We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would love to stay here again”
Review of Saruhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saruhan Hotel
Ranked #15 of 1,090 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have nothing but praise for this lovely little hotel. When we arrived frazzled and anxious at the wrong location, the receptionist called her husband to drive us to the correct location. We were so relieved. The staff welcomed us and helped us to our room, which was very nice. Everything else was excellent ... The breakfasts, the beautiful Terrace view, the staff, etc. A special plans us is the location in a quiet neighborhood with friendly and interesting shops and locals. Just a short walk and we could see all the tourist sights. But at the end of day we could walk back to this little neighborhood to shop and eat and relax. BLISS!

Room Tip: We prefer the upper level city view rooms because they're quieter and more interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gloria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 378 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here for our first days in Istanbul and it was perfect. Our plane was delayed, but they picked us up promptly. We had a city facing room on the 4th floor which was very quiet. The sea view from the terrace was terrific, and the breakfast delicious. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was immaculate. We loved the neighborhood, which is less touristy than areas further uphill toward Sultanahmet, but still very convenient to major tourist sites. We enjoyed walking through the narrow streets, eating in nearby restaurants and visiting Little Aya Sophia, which is very close. We would love to return someday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1caellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We visited Istanbul with family and stayed on the 2nd floor above reception for 3 nights. There are issues, like noise till midnight from a football field across the street and lack of sea view. The location is in old part of Istanbul that would require walking uphill or downhill in narrow brick lanes with uneven surface. Topkapi and other tourist sites are about 15-20 minutes away, but seemed longer when navigating the lanes and by-lanes of the historical but unfamiliar city. I found many senior citizens staying there and did the walk to the museums, apparently they do not have feet issues like me. Breakfast is served between 8-10 am at the terrace where the view of the sea and the general ambience is dramatically different. Lots of interesting items in the breakfast menu kept us more than satisfied. Hotel staff, including Mr. Harun, is very friendly and eager to help. Everything would fall in place for me if I stayed on the 4th or 5th floors, and Saruhan would earn a four star! Make an international call to ensure your room on upper floors, however, my understanding is that would cost about 20% more than what the Internet shows.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank csserious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

It can be daunting to plan a trip to somewhere so far away from home, but Saruhan and their staff make you feel right at home. The location is great, walkable to all of the sights we wanted to see, including dozens of restaurants to choose from. The rooms were spotless, roomy, and comfortable. The buffet breakfast was my favorite on the trip and the views from the terrace were lovely. Harun patiently answered our every question and gave us great help. We intially stayed in the basement room on our arrival and it was perfect to help us rest and get over jetlag. Then we enjoyed the sea view with a little balcony on our return to Istanbul and it was lovely just to relax and look at the sea. You can spend time up on the terrace in the evening also so we did that a few nights with some lovely Turkish wine. Don't hesitate to book here, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: For jet lag help, get the lower basement room, pull the curtains and sleep to your heart's conte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The hotel is well located , the rooms are nice and clean. It would be nice if it were not a few things :

1 - the hotel service of transfer to the airport is horrible . When we arrived in Istanbul airport the transfer was not expecting us, and we were waiting more than 30 minutes after a long and tiring journey . To return to the airport , the hotel put us in a van , three hours before our check in, claiming that the traffic was bad. However the van began to circle the city , seeking people everywhere and the driver besides not speak English, did not want to help in any way. Result: we almost lost our flight even with 3hs in advance . A vacation trip that was supposed to be a relaxing time in such a beautiful city like Istanbul , started and finished in a stressful way.
A hotel should take care of their guests and cherish for the welfare of them . If you offer a service , you must do it well . I don't recommend IN ANY WAY USING THE SERVICES OF THIS HOTEL .

2 - the breakfast room is small and it's not big enough to the number of guests when the weather is not good . We had to wait, standing, a free table.

3 - for one day and one night we had no hot water.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbaraschall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The hotel location is excellent (in the old town) with great breakfasts on their rooftop area, either looking at the old town or city. We were on the first floor at the back of the hotel which was quiet and clean. The wifi worked well and the rooms were very nice and seemed traditional. Breakfast was a great range. We'd recommend asking for a room at the back of the hotel because there is a small football pitch opposite which may not be as quiet in the evenings. It's about a 5-10 minute walk to the blue mosque and hagia sofia. Definitely excellent value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel because of noise potential
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PackedforAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

A slightly old fashioned hotel but comfortable and well located in a quietish area overlooking the Marmara Sea close to the blue mosque. Best feature was the breakfast terrace on the roof. Room was reasonably spacious and had shower, hairdyer, flat screen satellite TV. Minuses were that we were asked not to put toilet paper down the loo. We were also asked to pay in cash up front for our room. The staff were friendly but spoke very little English. Not a really great hotel but to be fair it offered good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,805 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,163 in Istanbul
713 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#28 of 1,163 in Istanbul
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,030 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#789 of 1,163 in Istanbul
626 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#9 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saruhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saruhan Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Cinci Meydani Sok. No: 30 | Sultanahmet, Kadirga, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,090 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $26 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saruhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saruhan Hotel is a yellow stone house run by a Turkish family; this is the only hotel in Istanbul decorated with stone and wood together. It is located in the heart of the open air museum Istanbul, in the historical Sultanahmet area. It is ideal for visiting by foot the oldest and the most important Byzantine and Ottoman monuments of Istanbul. It is constructed of smoothly hewn yellow, pink and beige stone from Cappadocia and unbelievable quality of wood work like an ottoman wooden house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Saruhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saruhan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing