We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, good-value, excellent location”
Review of Sultan Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sultan Hostel
Ranked #16 of 1,202 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly, good-value, excellent location”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Really enjoyed our time here. A quick walk to all the tourist spots and the staff are great. Ear plugs could be a good idea for light sleepers as the hostel is in a street with a very active nighttime atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sultanhostel, Owner at Sultan Hostel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you for your kind worlds about our hostel. Take care and we hope to be able to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    156
    47
    18
    9
See reviews for
15
58
119
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Stayed here for two nights in a private room at the start of a Turkey tour and another night at the end of our tour.

Location is fantastic for exploring Istanbul and lots of ammenties nearby - bakery downstairs (the yummy smells here woke me up each morning!), corner stores and lots of restaurants.

I was very impressed with this hotel because it was so CLEAN!! I've honestly stayed in dirtier hotels before!

Free internet was handy, breakfast was good and dinner at hostel was good too (just don't order a burger - turkey isn't known for their burgers!).

It was noisy though - although I come to expect this from hostels. We shut the windows and that made a big difference. If you're a light sleeper though I recommend you take easr plugs!

Also had a mix up on arrival with our safe - they gave someone else our key! But luckily this was rectified quickly as it had our passports in it.

All in all staff were helpful though

Room Tip: Get a private room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec_Cassidy_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2010

I stayed for a week in summer. I booked a dorm room for 16 people through hostelworld.
When i got there i was taken to a room with 26 beds. Even better.
I met some great people , the location is perfect and its easy to get around.
I would loved to have stayed here for about two months. I'll be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 190758Eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Enjoyed my five-night stay at this conveniently located and affordable hostel. The five-bed dorm with in-room bathroom and free breakfast was 22 lira, or about $15 a night. Not bad for Istanbul, which can be rather expensive compared to the rest of Turkey.

The Sultan Hostel is situated on a touristy cobblestone street full of hotels, outdoor cafes, bars, and shops. The Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Museum of Turkish and Islamic Art, Arasta Bazaar, Mosaic Museum, and tram are just a few blocks away.

All the major sites, museums, and bazaars in the Sultanahment, Eminonu, Sirkeci, and Beyazit neighborhoods are within walking distance. The new town area, including Taksim Square and the shopping and nightlife of Istiklal Caddesi, are just a short tram ride north.

Reception staff was helpful in booking an inexpensive hamam visit and shuttle bus to the airport. The internet was shoddy was in the cafe at times but always worked well in the room. The inclusive breakfast is nothing fancy but hits the spot: hard-boiled eggs, cheese, olives, yogurt, cereal, granola, bread, butter, jam.

Sultan's restaurant and bar are fun for meeting people, smoking hookah, and kicking back a few. Backpackers from nearby hostels tended to hang out here, as some of their accommodations lacked a common area. But don't bother with the restaurant food beyond breakfast; it's mediocre and overpriced. You're better off visiting any number of street vendors for delicious kebaps, simit, gozleme, misir, kesane, and salep.

And ladies, beware: A few of the creeper dudes working the bar always seem to be on the prowl. When they're not serving up pints of beer and setting up hookahs, they won't hesitate to hit on you any chance they get. A male companion informed me that they brag about their supposed escapades with the female guests.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulzF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

If you're a backpacker and not into luxuries, like myself this place will be just fine. My room had 6 beds and it was somewhat stuffy during the night. We had to open the window and consequently it became a bit noisy. I can't say I had a great nights sleep, but when you share ur room with 5 people you can't expect much. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the internet room with 3 computers was a great extra. WE also had wireless internet for free in the rooms, so overall I enjoyed it. Maybe they should invest a little bit on cleaning the toilets more often as the bins kept overflowing.. and well, it was not a pretty sight.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oli1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2010

I stayed in a six people mixed dorm for 12 Euro (including breakfast) and was absolutely satisfied with my stay. Ok, it is a bit loud and the rooms dont have air conditioning (they have ventilators instead), but all I expect for 12 Euros/night is a bed and a roof over my head. That's what I got. The staff was friendly and helpful. For backpackers and easy going tourists, this hostel is absolutely satisfactory.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lighthouse1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Sultan Hostel was recommended to me by Backpackerstravel.net. which I was told is one of the best hostel in the Sultanahmet area. (We can reccomend you Sultan Hostel, one of the best hostels in Sultanahmet. You can check it visiting the website of it : http://www.sultanhostel.com/en/ The dorm room price is 17 Euro for per person and per night. 6 people accomodate in the room.)

The webpage"s Facilities does not talk about room Airconditioner at all. I did not check on this item because I assumed that this hostel would have room airconditioners as I had in Mexico, the US and other hostels in Europe. Well, this hostel DOES NOT HAVE AIRCONDITIONERS in any of their rooms, therefore, it made me very, very UNCOMFORTABLE as I laid on bed for my first evening. I had to get out on the street very late at night to write an email to Backpackers Travel to find me immediately another Hostel with airconditioned rooms and to get fresh air because the ground floor 6-bedroom female dormitory where I was assigned to sleep and which faces the street , only had a small floor fan, the room's two windows could not be opened because TWO sets of double decker beds blocked the windows. Imagine how hot it was inside a small bedroom of 5 women giving out smouldering warmth from our bodies with the room's door closed to prevent men and women dormers see us on bed as they paced back and forth as they pass through the hallway to go in or out of the hostel, go in to the small computer room, or go up the staircase for the 2nd and higher floors of the hostel's building. The odour inside the bedroom/dorm was very unpleasant due to the body heat that were excreted from our bodies as we laid sweating it out with just a small floor electirc fan which is in no way made us all comfortable to sleep away the evening.

It was a very unpleasant horrowing night for me as I laid sweating all night . I was fortunate that Backpackers Travel met with me the following morning where I was ushered in to a hostel where all the rooms are fully airconditioned. I was delightyed to stay at this second hostel for three nights where I left an excellent review. The room pricing of Sultan Hostel for dorm rooms are higher than the Agora Guesthouse. The two hostels are day and night apart from each other's quality of environment. Please check on the difference.

Another thing that the Sultan Hostel receptionist was convincing me to believe was that there are NO HOSTELs with airconditioners and elevators anywhere in the world, Well, this male receptionist was TOTALLY WRONG, the Hostel Cathedral behind the Basilica in the Zocalo of Mexico City has an elevator to bring in our luggages and heavy backpacks, it provides FREE BREAKFAST and DINNER, it has wide windows to allow fresh air to circulate at night making it very fresh and cool to sleep at night, the bathrooms are very clean and maintained DAILY by hostel employees.

Sultan Hostel is located on the PARTY STREET, therefore, it is very noisy at night.

There are three desktop stations installed in a small room with no windows.

Sultan Hostel MUST RENOVATE its old building. I must say that it is high time for the restructuring of the rooms, it needs a LOT OF BUILDING AND FACILITY UPGRADE.S

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ysjoesl249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#630 of 1,149 in Istanbul
611 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,202 in Istanbul
900 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#11 of 1,202 in Istanbul
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,202 in Istanbul
734 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antique Hostel - Guest House
Antique Hostel - Guest House
#22 of 1,202 in Istanbul
344 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Guesthouse
Agora Guesthouse
#2 of 1,202 in Istanbul
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Hostel

Property: Sultan Hostel
Address: Akbiyik Cad No 17, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 1,202 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sultan Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be smart, stay smart! Our mission is to provide comfortable, stylish, convenient and affordable accommodation in Istanbul at a price that can't be beat. Our location is designed with the backpacker in mind. From our 24-hour reception to security lockers , we have everything you need to enjoy your stay and feel comfortable. SULTAN HOSTEL IS THE ONLY HOSTEL WHERE YOU CAN WATCH RUGBY GAMES LIVE ON BIG SCREEN TV AND ALSO ENGLISH PREMIER LEAGUE IN ENGLISH Our hostel is also regularly health and safety checked by the local governments. If you have not satisfied with your stay for any reasons, we take your comments and suggestions seriously. We encourage you to speak to your dedicated and highly-trained staff to help us improve our hostels. We will work our hardest to make it a pleasant stay, whether one night or a month! As part of the Youth Hostel Association and the International Youth Hostel Federation. We are right in the heart of a young, international area full of shops, cafes, restaurants and bars, this YHA property buzzes with action. We are the perfect stop on your backpacker trail of Istanbul. Our rooms are with or without Bathroom and Breakfast Included. Our hostel is centrally located in Sultanahmet and is just a few minutes walk from all the major attractions. On our big screen TV.You can watch the latest movies and watch all sports activitivies including, Rugby, Premier League, Tennis, golf. Some of our facilities are; Reasonable prices, Clean comfortable rooms, 24 hour piping hot water, No curfew, Friendly, helpful English speaking staff, Great food, Relaxed Bar, Lockers for your valuables. Free internet access, wireless internet, home tether, free towels, breakfast included, travel agency, sea view terrace in summerThe Sultan Hostel is a short walk to all the main sights including, the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the Underground Cistern, the Grand Bazaar and Topkapi Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sultan Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing