We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Fun, Cheap, Great Location for couples and solo travellers!”
Review of Sultan Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sultan Hostel
Ranked #12 of 1,257 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hostel- stayed for one night with my boyfriend, we are backpackers age 20-24. Reception staff helpful and speak good english, it is in a great location full of tourists bars restaurants shisha etc. its a lively area well into the early hours of the morning.

The directions given are not best to follow as you will get lost, but oncs found it is within walking distance to all major sights. Pack light as its about a twenty minute walk from the tram and uphill.

Rooms and linen were clean with large showers and many toilets plus free wifi and also an internet room with free internet for guests.

Great spot and reception staff are helpful- organised a shuttle bus for us to the airport and gave honest advice. Only gave four stars due to not being able to have accuare directions to the hostel and it is confusing.

Well recommeded. Thank you staff at Sultan! Happy travels.

Thank MadelynRF
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 551 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed here in a group of 5 females and we always felt safe and had an amazing time!!! In a good location/close to the tram. The staff was awesome and the atmosphere is super friendly. At night it turns into a wild time that will not disappoint you! The room was clean as where the bathrooms. The street can be a little noisy at night, but this place makes up for it. STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ihh423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We liked the hostel very much, it was clean and comfortable. It has a perfect location, very good breakfast and the staff is really friendly. Specially Gabriela, from Ecuador, who works in the bar and is really cute and helpful.
Enjoy the chef´s menu, it´s really great!
Greetings from Uruguay, Alice y Alejandra

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I've stayed in Hostels before and this one met my expectations. The rooms were clean and quiet. Breakfast was certainly adequete. The location is super and the nightlife right outside the front door is great fun. The dorm room is a bit tight and doesn't provide any real privacy. I was very disappointed that the roof top terrace is closed for good. I never could get the Internet up and there wasn't any offer to help me out either. The staff was ok friendly. Oh, and don't forget to ask for a towel...they don't offer you one but there are plenty for the asking.

Room Tip: The coed dorm room doesn't offer any privacy and was crowded with everyone's luggage on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWAinVAUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great location on a little street full of other hotels/ hostels and bars/ restaurants resulting in a full of life and full of people atmosphere for entire day, especially in the evenings. Really good, don;t necessarily have to go to Beyoglu to go out - you can have fun over here as well. Sat night we ended up dancing on a street as there was a wedding party.
Hostel itself is OK, nothing fancy, but OK with helpful staff, especially the girl in a restaurant who comes from Ecuador! Muy simpatica, habalmos espanol mucho pero no lo se tu nome!!! Cuidate! Gracias! Dominik de Polona.

Room Tip: We had a bunk bed 2 person room - the bed was very shaky, one person moves around and the other one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Perfect location, friendly staff, good clean room and reasonable price. One of the staff even loaned us his bus pass! If I have to pick on anything it would be the ensuite, a little cramped but given all the positives this was over looked in no time.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank FreeSpirit12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed in Sultan Hostel for a week . First advantage is a great location - hostel is close to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. The room (dorm) was simple, but nice and very clean. Similarly, a bathroom and a toilet. The hostel is cheap, safe and surprisingly quiet considering the busy street it's on and night parties. Service is friendly and helpful, and is doing a great job. The price includes a delicious breakfast. The rooms have no lockers, but you can leave your valuables in free lockers at the reception. The hostel has wi-fi signal, but it sometimes get lost. All in all, we highly recommend it.

Gracias y un saludo - Sulejman y chicas.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agata W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#832 of 1,171 in Istanbul
627 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#465 of 1,171 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Palace Hotel
Sultan Palace Hotel
#526 of 1,171 in Istanbul
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,171 in Istanbul
1,823 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antique Hostel - Guest House
Antique Hostel - Guest House
#19 of 1,257 in Istanbul
353 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#2 of 1,257 in Istanbul
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Hostel

Address: Akbiyik Cad No 17, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,257 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $13 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sultan Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be smart, stay smart! Our mission is to provide comfortable, stylish, convenient and affordable accommodation in Istanbul at a price that can't be beat. Our location is designed with the backpacker in mind. From our 24-hour reception to security lockers , we have everything you need to enjoy your stay and feel comfortable. SULTAN HOSTEL IS THE ONLY HOSTEL WHERE YOU CAN WATCH RUGBY GAMES LIVE ON BIG SCREEN TV AND ALSO ENGLISH PREMIER LEAGUE IN ENGLISH Our hostel is also regularly health and safety checked by the local governments. If you have not satisfied with your stay for any reasons, we take your comments and suggestions seriously. We encourage you to speak to your dedicated and highly-trained staff to help us improve our hostels. We will work our hardest to make it a pleasant stay, whether one night or a month! As part of the Youth Hostel Association and the International Youth Hostel Federation. We are right in the heart of a young, international area full of shops, cafes, restaurants and bars, this YHA property buzzes with action. We are the perfect stop on your backpacker trail of Istanbul. Our rooms are with or without Bathroom and Breakfast Included. Our hostel is centrally located in Sultanahmet and is just a few minutes walk from all the major attractions. On our big screen TV.You can watch the latest movies and watch all sports activitivies including, Rugby, Premier League, Tennis, golf. Some of our facilities are; Reasonable prices, Clean comfortable rooms, 24 hour piping hot water, No curfew, Friendly, helpful English speaking staff, Great food, Relaxed Bar, Lockers for your valuables. Free internet access, wireless internet, home tether, free towels, breakfast included, travel agency, sea view terrace in summerThe Sultan Hostel is a short walk to all the main sights including, the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the Underground Cistern, the Grand Bazaar and Topkapi Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sultan Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing