We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most charming introduction to Istanbul”
Review of Osmanhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Osmanhan Hotel
Ranked #6 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A most charming introduction to Istanbul”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Traveling with my son (age 6) and my father, we only had two nights to visit Istanbul for the first time, and the Osmanhan hotel definitely contributed to our excellent impression of the city. First, the hotel arranged transportation from the airport, which was much welcomed after having to file a lost baggage claim - the driver was still there after an hour delay. Upon arrival, the hotel staff were helpful in directing us to both a store where I could buy pajamas and other essentials (due to missing luggage) and to a pleasant restaurant close to the hotel. It was such at treat to be able to walk by both the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sofia on our first evening. The room itself was perfect for the three of us - not large, but clean and nicely decorated. There was a minibar with reasonably-priced beverages. Breakfast in the bright room on the top floor was excellent and must be even better when it is warm enough to sit outside. The hotel staff (Fatih) provided excellent suggestions for all of our meals in Istanbul, and was generally an exemplary ambassador for his city. We appreciated the small, friendly feel of the hotel, but as other reviewers have said, this is closer to a bed-and-breakfast style hotel - which suited us perfectly. We were very pleased with our choice of hotel and will no doubt stay there if we are lucky enough to go to Istanbul again. (Oh, and you will be woken up by the call to prayer in the early morning, but that just seemed like part of the experience...)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K_Alice_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    114
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
174
504
116
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Fatih and his staff were very helpful the whole of our four day stay in Istanbul. Breakfast was excellent and provided a really good start to the day with wonderful views over the rooftops to the Marmara Sea and Blue Mosque. The hotel location was excellent in a relatively quiet road within easy walking distance of major attractions and local restaurants. Be warned that there are lots of stairs and no lift but the views and hotel comfort make this a small price to pay.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor with good views from the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Duncan449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

3 nights approx €65-70/night Ground floor room.

Location is very good within minutes of Topkaki Place, Aya Sofia and Blue Mosque. Lots of restaurants-although touristy joints and minimarts/convience stores nearby. About 10-12min walk from Sultanahmet tram stop. 20-25 mins to Eminonu Pier for Boshporus boat rides and 15-20min to Grand Bazaar. You can always take a tram for 1.95TL/trip with IstanbulKart(Card)6TL which can be purchased and topped up and several newspaper kiosks or ticket machines (which happened to be all out of order) near Sultanahmet tram stop. Basic smallish room with minibar, tea/coffee facilities and a tv – Does the job but don’t expect a large room/luxury. Breakfast is served on the top floor, great views of the ocean; you can sit on the balcony if it wasn’t raining and cold when I was there. Cold meats, cheese, bread, cereals, fruit, salads, select cakes and Turkish pastries are provided – simple but filling and tasty. The reception staff were extremely helpful and spoke good English.

Overall an excellent value accommodation in the Sultanahmet district. A great base for the main tourist attractions.

Room Tip: No elevator so you may need help caring your bags up if you stay on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prozerran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

An excellent choice for anyone wanting a clean, comfortable and friendly hotel in an excellent location. The staff (especially Fatih) were incredibly helpful. Breakfast was good and roof top terrace offered great views across the bay. Located close to main tourist sites and an excellent range of restaurants and shops. Short walk to tram stops for easy travel to other parts of the city. Highly recommended and looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Osmanhan is very comfortable with well equipped clean rooms, wonderful breakfast at the sea-viewing terrace and kind stuffs. The hotel's location is best,too. It's on a small quiet street, but 5 minute-walk distance to main spots. Thanks to the owners and stuffs.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Samikoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musashino, Tokyo, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Every staff in the hotel is really nice. Especially Mr. Hamit and Fatih really helped me a lot. I went to the Istanbul for the business, from them I have received a lot of precious information and advises. One thing made me really impressive is the breakfast in this hotel, I got a chance to tried other hotel's breakfast, but here is the best. On the roof terrace is, you can not only enjoy the fresh and delicious Turkish breakfast, but also enjoy the great view of euro side and Asian side of Istanbul. Of course, location of the hotel is also perfect for sightseeing. I really had a wonderful experiences because of this place, for me here is the place more than a hotel. Thank you so muchj! If someone wants to have a real Istanbul trip, I strongly recommend here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caiyuanhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I thought I had reviewed this hotel but I must have made an error because I cannot find it and The Osmanhan deserves to have an excellent review put forward to add to the many positive responses.

We stayed in this hotel in January for only two nights and I wish we could have stayed longer. We could not fault the service in any area of the hotel from Fatih in reception to the excellent breakfast staff. To top it all off the room was spotless and beautifully furnished.

The hotel is within walking distance to everything in the old city and we even managed to walk back from Taksim. There is not a single thing that the staff will not try to help you with and they do everything they can to ensure you have a wonderful stay. Sometimes it was even difficult to walk out and explore the city because talking to the staff was just such a pleasant and friendly experience. I really don't know what else to add to the other reviews except just go there and see for yourself. I will be so surprised if anyone can find anything negative to say.
Our only regret is that Fatih will not be there when we can eventually return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank KLR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,154 in Istanbul
3,005 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#2 of 1,154 in Istanbul
3,358 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,154 in Istanbul
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,154 in Istanbul
1,739 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#9 of 1,154 in Istanbul
1,459 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,154 in Istanbul
2,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osmanhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osmanhan Hotel

Property: Osmanhan Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Cetinkaya Sok. No:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Osmanhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Osmanhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing