We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch!”

Sultanahmet Fish House
Ranked #30 of 13,538 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Calosso, Italy
Level Contributor
77 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We came here after reading the tripadvisor reviews, It's true that this is a great place to eat. We had a spectacular seabass baked in salt and then flambe'd at the table, Service was relaxed but precise.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,057
    367
    101
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Bad service, unlike anywhere else in Istanbul. House wine undrinkable and although fish was edible, we decided not to stay, even for coffee, as the atmosphere was unpleasant. We should have looked at previous reviews and taken note.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne56Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
289 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our dinner”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Met friends for dinner and decided to have only appetizers and very good house white wine. We enjoyed every morsel. We had five appetizers for four people. It was more than enough for us.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly Fish - Baked Sea Bass”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Heard about this restaurant from friends and they were right - it was fantastic!! This is by far the freshest fish that we have ever eaten. The owner Octan and staff are very are warm and friendly, accommodating and professional. Delicious local wine and extensive menu. Returning tonight for Blue Fish and Lamb Chops. Draws very interesting clientele, both local and tourist, we were fortunate to be seated next to couples from the Netherlands and Russia. The experience of dining here will make you want to return for another great meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tea650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Seafood in Istanbul”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

This is by far the best seafood i have ever had. Spectacular service the food is amazing and words cant express the taste and freshness of the fish. I would like to thank Mr. Octan for a wonderful meal and a memorable experiance. I would highly recomend this seafood house. If you want the best seafood in town this is the place to visit

Helpful?
Thank Waelabboud
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Sultanahmet Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Sultanahmet Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing