We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osmanhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Osmanhan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“an excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

osmanhan was an excellent place to stay in instanbul; it’s a family run business

the location is perfect for quickly getting to the blue mosque, hagia sofia, topkapi palace and other main sites in the city. the staff are friendly, welcoming and ready to help in any way they can, with recommendations for restaurants, shopping, hamam, and travel; e.g. cappadocia. they even brought my parent’s luggage up to and down from the 4th floor - my parent's are in their 70's, so if you're a bit younger you may have to bring up your own luggage ;)

the rooms were comfortable, air conditioned, and quiet (even the room on the 1st floor). breakfast is server on the roof-top terrace, which provides a nice view of the city and the sea; many hotels in this area have roof-top terraces. the included breakfast was excellent - fresh fruit, vegetables, eggs, etc. much better than other included breakfasts i've had before.

they also own a carpet store that is about a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel that sells authentic refurbished rugs and the buying experience alone is worth a visit.

general tip for istanbul
----------------------------
if you are easily identified as a foreigner, some people will approach you and start speaking to you. they will introduce them self, try to shake your hand, ask you where you are form, anything to get your attention and keep you engaged. the best solution, we found, was to simply break eye contact, ignore them and keep walking. they will continue to speak to you no matter what you say or how polite you refuse their advances. they may even follow you for some time if they feel they can still get your attention. if you reply at all, be prepared for continued harassment. it’s an interesting skill, can be entertaining at times, but in the end, imho, is simply rude.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dan-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    111
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
165
492
112
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is for sure it is best place in istanbul!They are so helpful and allways welcoming!from the moment that arrived the hotel untill we leave the hotel they made their best to make us best welcoming!They made much better our holiday in istanbul!we would like thank to Owner Mustafa,on the front desk to ilknur for his passion with us and of course to fadime on breakfast!
if you are planing to go istanbul this place should be your first choise!
Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andres l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

A return to Istanbul and our second stay here this excellent boutique hotel.
Comfortable bed, cosy room, fabulous location and kind staff.

Buffet breakfast on roof top with great variety, mmmmm cherry juice.
No elevator but no problem.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DIALTWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Osmanhan Hotel in Istanbul is a wonderful, small hotel, with 7 rooms, ideally situated in the old part of Istanbul. It is a five minute walk from the Blue Mosque, and all the interesting sites in the Old City. The staff were very helpful, and Ilknur on the front desk, had fabulous recommendations for restaurants. The breakfast was excellent and the view from the roof terrace, where breakfast was served, provided scenes of the water and the Blue Mosque. Our room was nicely appointed and ample in size, although not large. Everything was spotlessly clean. It is important to book in advance, because there are only 7 rooms.There is no elevator, but they will help you with your bags. We would definitley use The Osmnanhan Hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

It's small, every bit a boutique hotel, but it's in the perfect spot for exploring the Blue Mosque area, near lots of restaurants, and very comfortable. Good view with breakfast with the rooftop terrace. And a very, very helpful staff!

Room Tip: Two people in a double room was cramped--we switched to a triple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

I have visited Istanbul a couple of times now and on my most recent visit I stayed at the Osmanhan Hotel. And I must say that this hotel is the best hotel that I have stayed at! From the minute I walked in, I was greeted with a welcoming smile from the staff and this excellent hospitality continued for the rest of my stay at the hotel. The rooms were beautiful and well taken care of, breakfast was always delicious and the rooftop patio view was breathtaking. The best part of the hotel is the extremely friendly and helpful staff who were always willing to tell me about great restaurants, bars and shopping spots that I should go and explore. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a true Istanbul experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nini M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This boutique hotel exceeded my expectations. We chose the hotel based on the many reviews from TripAdvisors, and was not dissapointed. The room was on the top floor, well maintained and with a homey style decoration. Although it lacks an elevator, there was always somebody to assist you with the suitcases. From the rooftop you can have lovely views of sunrise over Istanbul. With its close proximity from all the main tourist attractions such as, Topkapi palace, Hagia Sophia, etc., and some of the good restaurants in Istanbul, would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody who is looking for a different experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NansiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,127 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#13 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,832 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#15 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osmanhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osmanhan Hotel

Property: Osmanhan Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Cetinkaya Sok. No:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Osmanhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Osmanhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing