We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great and clean place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hatay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hatay Hotel
Ranked #523 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great and clean place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

This is a great little hotel. The management stop at nothing to make sure you are comfortable and happy. Great breakfast every morning and very central to all the top tourist sites (hagia sofia, blue mosque, galata tower, archaeological museum, etc). The bathrooms can be a little small, depending on the room you are staying, but they are functional; lots of hot water. There's free wifi, which we never had any trouble using, even up on the top floor. There's also an elevator which we had no issues with when used. It is a little pricey, 45 Euros a night, but the location and quality of the hotel are worth it.

Room Tip: There are single, double, and triple rooms available. The triple rooms are the same price as the do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MnYaDvOfMgN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    96
    34
    12
    10
See reviews for
40
73
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We spent 2 nights at the Hatay - it was supposed to be 3 but they mixed up our reservation on our arrival night and sent us to a horrible hotel a couple of doors away. When we went back to the Hatay, the next day, they were sorted out and did give us a room. The room was pretty cramped, and the bedding was a little tired (holes in it), and the internet intermittent. The breakfast was okay but was served across the street at the Antioch hotel. The best thing about the Hatay was the location which was convenient. We came back to Istanbul weeks later, at the end of our stay in Turkey and found much better accommodation, quieter, closer to the attractions for 20 euros less per night. Shop around!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suebri_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krasnodar, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

The first time I was in Istanbul, my husband - the third. I love the city and the hotel. Staff is very friendly. Room a bit cramped, but for the 6 days of our stay was our own. At the end did not want to leave. Good price. And the breakfasts are good too. Every day I gladly went to the cafe. If you want to relax in comfort, you can safely stay at this hotel!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katrin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

The location is great, very close to the tram line. The hotel staff are really nice and very helpful. It was less than a 10min walk to all the major sites and the price was extremely good. The breakfast however can be improved.

Room Tip: The top floor room was the biggest but there is noise from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgtraveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

I really hate to bash a small business, but, these 2 hotels are so poorly run, I can't believe that you can't find better for your money in Istanbul. Really pretty much **everything** was wrong with these hotels. The water, electricity went on and off. My room wasn't clean. The elevator's floors didn't map to the hotel floors. There was no room service at all while I was there. It really was a depressing place. They also wanted to put me on the 6th floor which had no elevator to it and felt like a fire trap. While I was in the lobby, people kept coming downstairs to the front desk with complaint after complaint. Stay away from the Hatay (and Antioch!!!) unless you are looking for something that is funky and more like a youth hostel (nothing against youth hostels but I'm just past the age of roughing it to that extent).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helloworldhowareyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Level Contributor
357 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 508 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

We flew to Istanbul to celebrate the New Year, Hotel Hatay was booked in advance. However, the hotel free rooms did not have and we lived in a nearby hotel Antioch. The Turks know how to deceive and convince us that Antioch is also their property, only the name of another. Number of Antioch was terrible and small. On the last night we all slept in the same alleged hotel room Hatay, where they received the number, which paid for. Breakfast at the hotel of average quality, but will not stay hungry. Tourists beware and ask them to return for their money!
Прилетели в Стамбул отмечать Новый год, отель Hatay был забронирован заранее. Однако в отеле свободных комнат не оказалось и нас поселили в соседний отель Antioch. Турки умеют обманывать и нас убедили, что Antioch это тоже их отель, только название другое. Номер в Antioch был ужасен и маленький. В последнюю ночь мы все же ночевали в заявленной комнате отеля Hatay, где получили номер, который и оплачивали. Завтраки в отеле среднего качества, но голодными не останетесь. Туристы, будьте внимательны и требуйте отдачу за свои деньги!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olegkravitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

This hotel had the kindest staff ever. They were genuinely kind and helpful.They'll help you get around the city and suggest good and affordable restaurants to eat in. But more than that, they really go out of their way to make you feel at home. When they found out it was my dad's birthday, they actually bought him a cake. This family-run hotel treat their guests like family.

The rooms too, although a bit small, are clean and cozy. They also have a generous buffet breakfast served without charge. They also offer a shuttle service for free from the airport but not to the airport. The location is pretty good too. The Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace are just a short walk away.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waterloosunset123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Galata Istanbul Hotel
Galata Istanbul Hotel
#578 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Sultanahmet
Raymound Blue Hotel
Raymound Blue Hotel
#485 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yeni Hostel
Yeni Hostel
#374 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Septimum Hotel
Septimum Hotel
#472 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#141 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Akcinar
Hotel Akcinar
#949 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatay Hotel

Property: Hatay Hotel
Address: Nobethane Cad. Serdar Sokak. No: 5/7 Sirkeci, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#68 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#226 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hatay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hatay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatay Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing