We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A strange hotel!”
Review of Anadolu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anadolu Hotel
Ranked #365 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A strange hotel!”
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We spent six nights in this hotel and the first impression was good : the hotel was quiet and clean and the staff helpful. The following days we changed our mind. The staff continued to be nice, but we have to clean the room ourselves and we were lucky to have some noisy neighbours. The penultimate day someone used our bathroom to take a shower, used our (personal) towel to wipe the floor and forgot his pills on the sink. Very strange! Obviously the staff seemed very surprised.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elachristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    84
    39
    7
    2
See reviews for
50
74
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

I searched on the internet two weeks before leaving to find my accommodation in a crowded Istanbul, close to main tourist attractions of the city (with two children (twins) for four years, does not allow me to cut the city in two to visit a tourist attraction. I tried to select hotels located in the Sultanahmet district (where the main tourist attractions are located) and this is how I got the key to key to select Anadolu Hotel Istanbul.'s there, to my surprise, I met people very The friendly, Costel Roman waiter - friendly and smiling all the time and Mrs. Vail, chef extremely hospitable people, we have attached very quickly and children. I want to emphasize that better than a kebab prepared by Ms Vali I have not eaten in Istanbul (not even the Galata bridge - bistro famous for its traditional food), prices for a meal of two adults and two children ranges from 15's and 25's, depending on what and how to order (soup, kebabs , chicken stew with children, dessert (a huge plate filled with seasonal fruit), 1-3 beers and mineral water, Turkish coffee is on the house) ... and this is just one example. Rooms that I was dealt a triple, impeccably clean but simply furnished, with television - Turkish programs, immaculate bathroom, fitted ok. On its own car park - I have assured parking in front of the hotel (have 5 seats), if You can park in Otoparc occupied (it is near the hotel). What little time I have spent in this hotel (rest of the time I visited sights) was superb ..... these people behaved flawlessly with us, we all consideration for them.
You can tell distances from Anadolu Hotel, to the nearest tourist attractions:
- Basilica Cistern - 200 m
- Hagia Sophia - 350 m
- Blue Mosque - 500 m
- Topkapi Palace - 400 m
- Grand Bazaar - 750 m
- Spice Bazaar - 600 m
- Orthodox Patriarchate - 3 km (you can go by tram)
- Payment Dolmabachce - 3 Km (you can go by tram)
- Galata Tower - approx. 2 Km (you can go by tram)
My family will gladly recommend Anadolu Hotel Istanbul.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucian_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2010

We stayed there for 2 nights and then moved to a much better hotel. Nothing wrong with this budget hotel but you get exactly what you paid for i.e. a very basic hotel. It is right arounf the corner from all Istanbul main attractions. Free WiFi and free basic breakfast. Again, if you look for a cheap place with a clean bed and hot shower, Anadolu is right for you.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ofst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

I stayed here for a few days and the hotel is in an area I am familiar with. The hotel is a good base and I even ate here one night - good value and a nice meal. Booking directly and in Turkish Lira I got a good price, but I have subsequently tried to stay here and the rates vary dramatically. I think it depends who is on the email computer when your enquiry arrives. I've had some quotes that were 10 or 20 Euros more than you would expect to pay. This is a cheap gaff, expect the odd leak under the sink and maybe a cigarette burn or two in the table cloths. It's clean though and the location is great. If they got a handle on the website and bookings then this place would be okay. However, checking today they are asking 90 Euro a room via their online booking system and that is just a dream world. If you pay 40 Euro or under then I think it's a good deal. Any more than that and you may as well go up the road to one of the better known places.

Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank intentionally_blank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Given the price I am pretty sure this can't be beaten for value and location. The rooms are quite small, but sufficient and the on-suite is a decent size. We were given a choice of rooms, either with a view or somewhere quieter at the back. The staff are friendly and efficient and happy to help you find out any information you need or find you cheaper options to get around. Breakfast is continental cold-cuts bread, cheese, meat, olives, feta, boiled eggs and a choice of hots and cold drinks. In the evenings you can have your meal here as they offers various kebabs, fresh fish, meza etc... all pretty reasonable and quite a few people did eat in eat night so there was a friendly atmosphere though-out.
For location it is only about 300-400 meters from the entrance to the underground cisterns, then another few hundred to the Hagia Sophia. On the corner and along all the side roads are plenty of other great restaurants to eat at as well as some local shops for basics like water. Go down the hill from the hotel and you are at the park that leads up to Topkapi grounds. The tram line runs near by, but not close enough to be heard. As it's in a side street, most noise is pretty minimal.
Anyway, we had a great time and really can't fault with for value, location and service. We will be going back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elevenit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Was happy to what I thought was a good deal on a booking website. Arrived directly from the airport around midnight to find that I was actually going to be staying at another hotel-even though I complained loudly- the andolu staff did not seem to care but it was late and I could not bear the thought of finding a new hotel. A young boy led me down a dark alley to a terrible hotel and I was forced to pay before even looking at the room which ended up being disgusting and uncomfortable with a shower nozzle over the toilet. Do not trust andolu hotel- if you think you are going to get a good deal then you will be scammed. The staff is unscrupulous.
anadolu hotel review anadolu hotel review otelanadolu hotel review anadolu hotel review otelanadolu hotel review anadolu hotel review otelanadolu hotel review anadolu hotel review otelanadolu hotel review anadolu hotel review otelanadolu hotel review anadolu hotel review otelanadolu hotel review anadolu hotel review otelanadolu hotel review anadolu hotel review otelanadolu hotel review anadolu hotel review otelanadolu hotel review anadolu hotel review otelanadolu hotel review anadolu hotel review otelanadolu hotel review anadolu hotel review otel

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytraveller2272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Star Holiday Hotel
Star Holiday Hotel
#251 of 1,149 in Istanbul
181 reviews
Sultanahmet
Turvan Hotel
Turvan Hotel
#361 of 1,149 in Istanbul
206 reviews
Sultanahmet
Meddusa Hotel
Meddusa Hotel
#513 of 1,149 in Istanbul
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#563 of 1,149 in Istanbul
102 reviews
Sultanahmet
YenI Hotel
YenI Hotel
#366 of 1,149 in Istanbul
119 reviews
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#213 of 1,149 in Istanbul
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anadolu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anadolu Hotel

Property: Anadolu Hotel
Address: Yerebatan Cad. Salkim Sogut Sok. No:3 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #365 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Anadolu Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ANADOLU HOTELPresenting impressive lodging and friendly services, The Anadolu Hotel is an ideal place to stay for both leisure as well as business travellers. All the rooms are comfortably arranged and features an array of facilities to make you feel at home.RestaurantYou can start your day with the delicious breakfast and later on enjoy scrumptious sea food along with a desired drink at the onsite Byzantine Bar and Restaurant. You can also choose to taste the Turkish cuisine served at the Terrace Bar or the Roof Bar and Restaurant, which also offers super Bosphorus views.GeneralGuests on business trip can make use of the business centre and the conference room, for their business activities. You can just venture out and explore the attractions of the city, at leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Anadolu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing