We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location in the heart of Istanbul”
Review of Eski Konak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eski Konak Hotel
Ranked #445 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Rome
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great location in the heart of Istanbul”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in December.
The manager Mrs. Sofia is very friendly and helpful. She speaks English fluently and really supported us to solve some problems we occurred with the flight company.
The location is great: very close (5 minute walk) to Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace and the tram stop.
The rooms are standard size (just the bathroom is a little bit tiny) and clean.
The breakfast is quite good and served on the 4th floor terrace with a lovely view of Marmara Sea.
Rooms are equipped with hair dryer, cable TV, and a high-speed wireless internet connection.
There isn’t the elevator but all the hotels in the Sultanahmet area have not elevator.
There is a mini market just below the hotel.

A nice gift you will find in the room after opening the door…a pair of sleepers with the Eski Konak Hotel logo!
Great hotel, it worth the value!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    76
    11
    7
    10
See reviews for
38
86
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarajevo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews and I got even better experience than expected. The staff is absolutely fantastic and the owner so helpful and patient.

The location is 5 min walk from the Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia but on a side street so its not noisy at all.

The price of the hotel was the best through booking.com (35 EUR per double room including breakfast).

I would recommend this hotel to everyone looking for great location, excellent views, friendly staff, free wifi and great price :)

Room Tip: Just ask Sophie (the owner) who is more than willing to help!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alma_english
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with a friend for 3 days in 2009. The staff were really friendly and always helpful. They even kept breakfast late for us so that we wouldn't have to wake up early. The location is conveniently next to all the major landmarks in Istanbul. I never took a cab and was able to walk everywhere. Especially considering the price, this place was fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwestern State, USA
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I have stayed in 6-7 different small hotels in this same part of Istanbul, and this one is in the top 3 for me based on charm, rooms, management, views, location, price.. pretty much everything that I care about in a small hotel. The breakfast is great, there's free wifi, and the people are nice. I go to Istanbul once or twice a year and I would definitely stay in the Eski Konak again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Esker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed here for four nights after a long eight days in the black sea region. The hotel is very close to all historical attractions in Sultanahmet especially Haghia Sophia, The Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Divan Yolu Street. The service is extremeley good, with people like Sophia and Ahmed along with his charming sister. The breakfast is good and the hotel ensured extreme care for us during our stay, including finding a parking for our van, fixing the A/Cs and providing a room (free of charge) for our several luggages for our late departure to our country despite being a big family group. I would difinitely stay here again If I come back to Istanbul. Thank you very much Eski Konak for the pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Ardementozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yatton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Super location, very friendly and multi-lingual staff, who took a real interest in our visit and were extremely helpful. Room was clean and decent size, particularly the bed! The hotel had all the facilities we wanted and needed, and the breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank kingdomembracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEMBA Island
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

This hotel is located in a superb location.
The rooms are spotless but a little bit small.
All rooms have A/C and satelite TV in English French and German. (and Turkish obviously)
The breakfast is excellent.
The wifi and roof terrace are lovely.

There is a management team of two:
The Turk in charge is charming, and honourable
The Dutch Lady in charge is extremely helpful and efficient and knows lots.

If I had one minor issue it was in the price.
Sure Istanbul is now expensive, but $120 was a bit much for this.
So... if it is off season- negotiate the price. If they have space, they will do a deal!

Room Tip: Back rooms quiet- front rooms view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank turkishraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Spinel Hotel
Spinel Hotel
#567 of 1,149 in Istanbul
50 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deniz Houses Hotel
Deniz Houses Hotel
#205 of 1,149 in Istanbul
672 reviews
Fors Hotel
#588 of 1,149 in Istanbul
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Lamp Hotel
Lamp Hotel
#539 of 1,149 in Istanbul
198 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#563 of 1,149 in Istanbul
102 reviews
Sultanahmet
Meddusa Hotel
Meddusa Hotel
#513 of 1,149 in Istanbul
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eski Konak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eski Konak Hotel

Property: Eski Konak Hotel
Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Akbiyik Cad. No:52 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#152 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#234 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eski Konak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunningly situated overlooking the Marmara Sea in the heart of historical Sultanahmet, the Eski Konak Hotel is one of Istanbul's newest hotels. We are just a short walk from Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque and the Grand Bazaar. Delight in the panoramic views of Asian Istanbul and the Princes Islands from our comfortable, open-air terrace as you enjoy your traditional Turkish breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Eski Konak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eski Konak Boutique Hotel
Eski Konak Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing