We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value Stay at mystic hotel”
Review of Mystic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mystic Hotel
Ranked #694 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Mystic hotel is a family hotel runned by Oktay. The room we had was big for two person. The place is clean but the shower area was a bit small to move around but the whole bathroom was huge. Shower pressure was great. Oktay was very helpful in answering our inquiry regarding going around sulthanamet. the place was near to almost all the attraction in the old city. Breakfast was always the same each morning, well you can not expect more for the budget rate they offer, the room heater was not working that it was too cold in the evening.Good thing the blankets was a bit thick.
Oktay's daugthers was so friendly that they are our newest friends in Istanbul, Begum was so kind to do a reservation for us in one resturant.
For budget travellers the place is a great deal. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geekpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Mystic Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 310 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2011

We are a young couple of french students.
When we arrived at the hotel, we were quit lost in this beautiful city but day by day, this peaceful hotel became a friendly base where we rested, talked and learne a bit more about the owner's family.
I think the most important thing a hotel might propose you, is to be a refuge, and this hotel had been one to us.
Perfect for travellers and human being.
Zeus room has a very nice sea view.
Thanks for all.
Good Luck.
Guillaume and Juliette.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guillaume_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

I loved its atmosphere Mr.Oktay Related to us such as his Friend and we shared many topics together.
Break fast were so good, And i cannot forget his wife My dear Sevim, who was so nice person ,im not able to discribe, i love to be there as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ghoghnoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Very good place to stay for reasonable price! Good and friendly service, tasty breakfast!

Room Tip: Еxcellent sea view from room Jade!
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaZw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We are a traveling family from Nz and have traveled exstensivley. We always look for the best affordable accommodation and where we can experience the culture of the country we are visiting. "The Mystic Hotel" went out of its way to make us feel welcome and comfortable even a guided walk the first morning,( boss had time) on one quiet night at the hotel the family cooked us barbacue, how many places do that today.We had a wonderful time and could share many more stories with "trip adviser".

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gallery3117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Mystic hotel is a family run business. Oktay, the owner, is an extremely nice and helpful man, very resourceful for all the guidance we needed for an autonomous discovery of the city, very efficient and able for an individualized tailoring of our travelling agenda. The breakfast is healthy vegetables and bread, butter, marmelade. The rooms are very clean, with comfortable space, best view to Marmara sea and panorama of city, amazingly quiet although in the heart of the historical area. The hotel is really in walking distance from all major sights of the city like Agia Sofia, Top kapi, Blue Mosque, archeological museum. I recommend mystic hotel for everybody that wants a great price, great location, great view and clean, comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alina_gr_rh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

The location of the hotel was brilliant, only a short walk and you were in the centre with easy access to the blue mosque etc

We tried the breakfast on our first morning and didnt have it again, it was simply some cheese, jam and bread.

We felt like the owner took an instant dislike to us from the moment we asked for one additional towel for the room, there was one towel each but the heating wasnt on in the room and since it was february and raining terribly outside we couldnt get the towels dry for the morning. The owner never said hello, goodbye anything to us for the rest of our stay.

The room was quite spacious compared to our friends room across the hall, however the bathroom door would not shut unless you used all your strength and slammed it. After flushing the toilet it made should a loud noise for at least 20mins before it would finally stop....do not flush the toilet in the middle of the night...ull never get back to sleep!!! The floor around the toilet was ALWAYS wet, we couldnt work out whether this was coming from the toilet or the shower which is practically touching the toilet.

We would leave the hotel first thing in the morning and not arrive back until late at night, so it was just a place to sleep, which will be the same for majority of people staying in Istanbul, however I think next time I would prefer to find a different hotel but if you dont mind where you stay and want something solely for location you should be able to put up with this hotel for a couple of nights...we managed 2 out of 4 nights before moving on...

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tank87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#687 of 1,159 in Istanbul
617 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,046 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#84 of 1,159 in Istanbul
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#150 of 1,159 in Istanbul
782 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#60 of 1,159 in Istanbul
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Caddesi, Katip Sinan Cami Sokak, No:32, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #694 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Hotel Class:3 star — Mystic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mystic Hotel is a charming new hotel that offers you a mystic atmosphere. In this newly renovated historic building, a short stroll from Sultanahmet Square, you will have a magnificent panoramic view of the sea from the lobby and all front-facing rooms. All our rooms have air conditioning and cable TV. There is a five channel music broadcasting system, direct and free of charge internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mystic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystic Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing