We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of Mado

Mado
Ranked #5 of 330 Dessert in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Beyoglu
Santa Monica, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I usually prefer frozen yogurt to ice cream, but Mado was great. Tons of good flavors (chestnut and rose are particularly tasty) and decent prices. If you're looking for exotic, original flavors, Mado doesn't have that, but they do have all the Turkish staples.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    264
    74
    48
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tripoli, Lebanon
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious ”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Mado has different branches in Istanbul. I have tried the one in Istiklal street. It serves "traditional" modernised deserts. I tried the typical Ice cream, it was very delicious. Yes, go for it, make a short stop at the mado in istiklal street, it has a very nice location!

Helpful?
Thank User U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not the best”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We bought cones at a branch somewhere in Beyazit. I had much better ice cream at a shop in İstiklal street, unfortunately the name escapes me. The Mado ice cream was not nearly as chewy and elastic, and it also melted faster. I think, that given their price, it is a rip off to impose a minimum of two scoops per cone or cup.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1marbil23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice ice cream and baklava”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have not been to Mado Istiklal Caddesi to be honest but I have been to different branches of Mado in different places in Istanbul. It is a good place to have coffee and desert in Istanbul if you really want to try Turkish dessert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sofiah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place and service..”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I loved their tea and a pancake with fruits and chocolate :) You should definitely visit this place for a dessert and tea!A little overpriced but you pay for quality.. They have a nice terrace.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nargiza_Usmanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mado also viewed

 

Been to Mado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing