We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great modest family-run hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Saruhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saruhan Hotel
Ranked #13 of 1,029 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great modest family-run hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

If anyone ever looking for a hotel in the Sultanahmet area of old Istanbul, we're at the Saruhan Hotel and like it a lot. 12 rooms, v friendly knowledgeable staff, all mod cons, nice breakfast, rooftop terrace. Small things like an honour-system bar on the terrace are very nice. Little storage space, but a prior hotel in the Taksim area had less and was 4 times as expensive.

Room Tip: Forget paying more for a view, spend you evenings and mornings on the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    135
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
72
178
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stanwood
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

Referred to the Saruhan when their sister hotel was full. I was traveling alone and stayed there the first 3 days of my first trip to Turkey. The husband and wife hosts were very friendly, responsive and helpful. Rooms are simple, perfectly clean, airy with large windows and light. Situated in an old residential neighborhood of Istanbul, within a 15-minute walk to major sites. My room overlooked the basketball courts of a local recreation center and I had a view of the Sea of Marmara in the distance. I could here and see the locals playing at night and felt very comfortable, safe and enjoyed hearing the sounds of everyday Turkish life. The walk up to major old town sites takes 10-15 minutes through narrow streets, small local eateries and convenience stores, homes and a couple small hotels. Breakfast on the sunny rooftop with a view of the sea was a great place to meet fellow travelers.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamvalentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Clean, clean, clean... comfortable, good breakfast every morning, good service. A little walk from the hippodrome and tourist spots, but not bad - 10-15 minutes. Excellent choice and great value.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

The hotel is in a perfect location, close to all the main historic buildings and amenities. The service was superb and the rooms were spacious and very stylish. Extra thanks for the staff for helping me with calling the airport looking for a lost jacket!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dublinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

The positives:
- Fairly large rooms that are cleaned thoughly every day
- Tasty breakfast
- Convenient location

The negatives:
- NOISE. There is construction going on in the building immediately adjacent to the hotel, every day 10am-6pm if not longer, rain or shine, weekday or weekend. While opinions might vary on whether this is the type of information the hotel should proactively disclose to potential guests, I feel it would have been a decent thing to do when those guests specifically ask about the noise level upon making the reservation. We were not told anything, I arrived from an overnight flight on a Saturday morning and could not get any rest without earplugs.

- During the evenings, the noise continues from inside the hotel lobby and common areas. Doors are slammed and the night staff is loud, long beyond the quiet hours they specify in the hotel rooms. In addition, the rooms on the bottom floor (garden level) get the noise from the utility room, laundry, etc. All in all, it was impossible to rest at the hotel during the day (and on a rainy day this is important) or to have an early night.

- The rooms on the upper floor with a "city view" are not worth the extra EUR 15 that the hotel charges. Your main scenery is the ruins of an old building in front, the construction site to the right (they might as well drill directly in the room), and the windows of nearby homes. The roof leaked in one of the rooms during heavy rain, damaging some of our items -- no attempt was made to accomodate the guests, by offering reduced price for instance. Only when we asked to be moved, the hotel complied (but made us wait an extra day because the spare room was promised to someone else).

- Not everyone at the reception desk is equally knowledgeable and we were given incorrect directions several times. We would have prefered if they just admitted they did not know, rather than improvise.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oksana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

This hotel is worth your money and some, it is only 10-15 minutes walk to the Blue Mosque,Ayasofya,Topkapi Place, Basilica Cistern and plenty of choices of restaurants,,20 minutes walk you are at the Grand Bazar and the Tram line to the Spice Bazar on a 10 minutes ride, 15 minutes ride to Taksim Square. The staff , Harun, Melahat,Ersin and Chacha are super friendly and accommodating, and trust me when I say that, we were 7 people and drove all them crazy with all kinds of requests, they have the right personality for their job. The hotel is super clean and the rooms are oversized for Europe's standards and very confortable with full bathrooms, and air conditioning, there is an elavator no need to worry about lugagge and stairs. The rooms facing the the Sea of Marmara have great views and the breakfast terrace is breath taking, needless to say the breakfast selection is perfect to start your day, for a minimal charge you can have eggs cooked your way, the rest of the food, cereals, cold meats,breads, sweets,fruits, veggies,etc are all included on the room rate. We had a great time and a flawless stay, let me not forget, they can also arrange for Airport and Port transfers for a very comfortable rate, just send them an email. This Hotel is great and their staff are all fantastic, you cannot go wrong with this choice.

Room Tip: If you have walking limitations this location could be a problem, but we called a Taxi and it was ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed in 2 hotels while visiting Istanbul. Saruhan for 7 nights and City Center hotel for 5 nights. The first was very reasonable cost per night, added touches such as candies at reception, tea, coffee and water, Satelitte TV, safe in room, good A/C, 10 min walk to the Blue Mosque, quiet location, friendly, helpful staff and a good breakfast that was included. Wine, beer and other drinks and goodies were available on the honour system. The breakfast was served on the rooftop terrace with a lovely view of the ocean. I paid 3 times as much for the other hotel and it was noisy and lacking in pretty much everything above.

Room Tip: I would suggest asking for a room at the back side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#25 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
#20 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#27 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#33 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#44 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saruhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saruhan Hotel

Property: Saruhan Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Cinci Meydani Sok. No: 30 | Sultanahmet, Kadirga, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 1,029 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Saruhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saruhan Hotel is a yellow stone house run by a Turkish family; this is the only hotel in Istanbul decorated with stone and wood together. It is located in the heart of the open air museum Istanbul, in the historical Sultanahmet area. It is ideal for visiting by foot the oldest and the most important Byzantine and Ottoman monuments of Istanbul. It is constructed of smoothly hewn yellow, pink and beige stone from Cappadocia and unbelievable quality of wood work like an ottoman wooden house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saruhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saruhan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing