We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More bar than Hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sultan Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sultan Hostel
Ranked #16 of 1,191 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cleator, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“More bar than Hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Thıs place is great for location, staff are really cool and helpful, its clean and tidy but we felt it lacked a few things to be a really good hostel, there was no kitchen facilities and the common area was the bar so you couldn't drink your own alcohol, and the bar prices weren't the cheapest. The beds were so loud, any movement made on the top bunk squeaked so much.There are good shower and toilet facilities and it is a really good place to meet people, overall an ok hostel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazzer113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    155
    47
    18
    9
See reviews for
15
58
118
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

I have just arrived home from the my trip in Turkey and I have to say the Sultan is the best hostel I have stayed in after many travelling trips. It has everything you need, it's affordable, clean and the staff are so friendly and helpful. The bar is so much fun, I met loads of travellers and had great nights drinking beer towers and smoking sheesha. I couldnt recommend it more. This is the place to be whilst staying in Turkey.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JtWaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed at Sultan Hostel for about a week back in January. For the location you absolutely cannot beat the price (we paid 9 USD) and it is definitely good value for the money; fairly clean, all the travel amenities you might need, a pretty good included Turkish style breakfast, and friendly enough staff.

We stayed our first night in a private room and the remainder of our stay in a 26 person dorm (but were upgraded to a 6 person dorm at the same rate because it was the low season apparently) and both were fine for the price. I almost preferred the dorm to the private room because there was a bit more space but overall everything was more than pleasant. I can see there being maybe a slight issue with bathroom availability in the busier months (from what I could make out there was only one on my floor) but that is only speculation since it was fine while I was there. The common areas were great as well- nice lounge area on the bottom floor with hookah and drinks, and the roof area looked like it would be amazing during the summer (I was there during the blizzard so didn't get to enjoy this, unfortunately!).

By all accounts it was a great value but my favorite part was the location. It is literally just a few blocks from the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sophia, the Basilica Cistern, Topkapi Palace, and the tram line. Fairly easy walk to the waterfront as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellaSicilia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Very much what you would hope and expect from a hostel this type and price range. Everything is perfectly fine but nothing extra really. The staff are all super nice, the beds are good and the facilities are ok. Since the room (twin room) was pretty small and had pretty much no where to hang anything, luggage and clothing storage was rather difficult. Another inconvenience was how there was plenty of door slamming going on, and considering several different travel parties used the rooms during our stay, I'd say the doors probably invite slamming (maybe hard to close?). Either way, we mentioned this once to the reception when some German teenagers were combining slamming with loud shouting in German, and they were immediately delt with by the staff, so all in all not a problem.

If you are looking for hotel standards, this is obviously not for you, but Sultan is pretty much a perfect hostel by our standards. :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnscott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Fairly good price place to stay if you want to stay in a 20 or 26 bed dorm. Was there just before Anzac day and it was definitely the most happening backpackers!! Awesome crowd (Kiwis and Aussies) and friendly staff. Was €10 on hostelbookers but sign says €11 when arrived here for the big dorms.
Drinks are fairly priced for 500ml Efes (local beer) 6 or 7 liras. Really depends on who serves you how much you pay which sucks.
Overall a good experience and I came back to stay here after my trip around Turkey so must be ok!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomCho88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside Heights, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

stayed 3 nights all up at the sultan. 1 night before our anzac tour and 2 nights when we got back. we had a 6 bed dorm for our group and all the beds were clean and comfortable. the staff are friendly and helpful and make hanging out in the bar area a great time.
would definitely stay here when i come back to turkey

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BezAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed in the dorm (Harem) room at Sultan Hostel in April 2012 for 3 nights. When we arrived we were given plenty of information on things to see and do in Istanbul. The breakfast was plentiful and all staff very friendly and kind. The dorm room had 26 beds, of which most were full during our stay. Still, we managed a decent sleep and the room was kept tidy. The hostel has a bar and eaterie out the front and plays loud music at night but we could hardly hear it in the dorm room. The bathrooms were very basic but always clean. The mattresses were fairly uncomfortable though and the springs could be easily felt underneath. The floor was damaged in some areas. But for the price we paid we couldn't have asked for more. A great spot for backpackers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#33 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Palace Hotel
Sultan Palace Hotel
#542 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,191 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Hostel

Property: Sultan Hostel
Address: Akbiyik Cad No 17, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 1,191 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sultan Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be smart, stay smart! Our mission is to provide comfortable, stylish, convenient and affordable accommodation in Istanbul at a price that can't be beat. Our location is designed with the backpacker in mind. From our 24-hour reception to security lockers , we have everything you need to enjoy your stay and feel comfortable. SULTAN HOSTEL IS THE ONLY HOSTEL WHERE YOU CAN WATCH RUGBY GAMES LIVE ON BIG SCREEN TV AND ALSO ENGLISH PREMIER LEAGUE IN ENGLISH Our hostel is also regularly health and safety checked by the local governments. If you have not satisfied with your stay for any reasons, we take your comments and suggestions seriously. We encourage you to speak to your dedicated and highly-trained staff to help us improve our hostels. We will work our hardest to make it a pleasant stay, whether one night or a month! As part of the Youth Hostel Association and the International Youth Hostel Federation. We are right in the heart of a young, international area full of shops, cafes, restaurants and bars, this YHA property buzzes with action. We are the perfect stop on your backpacker trail of Istanbul. Our rooms are with or without Bathroom and Breakfast Included. Our hostel is centrally located in Sultanahmet and is just a few minutes walk from all the major attractions. On our big screen TV.You can watch the latest movies and watch all sports activitivies including, Rugby, Premier League, Tennis, golf. Some of our facilities are; Reasonable prices, Clean comfortable rooms, 24 hour piping hot water, No curfew, Friendly, helpful English speaking staff, Great food, Relaxed Bar, Lockers for your valuables. Free internet access, wireless internet, home tether, free towels, breakfast included, travel agency, sea view terrace in summerThe Sultan Hostel is a short walk to all the main sights including, the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the Underground Cistern, the Grand Bazaar and Topkapi Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sultan Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing