We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to enjoy a delicious anniversary celebration dinner!”

Sur Balik Sarayburnu
Ranked #135 of 13,715 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Description: With a capacity of 250 pax indoor and 300 pax with garden side, Sur Balık Restaurant is offering the Mediterranean seafood cuisine with specialities of Turkish dishes is destinated to be a trendsetting address in metropolis of Istanbul. e inviting restaurant is an ideal place for a relaxing dinner aer work or a social gathering venue.
Danville, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to enjoy a delicious anniversary celebration dinner!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Having already spent three days in Istanbul, my husband and I were looking for an extra special seafood restaurant to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary with a delicious, quiet meal. The concierge of our hotel, the Crown Plaza, recommended Sur Balik and it was the perfect choice. The complimentary transportation to the restaurant was appreciated. We were seated upstairs by the window overlooking the Sea. We enjoyed the various breads, olives and dipping oil before selecting a warm shrimp appetizer with amazing flavors. We followed it with a delicious salad and grilled seabass. Our waiter was attentive to all our needs, taking very good care of us until we boarded the bus back to our hotel. As we sat and reflected on our wonderful life together we also commented that we couldn't have found a better place to spend our anniversary ~ Sur Balik was perfect!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeneil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    102
    37
    18
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous fish”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had an excellent dinner - thank you. Great service - we got the sense that the team of waiters and staff really enjoyed what they did so well - providing great service. The food was excellent too - octopus in soy sauce a highlight but the fish kebab and blue fish also very tasty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were sent here by the concierge at the Four Seasons Sultanahmet We read the reviews before going and were't sure about it, but we went and are glad we did. Restaurant sent transportation for us and since it was raining couldn't sit outside but they sat us at a large table overlooking the Bosphorus. Unfortunately there were many families with children and it was very noisy. Luckily, our waiter was helpful. We had a wonderful Sauvignon Blanc from Turkey and bypassed the cold mezzes they brought around on large platters and ordered a wonderful dish of grilled octopus with garlic. For the main course we had the Sea Bass baked in salt...fabulous presentation flamed at the table, then cracked and expertly served. It was moist, cooked to perfection and delicious...also served with some garlic butter. We spent 3 hrs and had a lovely dinner. The food and service made up for the more casual atmosphere than we expected. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happytraverlers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic dining experience in Istanbul”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I were staying at the afoul Seasons Sultanahmet in the heart of the Old City inistanbul for our final night of a memorable vacation in Turkey. We were looking for an elegant restaurant with a special atmosphere, close to our hotel. This wonderful venue was recommended by the hotel concierge and provided personalized shuttle transport to an from the establishment, located along the Sea of Marmara but conveniently only 10 minutes from the hotel. The appetizers were delectable-- we had the seafood spring rolls, as well as the spicy fish kabob recommend by our experienced and attentive waiter Hamit. Fresh baked breads of several varieties were served with herbed olive oil and olives. This was followed by perfectly grilled sea bass fillet with a huge garden salad. There was complimentary baklava and Turkish tea or coffee for dessert, followed by complimentary Raki or "Lion's milk" liquor. They even let us keep the Raki glass as a souvenir! The evening was mildly cool, but the covered outdoor ambience was enhanced by the toasty heat lamps. We have dined from Manhattan to Capetown, and this was as memorable a meal as we could have hoped for. Perfect and highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous location with fresh seafood but....”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The concierge at our hotel (Kalyon Hotel) directed us to Sur Balik since we were tired and did not want to venture out too far to grab a bite to eat. It was 50 meters from our hotel. A fairly low key dining place with pretty decent service. The fish was fresh and grilled to perfection but inspite of asking repeatedly to include some good vegetables with the fish, it was served with a schmear, yes a schmear of mashed potato and no veggies. That was disappointing for our very first meal in Istanbul. I did enjoy eating the fish and the wine (Turkish) was ok but a few veggies would have meant that the waiter was paying attention to us!! The salad was decent though. It is just across the street from the Sea of Marmara and the back wall of the restaurant was part of the city wall constructed by Constantine (he of Constantinople fame). The ambiance was terrific and the fish was great but everything else was disappointing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scrippsmater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sur Balik Sarayburnu also viewed

 

Been to Sur Balik Sarayburnu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing