We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In quiet residential area of Sulthanamet”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Saruhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saruhan Hotel
Ranked #13 of 1,031 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nyborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“In quiet residential area of Sulthanamet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

I stayed here for a week with two friends ... and we enjoyed being guests at this cozy, warm and friendly hotel. The room was nice and cleaned daily and got towels changed every day .. breakfast we ate, on the top floor or on the roof terrace with a beautiful view over the sea or the city .. The only drawback we oplevedde was to stay just below the dining floor .. missing little soundproofing .. therefore we woke up immediately at the first movement on the dining floor ... But all in all I can recommend Saruhan Hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    135
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
72
178
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We are a family of four with two children. Saruhan had an ideal room for us with a double bed and a set of bunk beds. It was reasonably priced and the location was great. We enjoyed the walk uphill each day, but it's not for everyone. We particularly loved walking though the busy local shoemaking district (make a right out of the hotel). If you go left, you'll head to the big 3 -- Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia and Topkopi Palace. All a short, but uphill walk. The breakfast was the same everyday, but we didn't mind. It was good and had variety. The breakfast staff were nice. The daytime front desk staff were knowledgeable and mostly helpful. The nighttime staff spoke limited English and we had a hard time communicating a couple of issues we had.

And herein lies why they are getting a mediocre review:
1. We didn't notice until evening that the top bunk didn't have a pillow or covers. After a bit of explaining to them, the staff finally said they would try to find some bedding, but they weren't sure they could. Really? When we returned from dinner, we found they had provided a pillow and a comforter, but no pillowcase and no duvet cover. The staff couldn't find any linens or didn't understand that's what we wanted, so the first night one of our children slept in the double bed with the parents without a pillow.
2. On our last night, the toilet started leaking from behind the bowl. We used all our towels to stop the bathroom from flooding. The night staff said there was nothing they could do, as it was Sunday night and all the other rooms were full. This was inconvenient but understandable, so we spent the night without a serviceable bathroom. The staff gave us two towels (because that's all they had) and told us we could use the hall bathroom, which required us to go outside and across the garden to get to. The next morning there was no acknowledgement of the problem from management. It wasn't until we expressed some unhappiness that the staff person in charge apologized and offered to not charge us for the load of laundry they did for us.

In summary, it would have been a great place to stay if the night staff were better trained and equipped to respond to requests and if the management had been more sensitive to the fact that not having a working bathroom is not okay.

Room Tip: Our room was in a small annex building behind the main building. The room, minus the toilet issue, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squacklips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

The staff was great, the room was good and very well cleaned every day. Breakfast was ok but a small minus that you have to pay extra for juice. Location is good if you only spend time at the old center, a little too far from Beyoglu.

The only bigger disadvantage was the door that let all the noise in. If someone spoke in the reception you heard it like it was in the same room. Every morning I woke up listening loud voices of other customers (our room was closest to reception).

Room Tip: Room 304 is very noisy, you can heat everything spoken in the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jussi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Great room with a balcony, clean shower, hot water and great service. Very helpful staff with directions, but limited English.

Breakfast was fantastic with a great sea view. Hotel is a walk into the main area of Old City and it is easy to take a wrong turn on widing streets. I would reccommend this for first nigt as its closer to airport, but make sure to then move nearer to the activity and do not just stay in old city as istiklal street and the waterfront has so much to offer!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
250 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

room clean, good breakfast, beautiful view, close to the center, not expensive at all (low season probably): a really good place to stay and relax after walking in the city, with rooms larges and comfortable!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank andrea1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amerika
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We loved the Saruhan and wish we had booked more than three nights. The room had everything we wanted, the free breakfast on the rooftop was great, and the location was perfect for anyone wanting to check out the tourist sights in Sultanahmet. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the rooms were clean and well maintained. The only possible complaint would be that it's a little noisy since it overlooks a sports club with kids playing football, but it was quiet at night.

Room Tip: the "city side" rooms are a little quieter but don't have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heaton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

This hotel is very well received by other patrons and it could have been for us, if not for the fact that the staff that we saw most in the evening lacked good manners and we were treated rather poorly, the manager was apologetic about it so I assumed, we just had bad luck about this guy. We paid extra to get a city view, we saw mostly the neighbors roof, our room was just below the kitchen and we could hear the staff preparing breakfast early in the morning. The terrace was a great factor for this hotel.The room we had was large and the furniture was very functional to put our stuff in.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is noisy due to breakfast preparations, realistically speaking you're not in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Letsg012345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
#11 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#33 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#44 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saruhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saruhan Hotel

Property: Saruhan Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Cinci Meydani Sok. No: 30 | Sultanahmet, Kadirga, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Saruhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saruhan Hotel is a yellow stone house run by a Turkish family; this is the only hotel in Istanbul decorated with stone and wood together. It is located in the heart of the open air museum Istanbul, in the historical Sultanahmet area. It is ideal for visiting by foot the oldest and the most important Byzantine and Ottoman monuments of Istanbul. It is constructed of smoothly hewn yellow, pink and beige stone from Cappadocia and unbelievable quality of wood work like an ottoman wooden house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saruhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saruhan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing