We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and clean”
Review of The Marmara Sisli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Marmara Sisli
Ranked #335 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Good location and clean”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Good location, clean rooms, breakfast could be a bit more of selection, but overall a good hotel. the staff is very nice and the rooms a very nice view. we will sure come here again. a quite special character hotel, like in the 20s...very well designed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with theMarmaraHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank - -
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yaprakyilmaz, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Marmara Sisli, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding the services and staff during your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We will definitely share your comments with the whole team here and read with pride.

We look forward to welcome you again at The Marmara Şişli

Yaprak YILMAZ
Misafir İlişkileri Yönetmeni
Guest Relations Supervisor
The Marmara Şişli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    92
    37
    11
    20
See reviews for
28
57
18
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in Dec of 2013, the hotel was quirky unlike others, no doubt because thetes MS is known as the best designed hotel on some such list. The room layout is very different, especially the washroom. The view from the MS is delightful, the room service offered is poor, the breakfast offered is not bad, the front desk Burcu was very helpful but my top marks go to Enes. Enes is a bellboy at the hotel, ready with tips to offer, negotiate taxi trips and extremely friendly. The biggest thing not in the MS's favour is the location. Sisli is far away from the main touristy areas and sites and there isn't much to do. Our biggest costs after the hotel stay were on taxi rides, simply because Sisli is far from everything. A bonus for food lovers is that the MS is located right next to a hole in the wall restaurant , it's very sparse and one has to climb downhill to enter, one can see the customers sitting below street level through a transparent canopy, at first glance no one will want to come here, but try the food. it is one of the best culinary experiences we had.


In short-good hotel worth staying - bad location-bad room service-friendly staff-decent breakfast-next to a delightful ultra cheap rest.

Room Tip: choose the rooms facing west for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanVal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yaprakyilmaz, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Marmara Sisli, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank- you very much for your excellent feedback, and we will be sure to share this our team with pride. Your feedback is important to help us create the best possible experience for our guest. We trully look forward to welcoming you back, with the following suggestions for improvement in mind.

Best regards,

Yaprak YILMAZ
Misafir İlişkileri Yönetmeni
Guest Relations Supervisor
The Marmara Şişli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times,The area is very convenient for me.

I stayed recently found the customer service a bit weak.Burcu,on reception,was very rude,kept looking at me ,blankly ,when i asked questions.Not only this,she kept laughing,when i asked for explanation of certain things.??

3 days previous,i woke up to DRILLING and refurbishment noise for 2 hours.It started to drive me nuts.I went downstairs,spoke to the manager.I expected discount on that days stay!The manager ,refused as the many was taken upfront,so he suggested any EXTRAS,i buy will be OF NO CHARGE!!!hes exact words!I said i dont get extras.Dont worry,if you do,no charge!!!!


To my horror,as i checked out of the hotel MR VEROL (manager)was rung up,as ,Burcu,said no notes about no charge???The manager then said over the phone,I thought i said discount!TOTAL UTTER LIE!!!!These days,lesson to all,make sure you get any promises in writing!!!!Shame on you,MR VEROL!!!!terrible customer service tactic,very cheeky!

The extras only came to 30 tl (10 stirling)its the principle the got me soooo angryyyyyy.


The rooms are adequate,service is not great.The location is superb,near big shoppping centers,supermarkets.This small hotel has a little gym,big plus point!!!.

Room Tip: All standard rooms are the same,mostly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This was the first time for me and for my friends here in istanbul at the marmara sisli. From the time we arrived at the hotel everybody was extraordinarily welcoming and friendly. At the reception we didnt have to wait so long for our rooms. I guess since they knew that we would come to the hotel, everything was ready even the room keys! We really liked it as we were all so tired. The rooms are quite good and well equipment, service was amazing you dont have to ask for something twice when you call the reception desk. The housekeeping team was great special thanks to them for cleaning and refreshing my room everyday, folding my clothes and putting them nicely like their own clothes and goods. Turkish breakfast at the lobby was also so good! The staff at the restaurant was so kind and willing to help us about everything with a smiling face for days! Thank you Yaprak and Baris for being so nice during our stay. At night bellboy was giving service even if after the bar was closed since we always were late to be back hotel. What i'm saying is they never say NO :) i hope i can make it to visit istanbul again in the future and see those wonderful people at the marmara sisli. They also show you the 'must seen' areas in istanbul with a map which is great since we were all tourists. You will be already at the center of the city because the location is also great and easy to go everywhere by metro. Now i dont get lost next time when i visit istanbul thanks to them. When we checked out they gave us rooms to check out late which was great since we needed to take a shower and pack. They also kept our luggages for a while as we were out spending our last minutes in istanbul. Thank you guys for such a wonderful stay. It was an unforgettable experience for us and will definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitteh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I like the relaxed feeling of the hotel and have stayed here many times. I recommend the top floor(12) if you are lucky then you can see the Haga Sophia and the Blue Mosque from your room:-) The design is fantastic too for all those retro enthusiasts.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with theMarmaraHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on a business trip. Rooms are filthy, smelly, guests are loud, and do not recommend if you need peace of mind for your next day work. All I really cared for was the invoice for the amount I paid for my stay at this hotel to claim to my company. This is not only simple task but also regulatory, but the staff at the reception continuously played stupid on me, not understanding and not being helpful at all, I had to explain many times the date of my stay and my name to appear on the invoice, and still the date was wrong, it has been 10 days now still waiting for them to correct the invoice and send it back to me.. I do not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trotter105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarmaraSisli, Genel Müdür at The Marmara Sisli, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Trotter 10,

I am really sorry that we were not able to make your stay an memorable one.

I have read your comments carefully,and did investigation. I can assure you that we took necessary steps to make sure our future guests, will not face the same challanges as you did.

Thank you for your feedbacks.

We will be very happy if we would have the honor to welcome you back to The Marmara Sisli once again.

Best Regards,

Deniz Akyuz
Hotel Manager
dakyuz@themarmarahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was my third time here at The Marmara Sisli on business in the last four months. Prices are fair for Istanbul and the hotel itself was very clean.
This hotel was extremely comfortable and comes with exceptional service by staff. What a Service! Service was top rated from the moment I stepped out of the cab to enter the hotel, throughout my stay and until it was time to checkout . The hotel staffs were just wonderful - without exception. They were all highly professionals, accommodating and obliging. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
The room was all I expected and more with free WIFI and great continental breakfast with lots of selections.
I couldn't be happier with my stay! Added bonuses-- Great location, very close to big shopping mall, public transportation & Metro station, always had cabs lined up and waiting for you and tons of great dining options nearby.
I travel often to locations all over the world. This hotel is among one of my favorite places to stay. Absolutely will return and recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yilmaz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMarmaraSisli, Genel Müdür at The Marmara Sisli, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Yılmaz H,

Thank you, for your wonderfull comments about The Marmara Sısli.

Me and my team really enjoyed serving you.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to your second home.

Best Regards,

Deniz Akyuz
Hotel Manager
dakyuz@themarmarahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Divan City Istanbul
Divan City Istanbul
#434 of 1,141 in Istanbul
192 reviews
Sisli
Business Life Boutique Hotel
Business Life Boutique Hotel
#448 of 1,141 in Istanbul
54 reviews
Besiktas
Surmeli Istanbul
Surmeli Istanbul
#398 of 1,141 in Istanbul
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Veyron Hotel
Veyron Hotel
#355 of 1,141 in Istanbul
42 reviews
Sisli
Radisson Blu Hotel, Istanbul Sisli
Besiktas
Dedeman Hotel Istanbul
Dedeman Hotel Istanbul
#432 of 1,141 in Istanbul
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara Sisli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Sisli

Property: The Marmara Sisli
Address: Ortaklar Street No 30 Mecidiyekoy | SISLI, Istanbul 80290, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#183 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#227 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marmara Sisli 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marmara Sisli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marmara Sisli Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing