We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Good Hotel , not a Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
Ranked #36 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2014

With some interesting new openings around the world I wanted to try the brand and I have to say it was not bad at all.
Located in the upscale shopping / residential area you are a 15 to 30 minute taxi ride away from the major sights of the City - for me that is a plus as I would not want to be based in the main tourist areas.
We arrived at about 11am and the room was not ready and having agreed to pay for a room upgrade we waited an hour and a very helpful lady on the reception desk came over and told us the room was ready and would we like to follow her to the room. Just as we were getting into the lift her phone rang , she took a call , and told us we would have to find our own way to the room as something had come up .... A little strange.
The room was fantastic , by any standards , and for me to be impressed takes quite a bit! It turns out that having paid for an upgrade we were then upgraded to the next level , which was hugely appreciated. But we did need someone to show us how the fairly high tech lights / aircon / curtains etc worked.
However, the room itself somehow outclassed the lacking little extras. The brand claims it offers guests 'unexpected pleasures' and I am not quite sure what is meant by this - is it the tiny bowl of Turkish Delight that was left out one day, or the 2 oranges the next?!
There were no newspapers given to guests or flowers in the room, and no complimentary mineral water ( there was a jug of drinking water left out but personally I want bottled water) and these are things that I have come to expect in high end hotels these days.
Housekeeping was a little slow and not quite up to speed - not enough towels / not replacing showergels etc.
One night we booked a babysitter with the hotel - we agreed that it would cost €25 per hour and €25 transportation costs - she was very nice and arrived on time. We tried to work it so that we were away for 3 hours - ie a total of €100 which to me is quite enough . I was disappointed when we arrived back 15 mins after the 3 hours and she wanted that extra - come on!
Finally , one morning we ordered a light breakfast to be delivered to our room to have on our terrace. The trolley was wheeled into the room and left - no thought as to where we might like it - this would not have happened at a Starwood property. And to serve not freshly squeezed orange juice - it may have been a mix of half and half - is just unacceptable , particularly in a country where oranges are produced in huge quantities.
I will return - the staff tried hard and were excellent - I am a Park Hyatt convert - but would love to see these little things rectified to push it into the Great category.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EddieALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulcin K, Guest Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear EddieALondon,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking time to express your feedback about your stay with us. We highly appreciated that you pointed your experiences in such a detailed way.
We understand that you had the chance to enjoy one of our superior suites with a private terrace. Even though your arrival process was handled professionally, it has been unfortunately distracted when our colleague has received an international phone call. Believing that all our guests deserve the utmost attention, we will look for the best opportunities to overcome such inconveniences.
We are sincerely happy that you liked the room. Our Executive Suite has so many special features where our guests can have a unique Park Hyatt experience. In regards of the room cleaning facilities, we will be more careful to follow up our guests' schedule, in order to avoid any interruptions. Also, we took our notes about your bottled water and fresh juice requests for your future stays with us.

We will look forward to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 708 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

Having read mixed reviews , I was a bit anxious about this hotel but I need not have been . The check in process was efficient & smooth aided by a very helpful staff member.
We had 2 spa rooms which were large , beautifully furnished & well equipped .
While there is renovation work going on, it did not have any impact on our stay other than the lack of a hotel based resturant & as there are so many to choose from right on your doorstep this was not a problem. The concierge recommended 2 fantastic resturants within walking distance.
The Park Hyatt is situated in a lovely part of Istanbul ,close to shops, cafés & you feel quite safe strolling around this area away from the hustle & bustle of the old town.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank oscarspet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulcin K, Guest Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear oscarspet,

We are very happy to see that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed a very clear feedback that you mentioned about your arrival and the rooms you received. We show maximum attention to our guests' arrivals and it is motivating for us to see your appreciation.
The construction work in the building will soon be over, so that in your next trip, you can be able to enjoy a brand-new restaurant in the city.
Also, we are grateful to you that you highlighted our Concierge services. Our experienced colleagues work hard to provide the tailor-made solutions for our guests' needs and give tips to make it an enjoyable experience of Istanbul.

We will look forward to welcome you and your family back.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have been member of Hyatt for a couple of years, stayed in several Parks around the globe, I just noticed that the hotel has nothing to do with this chain, poor in all aspects, room standard, outlets quality of the room, and most important thing is the noise!!!

If you guys are planning to visit Istanbul in the soon, please rethink about staying in this hotel, as there is a construction going on in a restaurant within the building, and drilling start from morning till evening, and they cannot do anything about it, and in my opinion the very unprofessional part that you would expect from such chain is that there is no notification related to this matter.

also it is valuable to mention that the rooms looks old, need refurbishment badly.

Also there is only one lounge, or sort of all day dining area right on the entrance of the hotel, which used to serve the breakfast, some light snacks, as well as used as a bar!!! this is not really what I have expected from Park Hyatt, as I have stayed in Hamburg, Tokyo and other cities, where you feel you are at home.

Sad to be disappointed by chains that I use to love.

Room Tip: Choose different hotel for the time being
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alhouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulcin K, Guest Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Alhouri,

Thank you for your feedback about our hotel.
We appreciate the time you took to write about your experiences.

We would like to inform you that during the period of your stay, there is a renovation for the opening of our pool and terrace. We are working hard to complete this process as quick as we can.
Regarding your comments about our rooms' look, we sincerely respect your opinion. Our rooms are designed with a vision to create the palazzo effect, where our hotel is located. We also would like to highlight that the hotel’s interior designer is the renowned Randy Gerner of Gerner Kronick + Valcarcel in New York City, which won the “Best Guestroom Design” category at the 30th annual International Hotel, Motel + Restaurant Show® (IHMRS) Gold Key Awards for Excellence in Hospitality Design for its job on Park Hyatt Istanbul - Maçka Palas.
We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back, so that we can pamper you during your next stay.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel last weekend. We truly enjoyed the experience. Park Hyatts are great about personal touch, when Front Desk Agent walks you to your room and you are treated by 'welcome' mandarins and Turkish delights. The room was nice and spacious. Nespresso coffee machine and Loofa by the bath tub made my day. Convenient light switches with separate dimmers for each area are great!
All staff is extremely polite and helpful!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Tatiana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulcin K, Guest Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Tatiana H,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted to see that you especially highlighted our unique Park Hyatt service. It is surely a very delicate issue to perform the most detailed approach to our guests and according to your expression, we achieved this during your stay.
We will be very happy to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We loved this hotel beautifully located next to the chic shopping district of Istanbul. What made the hotel great was the quality of the personnel at the front desk - attentive, friendly and efficient. Perfect! The rooms are elegant, modern and really well appointed with beautiful bathrooms brimming with goodies. Everything you could need is there with options to provide free of charge anything you have forgotten to bring. Great breakfast and good service. only downside was the building work on the new restaurant which woke us up early in the morning - but that meant we got out earlier to sight see in this magnificent city. Really friendly to our children too and great adjoining rooms.....

Room Tip: Spa rooms have a wonderful turkish bath and you can have a spa treatment in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mac1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulcin K, Guest Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Mac1997,

We are very happy to receive your kind feedback.
It is great to see that you specifically highlighted our Front Desk staff, which is surely very motivating. The way you pointed the details and the amenities placed in your room with a thoughtful action is very much appreciated. We are glad to see that your children also enjoyed their stay here with us.
The construction of the restaurant will soon be completed. We hope to welcome you back to enjoy the hotel fully when you plan to visit Istanbul again.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

A really nice room with the extra touch of a personal steam room. Very attentive staff and good food (particularly breakfast which they cook to order). They bring a quite personal feel to it. The down side...the grill restaurant was shut due to renovations which meant the only dining option was the lobby restaurant. Nice food but a limited menu and you did feel like you're eating in the reception. Then in the day, the builders drills start and the tranquil feel goes. Once this work is done, I'm sure it will be perfect.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Waldea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulcin K, Guest Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Waldea,

Thank you for your feedback.
We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We understand that you experienced an inconvenience regarding the noise, but we hope that this did not distract your positive experience in our hotel.
We will look forward to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed here on business and from the moment my taxi stopped outside to the day I left I felt valued and respected. My 10 days in the Hyatt was superb and I have tried every breakfast option which was consistently superb and supported with great service and a professional yet non-pretentious and relaxing approach.

Friendly, personal doormen great you in the morning on your way out and is the first homely welcome when returning at night. Staff throughout the foyer present a friendly and genuine smile which set you in a good more for the night regardless of the day you had.

The rooms are great and the working space + reliable free wifi ideal for business trips. The only gripe is the stained chair I had in my room and needed quick covering when I had a meeting. I am confident this has been addressed since.

I am returning for another stint in Istanbul and am most certainly staying in the Park Hyatt. Unfortunately it is only 10 days again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIMAMME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulcin K, Guest Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear MIMAMME,

We are truly delighted to read your comments. Thank you very much for your time to write so many details. It is very motivating and encouraging for us to receive your feedback about your stay.
Your remarks about the chair stain is already noted. We surely will pay more attention to our services.
We are already looking forward to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
The St. Regis Istanbul
The St. Regis Istanbul
#27 of 1,163 in Istanbul
245 reviews
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#69 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,807 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#55 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Besiktas
Raffles Istanbul
Raffles Istanbul
#12 of 1,163 in Istanbul
560 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas

Address: Bronz Sok. No:4 Tesvikiye, Sisli, Istanbul 34367, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sisli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#14 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#19 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#25 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#33 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $167 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish five-star hotel houses a total of 90 generously sized deluxe rooms and suites. Decorated with Ara Güler's black-and-white Istanbul photography, traditional Turkish patterns and icons represented in contemporary scale and composition, the hotel fills the guest with what we call "unexpected pleasures". The finest food and beverage facilities at 'The Lounge at Park Hyatt' offering all-day dining, including breakfast. The outdoor facilities include an outdoor pool and The Terrace. The Spa offers the ultimate in relaxation after a busy day in town. Be it a business trip, a city break, a shopping spree, or the perfect honeymoon, our city hotel in Istanbul offers all that you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing