We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sultan hostel october 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sultan Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sultan Hostel
Ranked #16 of 1,191 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
“Sultan hostel october 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The only thing i can say is; if you are going to Istanbul this is a place to stay. One step form Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque and all other attractions. Great stuff, clean hostel. I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    155
    47
    18
    9
See reviews for
15
58
118
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

It was a great place to stay for a night or two. A little loud on some of the party nights when your wanting a early night. Large rooms and biggish bathrooms. It was a great location only minutes from the mosque and eye of Sofia! Would stay here again but not longer than a couple of days.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wilkwilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

My 4th visit to Istanbul was even better than the previous visits. One of my main reasons why I decided to return to Istanbul was not only because of Istanbul itself but because I felt good about the place I stayed in (Sultan Hostel). When you go on a holiday, you want to go out and have fun, so I did, but most of my fun I had on my doorsteps. Every single staff at the Sultan Hostel (Gabriela versus her husband which everyone will have the pleasure to meet) makes you feel at home. The staff graciously makes everyone happy and is there for you with a big smile on their faces. The food is excellent!!! Where the Sultan Hostel/Bar/Restaurant is located is a very trendy street with bars, restaurants and hostels, some upper class, but guess which one is always full: The Sultan Hostel/Bar/Restaurant!!!! Next year I will be there again that's for sure!!!!
The only thing negative I can say is: If you cannot sleep with noise, the 2 front bedrooms(facing the street is pretty noise, but you are drunk you'll certainly not hear a damm thing!!!! lol

Room Tip: The back room are the less noise one. Choose a room with toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SergioSandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely incredible experience! From start to finish, the busiest and best place on the strip! Awesome drinks, even better water pipes, and the best hospitality you'll experience!!
For the price you pay you easily get your money back, the breakfast is great (included in price) and the food for dinner is fantastic!
Get around it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Whereswally101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lviv, Ukraine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was a pleasure to stay in such a great place.We were in the center of everything for a reasonable price, with really good conditions and very friendly and helpfull staff. Breakfast was very good (restaurant itself is awesome), clean rooms, comfortable beds. We felt like at home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diepenbeek, Limburg, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Had a really nice stay here. The hostels location is like 5minutes walking from the Blue Mosk, Topkapi Palace, Aya Sophia and a lot of nice restaurants! You also can eat at the hostel, where you get 10 % discount as guest. We were a group of 6 girls and had a room for ourselves with bathroom, very nice and clean! The staff is soooo friendly and in the evening you can stay at your hostel and feel a bit home, it's a busy street at night with some other bars and hostels. Very friendly atmosphere in the evening !

The breakfast was alright, we had the urge to order an omelette to have enough till lunch, but that's maybe because we eat a lot :)

If I ever come back to Istanbul (what I surely want to), I'd stay here again !

Room Tip: Own bathroom was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Not only was this hostel incredibly cheap (only 11 euros a night for the dorm rooms) it was a wonderful place to stay. Friendly staff who went out of their way to be helpful and make us feel at home. The breakfast (included in the price) was great, rooms were clean and comfortable. It was in the perfect location for sight-seeing and the bar had a great atmosphere in the evenings. Free wi-fi and air conditioning in the rooms. We were sad to leave and hope that we might return one day soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#33 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Palace Hotel
Sultan Palace Hotel
#542 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,191 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Hostel

Property: Sultan Hostel
Address: Akbiyik Cad No 17, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 1,191 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sultan Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be smart, stay smart! Our mission is to provide comfortable, stylish, convenient and affordable accommodation in Istanbul at a price that can't be beat. Our location is designed with the backpacker in mind. From our 24-hour reception to security lockers , we have everything you need to enjoy your stay and feel comfortable. SULTAN HOSTEL IS THE ONLY HOSTEL WHERE YOU CAN WATCH RUGBY GAMES LIVE ON BIG SCREEN TV AND ALSO ENGLISH PREMIER LEAGUE IN ENGLISH Our hostel is also regularly health and safety checked by the local governments. If you have not satisfied with your stay for any reasons, we take your comments and suggestions seriously. We encourage you to speak to your dedicated and highly-trained staff to help us improve our hostels. We will work our hardest to make it a pleasant stay, whether one night or a month! As part of the Youth Hostel Association and the International Youth Hostel Federation. We are right in the heart of a young, international area full of shops, cafes, restaurants and bars, this YHA property buzzes with action. We are the perfect stop on your backpacker trail of Istanbul. Our rooms are with or without Bathroom and Breakfast Included. Our hostel is centrally located in Sultanahmet and is just a few minutes walk from all the major attractions. On our big screen TV.You can watch the latest movies and watch all sports activitivies including, Rugby, Premier League, Tennis, golf. Some of our facilities are; Reasonable prices, Clean comfortable rooms, 24 hour piping hot water, No curfew, Friendly, helpful English speaking staff, Great food, Relaxed Bar, Lockers for your valuables. Free internet access, wireless internet, home tether, free towels, breakfast included, travel agency, sea view terrace in summerThe Sultan Hostel is a short walk to all the main sights including, the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the Underground Cistern, the Grand Bazaar and Topkapi Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sultan Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing