We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely independent hotel”
Review of Saruhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saruhan Hotel
Ranked #15 of 1,070 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Great location, only a short walk to the Hippodrome, Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. It is an uphill walk though so be warned!

The breakfast is a cold buffet with hot drinks available. You can purchase freshly squeezed orange or pomegranate juice and omelettes from the counter. Great views from the breakfast room on the terrace of the Marmara Sea.

The rooms are basic. We were on the back of the hotel and had a little balcony, the view is of a busy residential area. The front of the hotel is opposite an outdoor sports centre that was very popular so you might hear that from the rooms at the front of the hotel. Large shower and hot water at all times we were there. Housekeeping were very good.

Downstairs they have tea and coffee making facilities that are free of charge to use up until about 10pm, but I'm not sure they're that strict on the times. They also have a public laptop with wifi you can use free of charge. Wifi is also free throughout the hotel.

You can take drinks from the fridge in the breakfast area for your own use, they have an honesty bar where you write your purchases down and it will be added to your bill. Reasonably priced and chilled. There is a small shop on the way to and from the Hagia Sophia that is cheaper and has more variety.

All the staff were very helpful and friendly. The lady that checked us in lent us an Istanbulkart to use during our stay, saving us from finding one. Also assisted us in booking a transfer back to the airport.

Rooms were very warm for winter time. Without any heating on we still had the window open at times.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LittleMissTasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for Saruhan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 374 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

The Hotel team was very co-operative and supportive , the place was very clean and supplied with everything promised , no fake photos of the place ... it's simply a place to relax like home ... I seriously advice anybody who seek good value of money with perfect location to select this hotel

Room Tip: rooms infront of marmara sea was amazing
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haytham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The Saruhan is a small, quaint hotel with character. Great decor; clean, well appointed rooms; good breakfast (including an outstanding array of jams!); wonderful view from the breakfast room; friendly helpful staff; and an interesting location down a small winding set of cobbled streets. I loved walking to and from this hotel. It was only 15-20 mins up to the Blue Mosque and maybe 15 mins up to the nearest tram station. Interesting cafes and restaurants nearby, as well. Felt very safe walking around the streets of Istanbul at night. Would definitely stay here again when we return to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We spent four nights at this hotel and had a great time. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming, the breakfast good. The view from the breakfast terrace is amazing! Yes, we too had difficulty finding the hotel in the maze of streets, but it was well worth the effort.

Room Tip: We picked a city view, as recommended by others here. Our room was very quiet, number 504.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dd338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Very nice, comfortable and clean room, it was small but plenty of space for one person. I paid for thier pick up service to and from the airport which was expensive, 22 euro each way, but convienent. I walked to all the attractions and got very lost on the first day but soon got my bearings and found it easy to follow the map. It really was not all that far from the main tourist area. The breakfast on the top floor terrace offered a wide range of foods; European meats and cheeses, fruit, yogurt, cerel, breads, various jelly and some really good nut butter. I paid for a view room and was given 402 it was a filtered view of mostly trees and very little water, I asked for one floor higher but it was not available so they moved me to 302 for a lower priced room without a view. The staff was friendly and helpful when I had questions. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a view make sure you get a 500 level room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in October and absolutely loved it. Great location , clean, very good breakfast, free wifi, close to Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Bazars etc... Rooftop terrace, helpful and friendly staff, we definitely will come back!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patcat71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is a great hotel tucked away in the backstreets on the southern side of Sultanahmet. The end of the historic peninsula is so packed with small streets that it is easy to be deceived looking at a map and imagine the Saruhan Hotel is removed from the main action, but in fact it is about 10 minutes walk to the Blue Mosque, through relatively quiet streets that contain quality restaurants (don't miss Little Havana) and ancient buildings (the "little aya sofya" mosque, once a church dedicated to Saints Bacchus & Sergius).

The staff are friendly, the rooms great, the roof-top terrace, with views south over the Sea of Marmara and north over the city, an ideal spot for breakfast and the prices very reasonable. The airport transfer was a good, affordable way of getting to the hotel, and map-in-hand we quickly got our bearings. As soon as we set foot in the hotel I felt relaxed, comfortable and confident I had a sound base for exploring the city. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank afb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Basileus Hotel
#26 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,763 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,046 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,159 in Istanbul
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#36 of 1,159 in Istanbul
711 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#28 of 1,159 in Istanbul
831 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#10 of 1,070 in Istanbul
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saruhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saruhan Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Cinci Meydani Sok. No: 30 | Sultanahmet, Kadirga, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,070 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $32 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saruhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saruhan Hotel is a yellow stone house run by a Turkish family; this is the only hotel in Istanbul decorated with stone and wood together. It is located in the heart of the open air museum Istanbul, in the historical Sultanahmet area. It is ideal for visiting by foot the oldest and the most important Byzantine and Ottoman monuments of Istanbul. It is constructed of smoothly hewn yellow, pink and beige stone from Cappadocia and unbelievable quality of wood work like an ottoman wooden house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Saruhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saruhan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing