We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location with the friendliest of staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anadolu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anadolu Hotel
Ranked #351 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location with the friendliest of staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel is literally less than a 5 minute walk to the cistern and Aya Sophia. We were able to walk to all major attractions easily and also were near the tram system.
The room was clean and roomy especially as there were only 2 of us and our room had 2 single and 1 double bed. We were on the third level which meant we had a shared balcony which was large and had great views of the city and water.
The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Would highly recommend this place especially if only staying in Istanbul for a couple of days.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kavlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    83
    38
    7
    2
See reviews for
50
74
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Strangely the address for this indicates it is in Fatih. I can only assume that it is just the other side of a line on the map because for all purposes this place is slap in the heart of Sultanahmet district. In the morning (before there are foot-and-vehicular traffic) I was able to walk to the Blue Mosque in five minutes. The Hagia Sofiah is four minutes walk and the Basilica Cistern is three minutes away. It is an older building but is kept very clean. I recall clearly that our towels smelled like angels. The staff are as nice-as-pie. The chef is a real character. He seems to be there all the time so I assume he' is an owner or part-owner or something. He runs the small restaurant that is attached. We only ate lunch there one time and all I had was a sandwich but was very nice. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigby42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byangum
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

we were advised from an acquaintance in australia that the anadolu hotel was good value for budget travellers as ourselves. our email correspondence prior to travel was with mahmut. he was so obliging and helpful via email and when we got to meet him in person he was even more impressive with his desire to make one feel welcome and at home. our rooms ( as we stayed 2 times) were excellent- tidy, clean and comfortable despite being basic. the views from the room over sultanahmet and the iman's call to prayer at 5am at the nearby mosque were culturally enriching. breakfast was included in our rate and it was very good and of plenty. we actually stayed last may, 2012. regards chris and jane

Room Tip: rooms at front and on the upper floors are better. there are no lifts. however, mahmut lugged up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

we are led by a turk to this hotel but we are sort of tired to find other place. it seems that the rate is much higher than the internet rate but we guess that it is the commission for the person who brought us there. just be careful with the locals as there are many con man and woman unlike turks in antalya whom are very friendly and helpful, aisyah and mehmet kudos to you two. however, it turns out that this hotel is a good base to scour istanbul sultanahmet. it is near the blue mosque, hagia sofia and topkapi museum. grand bazaar is about 20 minutes walk from the hotel. breakfast is okay, typical turkish dishes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shane90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

A welcoming and friendly staff is always great and they must have high praise from us ... it was always nice to be greeted by them. The hotel location is convenient for the major attractions and is located in a nice street .. But the rooms need to be gone through for defects ... We had booked two single rooms ... in one room the window could only be opened 10 cm and therefore no opportunity for ventilation and there was virtually no daylight into the room ... toilet ran constantly with an annoying sound, shower head could not be hanged because of a broken part ... In both rooms there were wardrobes, but you could not hang clothes because hooks were broken, and on one shelf for clothes lay quilts / blankets, so it was quite difficult to pack your suitcase! It may be small things ... on the other hand, it is also small items that can easily and quickly be taken care of and provide a little more comfort for guests ....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

The wonderful city of Istanbul and the quiet, relaxed hotel Anadolu.
We have travelled to Turkey approx 15 times now and were impressed with the following.
We were made welcome at the hotel and our initial questions of where to change cash were answered.
We were left alone and not pressurised into eating / drinking within the hotel - for us the experience was about visiting the many historical sites in Istanbul.
We were left alone to come and go as we please and our privacy was respected.
The breakfast was always fresh and not rushed in any way.
The room was basic but at 50 Euro per night per room for B&B for 2 / £22-50 per person per night for B&B, centrally located in a large city is very good value.
In summary we go on holiday to see the location and not get preoccupied with amenties in a hotel or pick faults with minor issues.
We would you rather spend our money on enjoying the culture than having access to a spa / swimming pool.
Cheers.
Andy.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman , Jordan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

the hotel location is so perfect, its near the historical landmarks in Istanbul, amazing night window view, overlooking at Aya sophia ... staff are realy so kind and very helpful as well.. and one of best things the hotel is so clean.. i kept the hotel card so when i get back again will give it directly to the taxi..I recommend it for all tourists.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lailabino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Hotel Avcilar
#582 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#187 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yeni Hostel
Yeni Hostel
#364 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyazıt
Hotel Gedik Pasa Konagi
Hotel Gedik Pasa Konagi
#852 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#916 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Sultanahmet
Serenity Hotel Istanbul
Serenity Hotel Istanbul
#888 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anadolu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anadolu Hotel

Property: Anadolu Hotel
Address: Yerebatan Cad. Salkim Sogut Sok. No:3 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Anadolu Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ANADOLU HOTELPresenting impressive lodging and friendly services, The Anadolu Hotel is an ideal place to stay for both leisure as well as business travellers. All the rooms are comfortably arranged and features an array of facilities to make you feel at home.RestaurantYou can start your day with the delicious breakfast and later on enjoy scrumptious sea food along with a desired drink at the onsite Byzantine Bar and Restaurant. You can also choose to taste the Turkish cuisine served at the Terrace Bar or the Roof Bar and Restaurant, which also offers super Bosphorus views.GeneralGuests on business trip can make use of the business centre and the conference room, for their business activities. You can just venture out and explore the attractions of the city, at leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Anadolu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing