We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osmanhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Osmanhan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This boutique hotel exceeded my expectations. We chose the hotel based on the many reviews from TripAdvisors, and was not dissapointed. The room was on the top floor, well maintained and with a homey style decoration. Although it lacks an elevator, there was always somebody to assist you with the suitcases. From the rooftop you can have lovely views of sunrise over Istanbul. With its close proximity from all the main tourist attractions such as, Topkapi palace, Hagia Sophia, etc., and some of the good restaurants in Istanbul, would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody who is looking for a different experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NansiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    111
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
165
492
112
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Osmanhan is right off Akbiyik, the main restaurant/cafe row below the Blue Mosque, far enough off to be quiet but still an easy walk from everything. It feels new and well maintained, which sets it apart from a lot of the older hotels in the neighborhood. There's no elevator, but with only four stories to the rooftop where they serve Turkish breakfast, I never minded the stairs. A decent view from the room (Mosque and Bosphorus) and an elegant Ottoman-era wooden building to look at across the street.

The rooms are small, but that's how it is in the old neighborhoods, unless you want to spring for the Four Seasons. They've done a good job of laying the rooms out to be as comfortable and efficient as the space allows. We started in a double room, which was a bit too small for two people to share at the same time, then we switched to a triple room, which felt just right.

What really made it a great experience for me, though, was the staff: pleasant, helpful, endlessly patient with my many requests for advice, information, and help. After four nights there, I felt genuinely regretful to say goodbye to them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MagpieJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel manager Ilknur is a refreshing contrast to the impersonal hotel desk personnel that I had recently encountered in large "vacation" hotels on the coast.
It was very interesting to converse with him about all kinds of topics while waiting for my airport shuttle.
He is extremely knowledgeable about Istanbul, helpful and personable... and as a woman traveling alone, I found his tips on restaurants & off-the-beaten-path shopping areas to be spot-on and very valuable! The staff of the fabulous rooftop patio were also very pleasant and welcoming. Very much looking forward to my next visit !

Room Tip: Note there is no elevator !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wutz57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We arrived on an early flight from Johannesburg at 5:30 a.m. We had previously requested for the hotel to arrange transportation which was waiting upon our arrival. When we reached the hotel (about a half hour drive from the airport), our room was not ready but we were invited to have breakfast on the rooftop. We accepted and were treated to a lovely view of the sun rising over Istanbul. After a short nap we explored the neighborhood and were delighted to find that we were a five minute walk from the Bosporus, the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia and some of the best restaurants in Istanbul. In fact the street above the hotel had so many restaurants that each competed for business. A great location and a great family run hotel. We were treated so well and the room had everything we could wish for including a safe and mini bar. Our hosts advised us on the best restaurants within a two minute walk and in fact two of the restaurants were featured in Trip Advisor as five star and we were not disappointed. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We asked and received a room just below the rooftop breakfast area. the room offered also great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We realy enjoyed our stay at the Osmanhan. The room decor is elegant and the rain showers are amazing! Plus I really liked that we had a mini-fridge and a safe in the room. The front desk staff were great - always very friendly and helpful! Plus its location off the main street means it is pretty quiet at night.

There is no restaurant on the roof so you can go up there whenever you want, even late at night (which we found ourselves doing each night). Great view of the sea from the roof but you can only see the very top of the Blue Mosque’s minarets, and you can’t see the Hagia Sophia at all. Nonetheless, the view is pretty stunning - especially in the morning, during the delicious breakfast.

The only room I wouldn’t recommend is the cheapest one on the ground floor as it is located directly behind the front desk and you are basically in the basement with no view from your window - plus you can hear everyone walk in, and the bed was really hard. We switched rooms on our last night and this one was on the 3rd floor had a great view and very comfy bed. We wished we had stayed there all along! The triple our friends stayed in was also great.

Coming back to this hotel each night felt like coming home. It doesn't have the view of the other hotel we stayed in on our trip but it was a better experience in general!

Room Tip: Don't go with the cheapest room on the main floor, as it has no view and can be loud with people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank erin464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Osmanhan Hotel for 3 nights. I think the previous positive reviews about this hotel on Tripadvisor were all correct.

The owner Hamit and all the staffs welcomed us warmly and treated us well during all our stay.
The location is good and we walked to every place (Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar and even Galata!) by walk.
The room was very clean and comfy. All the necessary things as kettle, tea bags, hair-drier and so on were prepared.

One of the most attracting features of Osmanhan is the rooftop-terrace. It is overlooking the Sea of Marmara and on it breakfast is served. The quality of the breakfast was good. We enjooyed fresh vegetables, fruits, delicious Turkish baguettes, home-made local foods, Turkish tea, filtered coffee and some other drinks.

We will definitely stay at Osmanhan Hotel again on next visit to Istanbul.I appreciate Osmanhan Hotel and also Tripadvisor!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zach T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gullane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

If you are looking for small is beautiful then this is the one for you.

It only has 7 rooms but they are very well appointed, clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable. I am always slightly suspicious of hotel photos but in this case they are true to life.

There is no lift but the owner will carry your luggage up to your room.

Breakfast is served on its roof terrace and the food is limited but very good. No complaints as I am not a big breakfast eater anyway. You can see the Bosphorus from the terrace but to be honest not much of it. Just enjoy looking at the roof life of the city as you sip your fresh orange juice.

Its location is perfect. 5-10 minutes walk from the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque and Cistern and not much further to the Topkapi Palace. Also a tram stop is about 10 minutes away.

There is a street of good and reasonably priced restaurants one block behind the hotel where we ate every night. Ask the hotel for the one with the underground Palace which you can visit for free after, or before, your meal.

If you are after a more authentic feel to a hotel as opposed to the big chains then have a serious look at this one. I would certainly go back here if I returned to the city.

On a separate note if you want a guide for a day or half day look at Context Travel (you can find them on the web). They are very good, not cheap, but you get academics who really know their stuff.

Room Tip: We had the top floor of rooms but I suspect they are all pretty similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremy21558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,127 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,831 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#15 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osmanhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osmanhan Hotel

Property: Osmanhan Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Cetinkaya Sok. No:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Osmanhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Osmanhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing