We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and warm atmosphere”
Review of Osmanhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Osmanhan Hotel
Ranked #6 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice and warm atmosphere”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at this tiny hotel with a nice and warm atmosphere 4 nights. Everything of Osmanhan Hotel made us happy. Especially we loved the owner and the staffs,who are very kind and helpful. We recommend you to have a tasty brekfast on the terrace with a great view of Marmara Sea. The rooms are also well-equipped and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    114
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
174
504
116
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The people, the cleanliness, the location, the breakfast (the fruit!) , the rooftop view - we were blown away. We tried to get in for another night later in our trip but sadly they were booked out! Fatih is an asset to Osmanhan - so nice to see a friendly face at the start and end of each day.

Room Tip: We were in the cheapest room - double ground floor, and though you could hear voices from reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreaTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

The Osmanhan was our haven in Sultanahmet. Our room was lovely and breakfasts on the balcony overlooking the Marmara were a delight. And the staff, especially Fatih and Ilknur, made us welcome. After each day of hard touring, we looked forward to coming 'home' to the Osmanhan.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Osmanhan is in a great location, close to all the main attractions. Our room was roomy and comfortable, but the best part of our stay was the helpful and friendly staff. They found out all about the Bosphorous cruise for us, recommended great restaurants and were always cheerful as we came and went. Loved the fresh fruit and Turkish yogurt for breakfast on the rooftop.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Theresa-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Osmanhan is a beautiful small boutique hotel situated in the heart of Sultanahmet just steps fro the sites and sounds that make Istanbul such a wonderful destination. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable, Fatih who oversaw the front desk was a tremendous help and always with a smile!

Room Tip: as with almost all hotels and hostels in Istanbul climbing narrow stairs to get to you room is a req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audiomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Osman Han Hotel was particularly special for a number of reasons, as many have been stated in other reviews. I look for certain qualities in a hotel, especially those abroad in foreign countries. I try to find smaller, boutique hotels that have a more intimate quality, without being a bed and breakfast. I found such a hotel in the Osman Han. A family owned and managed so proficiently by Fatih Ozer, it is a gem of a hotel with only 7 rooms, clean, affordable and convenient... all the attributes of what I think any traveler would look for. The friendliness and affable nature of the staff, welcome the visitor as if you are family. You can sit in the small front lobby and have a wonderful conversation and learn so much more about a new country and city. You can be directed to places only the locals go to and thereby experience Istanbul in a far less touristy nature. Osman Han is well located in Sultanahmet, the Old City and convenient to mosques and other attractions. The tram is within walking distance and easily navigable.
The rooftop dining room serves morning breakfast with fresh fruits, vegetables, eggs and a variety of condiments for a satisfying breakfast. The thick yogurt was especially tasty with rose jam or cherry jam. Every morning we sat among the other guests to chat and greet the day and plan our excursions for the day ahead. We would come back after a day of exploring Istanbul and be totally exhausted,but always greeted at the front desk with a smile and a greeting. How comfortable and informal we felt each and every day.
I would easily stay here again and would recommend it to any visitor who wants a hotel experience to be personal and memorable. I am a senior and was a little concerned about the lack of a lift in the hotel.... but in actuality it was not that difficult. The staff are more than willing to carry your bags and bring any requests to you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sukiyuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We spent three days at the Osmanhan prior to a group trip and enjoyed our stay enough to come back at the end of the tour for two more days.
The hotel is a block away from a wide choice of restaurants and just a little farther from the major sights of old Istanbul and public transit to reach outlying sights.
A major plus is the help available from the staff to make the most of one's stay. Their English is excellent and they provide a welcome greeting after a tiring day seeing the sights and fighting the crowds. The Osmanhan is a home to come back to in Istanbul.
Breakfasts on the rooftop give a good wakeup preparation for the busy day ahead. Be advised that the walk up will make you hungry but the food is ample and good enough to satisfy the hunger.
Since the hotel is a little hard to find avail yourself of the offer to arrange (at reasonable cost) transportation from the airport. We didn't on our return and would up seeing more of Istanbul's traffic than we wanted.

Room Tip: We opted for the cheaper ground floor room on our first stay. The rooms on the upper floors are nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ecoworld-DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,155 in Istanbul
3,005 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#2 of 1,155 in Istanbul
3,359 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,155 in Istanbul
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#25 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,739 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#9 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,459 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,155 in Istanbul
2,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osmanhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osmanhan Hotel

Property: Osmanhan Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Cetinkaya Sok. No:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Osmanhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Osmanhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing