We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”

Sultanahmet Fish House
Ranked #28 of 13,716 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

What a delicious meal. We shared the Fish House House Special, a baked casserole of fish and seafood. It was the best meal I have had in Istanbul so far, possibly in Turkey. The food at every table looked excellent as well. The owner and wait staff were extremely friendly, in an authentic way. If you look up this restaurant don't Google the name as Google maps has it in the wrong location. Use the address or ask someone. It is not far from the market. Highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leber12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,071
    371
    101
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fish to Die for”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had a evening meal at this restaurant. We selected them as we wanted fish and not the usual Turkish meals. The fish salad was excellent and could have been a meal on its own. We had fish salad at other restaurants and were very disappointed. The Sultanahmet Fish House makes it difficult for other restaurants to come up to their standard. Our main course of bream and bass were also just as good. Hats off to them

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nadeen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic All Round Experience”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

After a warm welcome on arrival we were pleased to be given a table located at the front of the restaurant overlooking the street. Service was prompt, polite and efficient. We ordered a Calamari starter to share and the now highly accoladed Salt Cooked Sea Bass for our main. Both were outstanding, but the Sea Bass was unbelievable - it was cooked to perfection, served with a Rocket Salad, Baked Potato and a Garlic / Herb dressing which complemented the Fish perfectly. There was easily enough fish to serve three hungry diners! The dishes served to fellow diners whilst we ate all looked equally appetising. There is a lot of choice in the Sultanahmet district when it comes to restaurants, the Fish House has got to be one of best - give it a go!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edster135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best meal/experience in Sultanahmet”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The food was fantastic, the atmosphere was warm and welcoming, and the service was out of this world. In such an overly touristy area suffering from aggressive salesmen and hucksters, the staff was a welcome change. After my husband apologized for making a mess of the table, the busboy said "this is your home." Classic and so well received! We loved it! Reasonable prices and excellent food!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJStoian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Recommended by our hotel
Had sole and sea bass that was terrific
Service great
Saw salted seabass and it was a shpw

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Satchelretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sultanahmet Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Sultanahmet Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing