We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad location, and they rip you off, very loud”
Review of Saruhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saruhan Hotel
Ranked #17 of 1,070 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2011

this hotel is not easy to find, especially when on foot. The week prior we had stayed at a lovely hotel near the Blue Mosque, they were booked for our return night, so at the advice of trip advisor we booked this one. We had tried to get its sister hotel, Maramara, but it was also booked.

When walking from the main tourist area, you gradually walk into a poorer and poorer section. Many of the houses near the hotel had been in a fire, and other than a Best Western, there really are not too many updated buildings in this part of town. It is located directly above a metro stop, and along the main highway, which makes for a very loud experience. We had requested a sea view room, and if you are not distracted by the metro and highway, you can indeed see the sea, the problem was the noise! we immediately had to request a room transfer to the opposite side of the hotel, which was a bit quieter (other than the jack hammers and vacuums).
We were EXTREMELTY UPSET with the charges and the billing process. They originally quoted us 85 euros per night. When we arrived, i checked the web site and the same room was now only 70 euros for the same night. I pointed this out to the manager and asked them to price match which they refused to do. (in the states, they always will do this!). Then we asked if we could pay in turkish lira, since we were leaving the country in the morning. The current exchange rate should have been 196 TL, but they said it would be 230 TL, this is nearly 30$ USD more! I watched as the manager charged another unknowing guest pay the extra money, and i decided to head to the bank to get euors, knowing that i would get a much better exchange rate. this is highway robbery!!

Also, we requested a breakfast to go, since we were leaving before breakfast hours, and they said no. Every other hotel during our stay in turkey gladly put together a to go breakfast, except this hotel.

On the plus side- the bedding was comfortable. It did take about 10 minutes for the hot water to heat up, but it stayed hot for 2 showers, they provide you with cheap soap and shampoo. They also have free wi fi and a water cooler and the rooms are very clean.

Overall I STRONGLY ADVISE YOU TO FIND ANOTHER HOTEL. Do not give this dishonest establishment your money.

Room Tip: sea view is VERY loud
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank portermonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saruhan, Owner at Saruhan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2011

"Normally we respect all kinds of reviews and do not write answers. This is the first time (we hope it will be last time).
Room : Our room with the sea view has triple glass to block out/reduce noise and it's air-conditioned. However, for people who are very sensitive to noise and want to sleep in the afternoon this may not be the best option due to street noise during the day. In the evenings, this room is extremely quiet.
We offered two alternative rooms to our customer after they didn't want to stay in the room they booked (sea view room) and Room 104 (family room for four people – this room cost is 100 Euro a night) which was chosen. We didn’t ask for the additional 15 Euro and kept the same price (85 Euro a night). We charged an additional EUR 20 for transfer to the airport and used the official EUR/Lira exchange rate.
Payment : Room = 85 Euro = 193 TL (rate 1 Euro = 2,275 TL)
Transfer = 20 Euro = 46 TL = 32 USD (we believe our customer did not factor in this transfer cost and it was descripted a “robbery” by our guests –unfortunately- )
We charged 85 Euro + 20 Euro = 105 Euro = 239 TL (rate 1 Euro = 2,275 TL)
About reviews : Unfortunately the content of those two reviews were written by a couple traveling together staying in one room for one night. One room, two reviews – this is not a fair representation of our staff or the service we provide our customers.
Location : You can find out all details about our location on our website (is supported by Maps, texts, photos and videos). Lots of our guests like this location because it shows you the real istanbul life with families and children playing on the street, parks and local - cheaper restaurants. It is safe and it is not more than 10 minutes walk to Blue Mosque and Hippodrome."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for Saruhan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 374 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2011

Saruhan Hotel has lovely spacious, clean and comfortable rooms...and bathrooms.
It's a little away from the main action, but still within easy walking distance of all attractions and restaurants etc.
The rooftop terrace is great for breakfast and the food is very good too.
Staff are very friendly and go out of their way to help.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank willsgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

the hotel was nice, cozy with a nice bosforo view.
the people working at the reception were very helpful and polite.
i really enjoy my staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank droulisho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

room very comfortable, quiet and very well located, stunning sea views
quality breakfast and pleasant reception
free tea / coffee appreciated

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lagrandeur-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

The service is great. Receptionists speak fluent English and are extremely friendly and helpful (booking taxis, restaurants ecc.. anything you can't do if you don't speak Turkish). The price is very good considering the hotel location (10 minutes walking from the tram station Sultanahmet) and considering that it includes a buffet breakfast.
You need to leave the towels on the floor if you want them changed,
Do not pay attention to the comments that say there is no lift - there is a brand new lift which will take you straight to the terrace where you can enjoy your breakfastnwith a great view on the sea and on the Blue Mosque.
The only negative point I would give is that there are no closets and there is no room to unpack. But I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baskettara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We enjoyed this hotel a lot. Very good breakfast: several kinds of cheese and jams. Excellent location and friendly English-speaking staff. Rooms were clean and not too small. We had a balcony in our room and a good view to a football area (my husband is a football fan). The hotel is quite and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agafija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

This is a lovely little hotel on a side street. The staff is friendly and helpful and free breakfast overlooking the sea is a wonderful addition (try the rose jam - fantastic!). The hotel is down the hill from the major attractions, but the walk is not difficult and it is a nice chance to see daily life in Istanbul. Plus, when you're tired from a day of sightseeing the downhill walk is a nice break.

We used the airport transfer service that the hotel arranges. It was very worth it since the hotel is a bit hard to find at first and dragging suitcases across cobblestone streets is not fun.

As a tip: there is a great and cheap little restaurant near the hotel called Ziya Baba (I might be misspelling this) that has fantastic kebaps. It's right on the way to the Hippodrome.

Overall we were very happy with the choice of this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EM_RF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Basileus Hotel
#26 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,762 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,045 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,159 in Istanbul
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#36 of 1,159 in Istanbul
711 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#28 of 1,159 in Istanbul
831 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#10 of 1,070 in Istanbul
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saruhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saruhan Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Cinci Meydani Sok. No: 30 | Sultanahmet, Kadirga, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 1,070 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $32 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saruhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saruhan Hotel is a yellow stone house run by a Turkish family; this is the only hotel in Istanbul decorated with stone and wood together. It is located in the heart of the open air museum Istanbul, in the historical Sultanahmet area. It is ideal for visiting by foot the oldest and the most important Byzantine and Ottoman monuments of Istanbul. It is constructed of smoothly hewn yellow, pink and beige stone from Cappadocia and unbelievable quality of wood work like an ottoman wooden house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Saruhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saruhan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing