We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely one of the best hotels I have been to...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
Ranked #29 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 3 months as I was working in Istanul. On my second / third day there, it already felt like home. The attention to detail is amazing and the staff friendliness, care and efficiency is brillant. The hotel is medium sized and very subtle so if you are looking for a hotel like an airport, dont go there but if you are looking for charm, elegance and service, this is definitely the hotel to be at. The old town is around 25-30 mins taxi ride away however and in traffic can take longer but if you are there on holiday then, just avoid the peak hour. The Nisantisi area is fantastic .. with great restaurants etc. The concierge will pretty much give you a plan if you are there for a couple of days of what to do and where to go eat...High reccommend the hotel..

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ticoco79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
There are newer reviews for Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 690 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2010

Absolutely perfect in every way. Rooms (also basic ones) are really spacious, very well refined and the bathroom is just perfect, especially the tub with colour teraphy. A must in Istanbul!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeleItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

stayed for 5 nights in a suite, everything was perfect during our stay. special highlights of the room the heated bathroom floor and the extra sink with fresh water.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adorable79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

A wonderfully understated entrance conceals a warmth of hospitality that is quite remarkable! Never have I felt so much at home in an hotel so quickly.

Despite our early 8am arrival we were warmly greeted by name and with the minimum of formalities escorted to our beautifully appointed spa room by the charming receptionist Doruk.

Spa rooms are spacious, beautifully appointed, have ample storage, versatile lighting, beautiful linens and come with all modern day expectations. Those on the 6th floor (as opposed to the 7th) have the advantage of Romeo and Juliette balconies which give even better views of the Bosphorus. Of course their piece de resistance is the bathroom – probably the size of a large bedroom in Sultanamet, they offer a separate WC, wash basin area (with a dedicated drinking water basin) and huge ‘wet room’ which contains a large bath, steam room and haman facility complete with pestemals (fringed towels) tas (metal bowl) and kese (scrubbing cloth) together with some wonderfully aromatic Isparta rose soap and ‘mood’ lighting – in addition to a television screen! Bathroom toiletries are from Blaise Mautin in an intoxicating perfume made especially for this Park Hyatt and which pervades the whole hotel.

Public areas include a spacious lobby area which incorporates a lounge serving delicious breakfasts (and all day dining) in addition to a delightful bar area featuring a good selection of wines. There is also a separate formal restaurant (Prime) and open-air terrace with outdoor pool, small spa and 24 hour gym.

However, surpassing all this luxuriousness, are the staff who really make this ‘home’ somewhere special. From the suave and knowledgeable Guest Services Manager, Anthony and the ever present Front Office Manager, Kevin to breakfast supervisor Caner and bar attendant Merve, the various concierges, door staff and others, guests are treated with warmth and individuality, often and frequently being addressed by name – this is hotelkeeping of the highest order and those who appreciate such attributes will surely enjoy this hotel.

Personally, even as a first time visitor to Istanbul, I loved the location, surrounded by stylish shops, cafes and restaurants, yet within an easy downhill stroll to Kabatas and the tramway which will take one to Sultanamet; or a ride on the teleferic cable car and onward to Taksim.

I long to return!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macsym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

We stayed in Taksim for 3 nights and in Sultanahmet for 2 to feel the complete vibe of Istanbul. We decided to splurge a bit due to our anniversary and for that I would highly recommend the Park Hyatt. The service and comfort provided by the hotel staff was fantastic as you should expect in a hotel of this caliber (but seldom receive!).
The only drawback with this hotel is that it's not very central to all the action (other than 5th Avenue style shopping in Nistansi...which is great if that''s the interest on the trip!)
However, the areas of Istiklal, Sultanahmet and even Ortakoy are relatively far from this hotel. (Though staff were great in getting us taxis at any point at day and night)
The breakfast spread in the morning is also fantastic

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WastedYouNgChilD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

Having previously stayed at the Park Hyatt in both Tokyo & Seoul, we were expecting great things of the Macka Palace and we weren't disappointed. The hotel was wonderful.

It's in an old 1920's building which has been beautifully restored and the understated location in a small side street is fantastic although be aware that most taxi drivers go to the other Hyatt so make sure you have a small map with you! Some reviews have commented on the hotel being 15-20 minutes from the main sights but it's actually much nicer not to stay in the tourist area. Not only were there loads of shops - everything from Gucci to M&S - but there were tons of amazing restaurants and cafe's within a 5 minute walk.

We were upgraded to one of the larger rooms on the 6th floor with a partial view of the Bosphorous. The room was extremely comfortable with a huge bed, large flat screen tv and fresh fruit which was replenished every day. There was also an enormous bathroom with it's own tv, steam room, separate basin with drinking water, heated floor and coloured mood lighting.

All the staff at the hotel, without exception, were genuinely wonderful. They were helpful and friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble.

I would say that the internet cost €18/day and that drinks were very expensive but that seems to be par for the course in Istanbul generally.

You'd be hard pressd to find a hotel this good anywhere else in Istanbul and I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

The Park Hyatt Istanbul was quite possibly the most amazing hotel I have stayed at...design and service wise.

The hotel is fairly small and located in the most posh neighborhood of Istanbul with tons of high end shops.

I had a spa King room. It was such an amazing room I didn't leave it for a whole day! Just relaxed, took long showers, enjoyed the private steam room that was in the bathroom.

The service was impeccable as always with Park Hyatt. Upon check in I was escorted all the way up to my room, introduced to the features of the room, etc. They have DVD's available for rent at the Concierge desk that was nice to have.

My one complaint. You go to a hotel to sleep...but unfortunately (and no fault of the hotel), there is a night club that had music pumping very loudly until about 3 a.m. This was a Saturday night. I pretty much was unable to sleep that night. If you ask to be put on the street side you probably won't have this problem, or if you are there during the weekdays.

The fitness center was well equipped but did not have any free weights or barbells, which surprised me.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
The St. Regis Istanbul
The St. Regis Istanbul
#31 of 1,159 in Istanbul
235 reviews
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#66 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,770 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#56 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Besiktas
Raffles Istanbul
Raffles Istanbul
#16 of 1,159 in Istanbul
538 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#12 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas

Address: Bronz Sok. No:4 Tesvikiye, Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#11 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#19 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#21 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#33 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $172 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish five-star hotel houses a total of 90 generously sized deluxe rooms and suites. Decorated with Ara Güler's black-and-white Istanbul photography, traditional Turkish patterns and icons represented in contemporary scale and composition, the hotel fills the guest with what we call "unexpected pleasures". The finest food and beverage facilities at 'The Lounge at Park Hyatt' offering all-day dining, including breakfast. The outdoor facilities include an outdoor pool and The Terrace. The Spa offers the ultimate in relaxation after a busy day in town. Be it a business trip, a city break, a shopping spree, or the perfect honeymoon, our city hotel in Istanbul offers all that you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing