We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotels in my experience - clean, cozy and great staff!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sultan Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sultan Hostel
Ranked #17 of 1,175 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“One of the best hotels in my experience - clean, cozy and great staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2009

I stayed in Sultan's hostel during my visit to Istanbul last month and it was definitely one of the best hostels I cam across during my stay in Turkey. The location is brilliant - a stone's throw away from not only the tram stn. but also the major sightseeing highlights (Topkapi, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Hoppodrome, Byzantine Cistern). The road in front is peppered with nice restaurants and bars. The rooms were well heated and clean and the best of all - the bathrooms were sparkling!

The first day we got a pretty small room but when we requested a change they gave us something nice with a sea view with absolutely no fuss! On our last day in Turkey, when we were back in Istanbul and had half a day to kill before our flight - they even let us keep their luggage with them even though we were not staying there anymore. The guys at the hostel were really sweet and friendly and I would love to go back and stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muniya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    155
    47
    18
    9
See reviews for
15
58
116
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

I have stayed in plenty of hostels over the years all over the world and the Sultan Hostel is one of my favorites. The location is fantastic; you could not ask for better. It's just a five minute walk from the Topkopi Palace, Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. The street is charming during the day and evening, with plenty of decent restaurants and nargile joints. Free internet and wireless! I had booked a six-person, mixed gender dorm. I asked if they had any all female dorms. They said they had one available that night, but the next night it was booked out. So I took the all-female one that night and when I asked the next day if they needed me to move, they told me not to worry about it and let me stay in the all female dorm. The dorm had its own bathroom. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great. They had omelets or greek yogurt with muesli and honey. The bunk beds in the dorm were surprisingly comfortable. It is a hostel, not a five star hotel, but for a hostel, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swansigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

NIce place - cleanliness up to standards for a hostel. Maybe rooms had to be better ventilated but it's not a great inconvenience.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iceto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

I booked through HI. Upon arrival we were given our room keys. The room was a twin with no fan. I returned to the desk with my booking reference and explained that I had booked a double room. To which the response was "You can push the beds together". I said no, I booked a double. At this point I was also under the impression that I had booked a private bathroom and asked about that, showing the receptionist my booking confirmation. "Actually there is a room like that but you can only have it for 1 night and it costs more." I accepted that I must have misunderstood when making the booking and asked for the double. The receptionist shrugged and handed me keys to a double. This room was better that the twin and had a fan. However, there was only one toilet and shower per floor serving a substantial number of guests. Not great when the room cost 44 Euro per night.

Onto breakfast. Breakfast was fine, basic choice of muesli or a Turkish breakfast of olives, egg and bread roll. The service let the hostel down at this point. I must mention that there was one redeeming gentleman working there. However, the female member of staff was rude. I have stayed in lots of hostels in many different places, I do not expect silver service and a butler but this lady actually tutted when I asked for milk for my coffee and made a gurgling, 'I begrudge this ' noise. She made a mistake with an order of 2 coffees from 2 different couples and rather than saying sorry she huffed and puffed and drew both customers a 'dirty look'. Disgusting attitude and, having spent a further 2 weeks travelling in Turkey, can not be put down to cultural differences, she was simply rude.

Redeeming features: good location for sightseeing, busy street with lots of options for food and drink, travel agents too, clean rooms although somewhat overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacT66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed at the Sultan Hostel for four nights at a cost of sixty Euros per night and found the facilities below standard and the staff's attitude poor and disorganised. When we arrived (having been asked to specify a time of arrival) our room was not ready and we were kept waiting for an hour and a half. We were then told that the room we had booked was not available and we were being transferred into another room containing uncomfortable single beds pushed together (we had booked a double). I found the staff's attitude apathetic at best and rude at worst. I too experienced the lack of hot water - but was not believed when I took my complaint to reception. The breakfast was meagre and delivered in an off- hand way. I am sorry to say that the only positive thing I can say about this hostel is its location which is close to the major sites of the city. This was my second trip to Istanbul - my advice would be keep on walking past the grotty Sultan Hostel - there are plenty of super places to stay in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annie089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

Normally I love the tips they give in the Lonely Planet but I really do not understand why LP recommands this hostel. There are so many better hostels in Istanbul. Staff was always looking grumpy and very unfriendly, (especialy the female staff) growling when you or anybody else in the queue had a question. I know they made long hours but that is no excuse. The hostel has 3 computers with free internet of which two of them did not work when I was there. Also they promise to have hot water 24/7 but they don't. Not in the evening and not in the very early morning at least when I tried to shower. I went to the reception to tell them, they just said, 'you should have hot water' without coming to the room to check or do something. Next day I complained again, my roommates did the same but still no action.
Also very bad. When booking (can only be done by internet) you have to give your credit card number and 3-digit security code number on an unprotected website. Already very bad but upon arrivel I still had to pay because the claimed they only want your credit card data in case you don't show up, cause then the money will be taken but otherwise you have to pay by cash and they will not take the credit card money. But in a strange country you cannot check your credit card bill to see if they are telling the truth (and will not take your money twice).
Only benefit are the very clean rooms and nice beds, but other hostels also have that and they do not charge 15 euro a night but only 8 or 10. Well after 3 nights I changed hostel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWitlox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

I stayed here during the middle of May 2009 and had a great time. The staff was accomodating and spoke excellent English. The front desk had no problems booking day trips and giving advice about Istanbul. The hostel also has a rooftop terrace which ranged from very quiet to very lively.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HamiltonTraveller18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#26 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Palace Hotel
Sultan Palace Hotel
#553 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,133 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#36 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,175 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Hostel

Property: Sultan Hostel
Address: Akbiyik Cad No 17, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 1,175 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sultan Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be smart, stay smart! Our mission is to provide comfortable, stylish, convenient and affordable accommodation in Istanbul at a price that can't be beat. Our location is designed with the backpacker in mind. From our 24-hour reception to security lockers , we have everything you need to enjoy your stay and feel comfortable. SULTAN HOSTEL IS THE ONLY HOSTEL WHERE YOU CAN WATCH RUGBY GAMES LIVE ON BIG SCREEN TV AND ALSO ENGLISH PREMIER LEAGUE IN ENGLISH Our hostel is also regularly health and safety checked by the local governments. If you have not satisfied with your stay for any reasons, we take your comments and suggestions seriously. We encourage you to speak to your dedicated and highly-trained staff to help us improve our hostels. We will work our hardest to make it a pleasant stay, whether one night or a month! As part of the Youth Hostel Association and the International Youth Hostel Federation. We are right in the heart of a young, international area full of shops, cafes, restaurants and bars, this YHA property buzzes with action. We are the perfect stop on your backpacker trail of Istanbul. Our rooms are with or without Bathroom and Breakfast Included. Our hostel is centrally located in Sultanahmet and is just a few minutes walk from all the major attractions. On our big screen TV.You can watch the latest movies and watch all sports activitivies including, Rugby, Premier League, Tennis, golf. Some of our facilities are; Reasonable prices, Clean comfortable rooms, 24 hour piping hot water, No curfew, Friendly, helpful English speaking staff, Great food, Relaxed Bar, Lockers for your valuables. Free internet access, wireless internet, home tether, free towels, breakfast included, travel agency, sea view terrace in summerThe Sultan Hostel is a short walk to all the main sights including, the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the Underground Cistern, the Grand Bazaar and Topkapi Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Sultan Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing