We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A gem among so many choices!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osmanhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Osmanhan Hotel
Ranked #4 of 1,111 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A gem among so many choices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Osman Han Hotel was particularly special for a number of reasons, as many have been stated in other reviews. I look for certain qualities in a hotel, especially those abroad in foreign countries. I try to find smaller, boutique hotels that have a more intimate quality, without being a bed and breakfast. I found such a hotel in the Osman Han. A family owned and managed so proficiently by Fatih Ozer, it is a gem of a hotel with only 7 rooms, clean, affordable and convenient... all the attributes of what I think any traveler would look for. The friendliness and affable nature of the staff, welcome the visitor as if you are family. You can sit in the small front lobby and have a wonderful conversation and learn so much more about a new country and city. You can be directed to places only the locals go to and thereby experience Istanbul in a far less touristy nature. Osman Han is well located in Sultanahmet, the Old City and convenient to mosques and other attractions. The tram is within walking distance and easily navigable.
The rooftop dining room serves morning breakfast with fresh fruits, vegetables, eggs and a variety of condiments for a satisfying breakfast. The thick yogurt was especially tasty with rose jam or cherry jam. Every morning we sat among the other guests to chat and greet the day and plan our excursions for the day ahead. We would come back after a day of exploring Istanbul and be totally exhausted,but always greeted at the front desk with a smile and a greeting. How comfortable and informal we felt each and every day.
I would easily stay here again and would recommend it to any visitor who wants a hotel experience to be personal and memorable. I am a senior and was a little concerned about the lack of a lift in the hotel.... but in actuality it was not that difficult. The staff are more than willing to carry your bags and bring any requests to you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sukiyuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    109
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
156
477
107
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We spent three days at the Osmanhan prior to a group trip and enjoyed our stay enough to come back at the end of the tour for two more days.
The hotel is a block away from a wide choice of restaurants and just a little farther from the major sights of old Istanbul and public transit to reach outlying sights.
A major plus is the help available from the staff to make the most of one's stay. Their English is excellent and they provide a welcome greeting after a tiring day seeing the sights and fighting the crowds. The Osmanhan is a home to come back to in Istanbul.
Breakfasts on the rooftop give a good wakeup preparation for the busy day ahead. Be advised that the walk up will make you hungry but the food is ample and good enough to satisfy the hunger.
Since the hotel is a little hard to find avail yourself of the offer to arrange (at reasonable cost) transportation from the airport. We didn't on our return and would up seeing more of Istanbul's traffic than we wanted.

Room Tip: We opted for the cheaper ground floor room on our first stay. The rooms on the upper floors are nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ecoworld-DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Encouraged by the reviews we read we decided to stay here for 4 nights and we are so glad that we did. The staff were friendly, helpful and fun at all times. Rooms were tastefully furnished and quiet despite being only a stones throw from the main Sultanahmet tourist strip. Breakfast on the terrace was excellent every day. They were happy to book restaurants and hammans for the 4 of us at our request. One got the impression that they could not do enough for you as a guest in their house. I dont normally return to the same hotel when I re-visit a city no matter how good it is but I would not hesitate in first checking for vacancies at the Osmanhan when I next go to Istanbul. Restaurant and bars on the main drag are variable but 2 of the better ones were Shadow cafe and Albura Kathisma. Beware over-priced cocktails with very little alcohol in them at some places particularly at the Byzantium hotel where the selling point is highest roof terrace on the street (but the worst drinks!)

Room Tip: The two rooms on the ground floor were right next to reception so could get noisy. Top 2 floors are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hippriest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We chose to stay at the Osman Han Hotel (Ottoman Inn Hotel is what it means) on the advice of friends who recently stayed here, and after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. It was great! From the moment we arrived we were made to feel completely welcome, most notably by Fatih, but really by everyone.
The location is great, a 5 minute walk to Haggia Sophia and the Blue mosque, another few to the tram line (3 TL or about $1.60 per trip). We stayed in the deluxe triple, which was very spacious for a couple, but I understand some of the rooms are a bit small. We stayed in the triple simply because there wasn't a double available and we were given a discount for cash. The room was very nice, with a clean, modern feeling bathroom.
The breakfast, which is included, was very enjoyable. The coffee is like american , i.e. weak, so we drank the stronger turkish tea. There was fresh squeezed OJ, the ubiquitous cherry juice, fresh fruit, dried figs and apricots, cereal, yogurt, cheeses, olives, a processed meat and omelets. I'm sure I left a lot out, but we loved the breakfast. You can eat inside, outside or outside on the rooftop terrace.
As you read thru the reviews here you will see Fatih's name over and over, for good reason. Every time we asked him for help or a recommendation, he came through. I wish we had asked more often. Among his picks was Fatih Belediyesi Cankurtaran Sosyal Tesisleri, which is a social center of the local Fatih municipality (belediyesi, a word you will see over and over). We had asked him for a reasonably priced place to eat where predominantly locals go. It was exactly that, very good food, atmosphere and prices. Another place he recommended was Sultanahmet Koftecisi Selim Usta, which he described as the best meatballs in Turkey. I loved it.
A true home run was his suggestion to take a morning trip on the ferry across to the asian side when we were looking for something our last morning while waiting for an afternoon flight to Cappadocia. He told us to take the ferry from Eminonu (by the Galata bridge) to Kadikoy. It's a 20 minute ride and you need a 3TL token which you can purchase there. The ferry seems to run twice an hour with 2 boats. I recommend the boat with an open upper deck where you can sit outside. We were lucky enough to have beautiful weather and a great crossing, with views of the mosques, Haggia Sophia and the Topkapi Palace.
When you get off, if you head across the streets and to the right, there is a nice, non-touristy turkish market. There is an underpass, which makes the crossing easier. On the way back we hit the second, less open ferry boat, which was ok, but not great.
The hotel is just off a street with a multitude of restaurants and shops, a couple blocks from a 2 block long bazaar.
The Grand Bazaar is a bit further away, you can walk (about 30-40 minutes) or walk 10 minutes to the tram stop. The spice bazaar is a 10 minute walk from the grand bazaar. We walked every where and enjoyed the sites on the way. Particularly on the streets between the 2 bazaars you see a multitude of tiny shops serving the locals for everything from hardware to clothing and toys.
As you walk around this area you will see a great many small and large hotels, many of which are reviewed on TripAdvisor and many not, but it's hard to imagine a ether experience than we had at the OsmanHan Hotel.
By the way, restaurants and shops love to hear you say you will review them on this site. I am not including any bad reviews, in large part because I suspect the places I would review with less enthusiasm suffered from my not enjoying local spices, and /or me trying to order something new and not liking it.
Lastly, having ordered several doner kebabs, I would say the hoagy/sub style bread is far superior to the wrap style. It seems they put in less filling in the wrap and the bread overwhelms the sandwich.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thimotyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Osmanhan is the best place for us in istanbul!i have been in this Hotel with my wife 4 nights!in this four days people who works there they gave their max.effort to make us feel happy.And they did that!Osmanhan hotel has 7 rooms boutique hotel.it was so clean,quait and in perfect location.What was suprised us Knowing that we were leaving early for our tour, they were kind enough to make us a breakfast plate as the regular buffet would not be available.
Staff is the key.They make you happy from
the place or not!And their breakfast was super.Everday very diffrent cakes and specially rose jam still in my mind
Very highly recommended Osmanhan Hotel for everbody who are tired from big hotels!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phil w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Osmanhan Hotel is a boutique hotel located close to the Blue Mosque. The room we had was small, but impeccable. There is a rooftop terrace where breakfast is served with a view over the Sea of Marmara and the Blue Mosque. The hotel is lovely, but what made our stay special was the caring staff. Never have I stayed in a hotel with such attentive interest to our needs and well-being. If we go back to Istanbul, we will return here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul_B29556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have just stayed 3 nights in this lovely little hotel. If you are looking for somewhere clean, quiet, friendly, central and with lovely views from the rooftop terrace, this is it. It is a five minute walk from Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. Breakfast is varied, plentiful and very fresh. The cherry jam is just delicious. I cannot fault this hotel, unless you find stairs difficult, as there is no lift. The staff take your luggage to your room and back again at end of trip so no need to struggle with it up the stairs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,111 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 2,742 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#2 of 1,111 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 2,890 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,111 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 2,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Senatus Suites
Senatus Suites
#8 of 1,111 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 907 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,111 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 636 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#12 of 1,111 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osmanhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osmanhan Hotel

Property: Osmanhan Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Cetinkaya Sok. No:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,111 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Osmanhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Osmanhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing