic eating to "make" your stay in Istanbul.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I did a lot of searching in guidebooks, online, and here on TripAdvisor before we selected the TomTom Suites for our 10-day stay. I could not be happier with the property or the very helpful staff. Rooms are very quiet (some near the entry area might be noisier), and since it is on a small street across from the Italian Embassy, traffic is restricted. The breakfasts are varied with many healthy (and not-so-healthy) options. The view from the top floor breakfast/dining room includes the Bosphorus and fascinating city views. Beds are large (king) and very firm; bathrooms have good showers with lots of hot water and all the usual upscale amenities. You have to climb a bit of a hill to get to Istliklal Street (the main semi-pedestrian street). TomTom is also an easier (downhill) walk from the tram at the Tophane stop (10 minute walk away) which takes you right to all the usual tourist places in Sultanahmet.

The guest services director, Mr Nural, can help plan your itinerary, understand the IstanbulKart, and solve any problem with speed, aplomb, and a smile. He is a star.

We decided to splurge a bit on our hotel, and rationalized the decision based on the fact that we used miles to fly to Istanbul. The TomTom Suites and their entire staff made that decision look like one of the smartest things we did.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the light well and elevators in the center. You may get noise from guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wtcSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,954 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,141 in Istanbul
3,279 reviews
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#6 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#11 of 1,141 in Istanbul
252 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomtom Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomtom Suites

Property: Tomtom Suites
Address: Bogazkesen Cad. Tomtom Kaptan Sok. No:18 Karakoy, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#6 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#15 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#32 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tomtom Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House is an authentic Istanbul building whose posture reflects the social history of Pera from 1850’s to recent. Throughout its history, this building was home for French nuns and some well-known Levantine families. Now it is ready to host its new guests with its "unique" service policy and a new design, pairing modern comfort with historical background. Tomtom Suites, The Old Franciscan House has 20 suites, a terrace offering a panoramic view of old town and a nostalgic outlook. It tells the story of an over 100 years old building with a stylish language, but without loosing the essence of the story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Tomtom Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomtom Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing