We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sultan is my Number1”
Review of Sultan Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sultan Hostel
Ranked #17 of 1,200 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Sultan is my Number1”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I first visited Sultan Hostel over 10 years ago and have since returned many many times, and so thought I'd write a review to say thanks. It is great to see the modernisation of the rooms.

I was back earlier this year and promised to write a review....

Location is great for sultan ahmet and visiting the local sites.... even though now i know my way around istanbul, I still stay in the same place.

Security - I love the fact i can leave my luggage when checking in / out.

cafe - nice cafe to meet people

breakfast - great stuff. it sets me up for a whole day of walking :-)

Quality of sleep - when I first stayed, the place was not as popular with bars and cafes...recently, (during peak season) it was quite busy outside, which provided a nice surrounding.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarkan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sultanhostel, Owner at Sultan Hostel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hi,
I would like thank you for sharing your good thoughts about our hostel and hoping to see you one other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    156
    47
    18
    9
See reviews for
15
58
119
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hostel was like feeling at home!
Cheap, clean, close to sultanahmed and in the best area! Everyone came from the neighbour hostels to dinner here so it means something. In addition in the evening you can really enjoy with the other guests in the comfortable common places.
The best of it Gabriele, the kind wairtress that will help you with everything!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daviden2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sultanhostel, Owner at Sultan Hostel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for sharing your good thoughts aabout our hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Had a great stay at sultan hostel, it's very clean, in the perfect location and great value for money! Staff are all helpful and friendly and the restaurant/bar area is always lively at night. The location is very close to all the attractions of old town (blue mosque etc) and close to public transport.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiaPalch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just the right place if you want to meet people and make friends!
Perfect location, really friendly staff, helpful and kind, very nice atmosphere, possibility to have lunch and dinner or just a drink to chat and meet people, transport to the airport offered...
Definitely coming back! Thank you for everything, Gabriela :)
Görüşürüz y hasta la próxima!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MenekseBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sultanhostel, Owner at Sultan Hostel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hi,
We as Sultan Hostel team like to hhank you for sharing your good thoughts about our hostel and hoping to see you one other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have now stayed here twice and I love the place. The staff are amazing!! Very helpful and friendly. The hostel is in a great location and is walking distance from most of the major sights. The rooms and bathrooms are really clean. They have a great bar and the food is amazing and well priced. I would recommend this to anyone who visit Istanbul. I can't see this being the last time I will stay here. Just brilliant!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Jaz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Sultan ıs a great hostel ın a great locatıon of Istanbul - Sultanahmet. It ıs a 5 mınute walk from both the Blue Mosque and Hagıa Sophıa, and also 2 tram stops from Grand Bazaar. The Golden Horn and Bosphorus and Spıce Bazaar are also a few tram stops ın the other dırectıon. The hostel ıtself was great, great vıbe and frıendly staff especıally Erhan, he made the stay. Sultanahmet ıs very busy at nıght wıth people and traffıc so brıng earplugs for sleepıng, the locals stay out very late. Hostel was great value and ıncluded breakfast. Sheesha ıs also avaılable!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roamingkangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sultanhostel, Owner at Sultan Hostel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hi,
We as Sultan Hostel team like to hhank you for sharing your good thoughts about our hostel and hoping to see you one other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The localization of the hostel couldn't be better, really close to Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia.
Clean rooms and bathrooms.
At the restaurant, also the food is really good and cheap.
The included breakfast, which has bread, corn flakes, tomatoes, cucumber and more, is also good.
By night, it gets really cheerful, with good music playing.
The best part of it was the staff, not only from the hostel but also from bar and restaurant. They were really kind, always helpful and nice.
We had a really good time there, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bibaeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sultanhostel, Owner at Sultan Hostel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hi,
We as Sultan Hostel team like to hhank you for sharing your good thoughts about our hostel and hoping to see you one other time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#623 of 1,141 in Istanbul
609 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,725 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,200 in Istanbul
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Antique Hostel - Guest House
Antique Hostel - Guest House
#23 of 1,200 in Istanbul
343 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,200 in Istanbul
732 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#14 of 1,200 in Istanbul
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Hostel

Property: Sultan Hostel
Address: Akbiyik Cad No 17, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 1,200 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sultan Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be smart, stay smart! Our mission is to provide comfortable, stylish, convenient and affordable accommodation in Istanbul at a price that can't be beat. Our location is designed with the backpacker in mind. From our 24-hour reception to security lockers , we have everything you need to enjoy your stay and feel comfortable. SULTAN HOSTEL IS THE ONLY HOSTEL WHERE YOU CAN WATCH RUGBY GAMES LIVE ON BIG SCREEN TV AND ALSO ENGLISH PREMIER LEAGUE IN ENGLISH Our hostel is also regularly health and safety checked by the local governments. If you have not satisfied with your stay for any reasons, we take your comments and suggestions seriously. We encourage you to speak to your dedicated and highly-trained staff to help us improve our hostels. We will work our hardest to make it a pleasant stay, whether one night or a month! As part of the Youth Hostel Association and the International Youth Hostel Federation. We are right in the heart of a young, international area full of shops, cafes, restaurants and bars, this YHA property buzzes with action. We are the perfect stop on your backpacker trail of Istanbul. Our rooms are with or without Bathroom and Breakfast Included. Our hostel is centrally located in Sultanahmet and is just a few minutes walk from all the major attractions. On our big screen TV.You can watch the latest movies and watch all sports activitivies including, Rugby, Premier League, Tennis, golf. Some of our facilities are; Reasonable prices, Clean comfortable rooms, 24 hour piping hot water, No curfew, Friendly, helpful English speaking staff, Great food, Relaxed Bar, Lockers for your valuables. Free internet access, wireless internet, home tether, free towels, breakfast included, travel agency, sea view terrace in summerThe Sultan Hostel is a short walk to all the main sights including, the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the Underground Cistern, the Grand Bazaar and Topkapi Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sultan Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing