We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience at Konstantinopel apartment”
Review of Manzara Istanbul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manzara Istanbul
Ranked #31 of 1,219 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mixed experience at Konstantinopel apartment”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed in the Konstantinopel apartment for almost a week, and used Manzara's transfer service to and from Ataturk airport.

The good:
-The apartment is beautifully furnished, as seen in the photos on the website. Very spacious, high ceilings.
-Bedroom is at the back of the building, where it's quiet.
-Large bathroom, excellent water pressure in shower, never ran out of hot water.
-Air conditioner worked well to cool bedrooms. (Took the edge off the heat in the living room, but didn't really reach that far.)
-Just about everything we needed was provided: various types of towels, hand soap, dish soap, kitchen basics, a bottle of water to start us off.
-Excellent location, just around the corner from Galata tower, lots of good restaurants in the area, five minute walk to Galata bridge to reach the old city, fifteen minute walk to Taksim square. There's a decent grocery store which supplied everything we needed for breakfasts and lunches on the same street as the Manzara office, a little closer to the tower.
-Manzara staff were always friendly when we spoke with them, and the one major issue was resolved relatively quickly.
-Our transfer to the airport arrived on time and got us there quickly.

The not-so-good:
-The apartment is not in the best of condition superficially. A few water stains on the walls/ceiling; wooden floors quite old and worn; broken curtain rings. We didn't mind, but worth noting in case you would.
-We had a number of minor issues with things not working/available:
--I had inquired when we booked the apartment a few months in advance to make sure there was internet; when we arrived and I asked for the password, we were told the internet in the apartment wasn't working (and wouldn't be fixed during our stay). No compensation offered.
--The air conditioner remote was hidden away somewhere when we arrived (and the unit doesn't turn on without it). However, when we talked to the office about it, they sent someone over within a couple of hours who (after twenty minutes of searching) was able to locate it.
--The phone wasn't working, and the washing machine did not seem to turn on. Not big enough deals that we wanted to go down to the office about it and have to wait for a maintenance person, but not great either.
--Because there's only a partial enclosure on the tub, quite a bit of water inevitably ends up on the floor when you take a shower. We solved this by laying a hand towel strategically--the towel stayed wet the whole time, but at least the rest of the floor was mostly dry.
-When we booked our airport transfers, we didn't realize that there are two arrivals areas at Ataturk (Domestic and International) and the Manzara rep didn't ask which we were arriving at. When we arrived (at Domestic, because we'd already been in other parts of Turkey), no one was waiting. We guessed that they had assumed we'd be at International, and walked over there, and still had to wait a half an hour more before our driver showed up. (I'm not sure if he was there at the right time and then left for a while when we didn't show up right away, or if he was just an hour late.) So if you book a transfer, make sure to let them know which terminal you'll be arriving into.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay, but there were enough minor issues that I'm not sure I'd book with Manzara again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank melusine33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    66
    14
    14
    5
See reviews for
48
102
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I were picked up from the airport and driven to the Manzara offices -the taxi cost 70 € from Sabiha Gokcen airport, which wasn't cheap, but it was convenient, so we decided to splash out. Plus, we had to be at the offices before 7pm (closing time) in order to collect our key, and we weren't sure we'd make it if we took an airport bus.

I stayed at the Lüle atelier in the old quarter: http://www.manzara-istanbul.com/luleatelier/?lang=en

It wasn't as chic as the photos make out, but it was clean and quiet. We had a couple of problems - ants in the kitchen and no hot water on day one, but the staff were very accommodating and very friendly. The office is also an arty atelier and they had some cute things on offer - some lovely velvet bags, and in retrospect I wish I'd bought one.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UncleOswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My mother and I have enjoyed the Galipdede Manzara apartment a lot. It's in a very lively street (yes, also at night - I thought I don't have problems with sleeping at such places, but it was quite difficult to fall asleep and stay asleep), close to the reception, close to the breakfast place, close to nice shops... And the man who has the take away just next door is very kind and helped us with locking the door. And he sells delicious fresh orange juice :-).
The tours offered by Manzara are a must - you come to see places you'd never see alone or only if you'd stay for much longer. They are in small groups with very friendly guides who have a lot of knowledge about history but also about what's going on in the city right now.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sommerfugle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at the Arif apartment and thoroughly enjoyed it. The place is furnished simply but with taste, the view from the roof top terrace is magnificent and the location fantastic! Just far enough from the tourist hubbub to give you some respite but close enough to all the sites to still be practical. Having access to information through the nearby reception is a great added bonus one does not usually get when renting and apartment. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We recently rented the Ayliz Han apartment for our stay in Istanbul. The apartment had not been cleaned well (dirty floors) despite our paying a cleaning fee. We also were not allotted enough towels for our party of three and despite our requests, did not receive more. The towels we did receive were of poor quality. There was no soap in the bathrooms and the tub drain was clogged. The receptionists at Manzara Istanbul are pleasant enough and helpful to the extent that they can be. Two people in our party also left Istanbul with bedbug bites and we did note that there were bugs in the bathroom, although we cannot say with absolute certainty that the apartment had bedbugs. Note of caution to those considering this apartment - please check that it is cleaned properly and check for bedbugs in the mattresses.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfenbuttel, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

2 appartements Bosphorus , Savaorona II , 7 adults, 2 kids, 3 nights.
The view from the terrace of Bosphorus is really something ((-:, It ist worth climbing up the 109 steps - but thanks god we were healthy and in good condition - Definetly not for elderly or sick people - NO LIFT. Savorona with lift an Loggia. view also nice.The apppartments contain everything you need, but they are run down and scruffy - they used to be stylish, but the Manzara people have to do something:stains on the seats, no window shades for the bing front window- no chance to sleep in dark, wholes in the terrace seats, killled moscitos on the walls, towels with an extracharge of 8 euros : old , thin and partly torn. : RENOVATION IS OVERDUE! WE ordered mezze ( Turkish food) ist was good quality, small portions and - extremey expansive: 25 euros per person! We had some in the Kempinski istanbul, 5 Star Hotel for 16 Euro per person; excellent quality and a sufficient amount! The girsl form the reception tried their best: they listend to our complains and tried to appease us.
RESUME: 2 possibilities: Pricees down, ift nothing changes or complete renovation for the price they want

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ju3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed at Ayliz Han and besides pretty loud early morning prayers it was nice and quiet. The flat is very spacious and nicely decorated in a personalised IKEA-style (that's positively meant). The staff were very helpful, and it is in my view much better value that most Istanbul hotels of which I've experienced a few... And the free internet is fast.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPH73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#100 of 1,156 in Istanbul
469 reviews
Beyoglu
No11 Hotel & Apartments
No11 Hotel & Apartments
#29 of 1,219 in Istanbul
108 reviews
Beyoglu
MySuite Istanbul
MySuite Istanbul
#7 of 1,219 in Istanbul
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Istanbul Place Apartments
Istanbul Place Apartments
#10 of 1,219 in Istanbul
100 reviews
Sultanahmet
Topkapi Apartments
Topkapi Apartments
#63 of 1,219 in Istanbul
161 reviews
Sultanahmet
Istanbul Amedros Home
Istanbul Amedros Home
#26 of 1,219 in Istanbul
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manzara Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manzara Istanbul

Property: Manzara Istanbul
Address: Tatarbeyi Sok. No:26b | Galata, Beyoglu, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 1,219 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Manzara you find a home in the distance, for a short city break, a business trip or a stay for several weeks. Whether you travel as a single, couple, family or group, Manzara Istanbul offers apartments in different sizes and price ranges. You may get to know the city with us. Our expert guides will show you the most unexpected corners in Istanbul and will leave you amazed. If you want to combine your trip with a party or planning a business event, we can offer you a individual concept and an extraordinary space. Get ready for Istanbul and enjoy the personal service of MANZARA. The name says it all: MANZARA is the Turkish term for view, sight and insight. Founded by Erdogan Altindis MANZARA Istanbul is an inter-cultural project that is developing constantly. As a Turk and a German, as architect and painter, he is experienced in crossing borders and he works with dedication in order to bring together people who are interested in culture in one of the most exciting cities in the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manzara Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Manzara Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing