We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special hotel”
Review of Osmanhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Osmanhan Hotel
Ranked #8 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We are often sad to leave places but it is more unusual to be sad to leave a hotel. We were truly sad to leave Osmanhan Hotel. As other reviewers have said, it is a very special hotel. It is in a brilliant location, with main sights and restaurants, cafes and shops very close by, but in a quiet side street. The street and the hotel's old building have real character. The rooms are comfortable and kept beautifully clean, as are all areas of the hotel. Delicious and beautifully presented breakfasts are taken on the roof, either in the glassed-in area or outside on the lovely terrace. This is such a pleasure. There is a higher roof terrace too, also with views of the Bosphorus and the minarets of the Blue Mosque, where we were welcomed to take our own drink and snacks, which was delightful in the evening. One of the most unforgettable things was sitting with the view of the illuminated minarets and listening to the call to prayer. The most unforgettable thing about Osmanhan Hotel though is the fantastic welcome and warm hospitality from everyone there. As others have said, they really could not do any more for you and are so nice and friendly always. Every single person at the hotel was totally charming and helpful throughout, and I'm only not naming people because I don't want to miss anybody out. The smiling friendliness is what made us most wish we did not have to leave. Osmanhan Hotel is a fantastic choice for anyone who likes small, unique and charming hotels. If you have mobility issues you should read the hotel information and be aware that it is not possible to have a lift in a building such as this. For us it was not an issue and we loved everything about the hotel. We definitely hope to return to Istanbul and we would not think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AlisonAUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,040)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014

A wonderfully convenient and quiet place to stay if you want to stay in Sultanhamet close to all the historic attractions. The owner is welcoming and friendly and very helpful.

The hotel only has 7 rooms and no lift. The staff take care of carrying luggage up and down the stairs, so it is only a problem when you are totally exhausted at the end of a day's sightseeing :-) .

Breakfast, which is served on the roof terrace, is fresh and tasty with a different delicacy to try each morning and the staff greet you with a happy good morning smile.

Rooms are smallish, but very comfortable and immaculately clean. We had a room on the top floor with a view down the hill to the sea. The room was great, but light sleepers should be aware that the noise from breakfast preparations may affect your ability to sleep in.

We stayed for 6 nights and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Located in the heart of Istanbul, within walking distance of the major historic sites. Highly recommended for those who like hotels with a personal touch.
The owner is very friendly, you will meet him in the top-floor breakfast room every morning. The rest of the day he is in his small rug shop in Arasta Bazaar, on the way towards Sultanahmet Square. We bought some bed an pillow covers form him, at a discount :)

Room Tip: Due to the shape of the streets around the hotel, the "floor room" is below street level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VU_ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Osmanhan Hotel is truly a special place. I had stayed at a few other hotels before staying at
this hotel because this was my third visit to Istanbul. And, I noticed the difference straight away. The owners Hamit and Mustafa are warm and engaging. Their staff is also very friendly and polite.

I truly enjoyed staying at this hotel. The room is extremely clean and comfortable. The breakfast served on the terrace overlooking the beautiful view of the sea is superb. I had freshly baked bread, freshly brewed coffee, fresh vegetables and fruits and warm omelet.

I definitely recommend Osmanhan Hotel and stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drothey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

A unique bijou hotel in an excellent location. Only 7 rooms in the hotel, with 2 on each floor and one on the ground floor. Breakfast each morning on a lovely roof terrace. Friendly staff who always go the extra mile to help their guests. The hotel is within easy reach of the major tourist attractions in the Sultanahmet area of Istanbul. The hotel will organise collection and return to and from the airport for a reasonable price. They can also recommend tours and/or tour guides if desired. We booked a Bosphorus cruise through them and they recommended a tour which also included a cable car trip to Pierre Lotti Hill with some superb views. As a coeliac, dining out can often be a challenge - even though I had taken a Turkish translation of my condition. The hotel staff recommended a restaurant that would be able to cope with my requirements and it was superb. Although the hotel has no bar nor restaurant, they are happy to allow guests the use of the roof terrace and glasses. We purchased wine and nibbles from the local supermarket (only a short walk away) and enjoyed them on the roof terrace in the evening with the view of the Blue Mosque on one side and the Bosphorus on the other - a truly memorable experience!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor, just under the roof terrace.........fine for us, but there is no lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

You can probably see on the map that this hotel is in a great location. You can also easily see that the price makes it a good value. What is much less obvious is the great hospitality. I arrived at about 9:30 in the morning, assuming that the front desk would hold my bag for me until my room was available later. Instead, I was shown immediately to my room and offered breakfast! The walk up to the top floor breakfast area is long and narrow, and the rooftop terrace is even further...but the food is good and the view is brilliant. The rooms themselves are not luxurious, but more than comfortable. I cannot imagine that anyone will leave Istanbul regretting having stayed here!

Room Tip: The ground floor room will save you some money, but can be a bit noisy...especially when trying to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClayC1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We wanted to stay very close to all the main Istanbul sights, and Osmanhan ticked all the boxes for us.
The pre arrival communication with Hamit was a nice personal touch. We were on an early flight into Istanbul and our luggage was stored, we had breakfast on the roof terrace ( great food) and set off with maps, and a tram card to use for our stay.
The room was small, but it was perfect for our needs, bathroom as well. Shower was good. We were on a high floor which I would recommend as there are a couple of hostels close by with some noisy revellers in the early hours...but who hasn't done that!!!
The staff were wonderful, helpful, a great way to start our Turkish holiday.
Ask for restaurant recommendations.
Thank you Osmanhan, we will be recommending you, Regards, Denise and Brian

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,178 in Istanbul
3,177 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,841 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#22 of 1,178 in Istanbul
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,178 in Istanbul
3,616 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,178 in Istanbul
3,066 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#6 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osmanhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osmanhan Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Cetinkaya Sok. No:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $47 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Osmanhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Osmanhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing